Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christie whodunnit, a 'must' for fans
What a joy to read a 'new' Agatha Christie book!This book was wrtten by Christie as a play and has been adapted to novel form by Charles Osborne, but you wouldn't know this if you hadn't been told. It's in the usual format, a body, mysterious circumstances, red herring's, a list of suspects and a policeman to sort it out.
The setting is a country house, the victim...
Published on 4 Oct. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it
I am an avid Agatha Christie fan and really looked forward to reading this book, I did enjoy it all though I did feel at the begining that I was reading it as though I was watching a stage play, bit weird really, maybe the thought was in my head that it was originally a play. Never the less it was a pleasent read.
Published on 10 Oct. 2012 by Sandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christie whodunnit, a 'must' for fans, 4 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
What a joy to read a 'new' Agatha Christie book!This book was wrtten by Christie as a play and has been adapted to novel form by Charles Osborne, but you wouldn't know this if you hadn't been told. It's in the usual format, a body, mysterious circumstances, red herring's, a list of suspects and a policeman to sort it out.
The setting is a country house, the victim was a nasty sort. I won't say much more because I don't want to spoil it for you.
Spider's web is not a complicated plot, probably due to the fact that it has been adapted from the stage. However it is still immensely enjoyable.
I gave it four stars instead of five because I thought it lacked the 'roundness' of a novel. The characters are only seen in one room - as on stage. Nevertheless, a great read, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well done,Charles, 25 Mar. 2009
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider's Web (Hardcover)
I have a problem reading play scripts so feel a great sense of gratitude to Charles Osbourne who has turned this Christie play into a novel.
Although it has a stilted feel to the reading since he has been very faithful to the play's text and uses all the stage directions for description and action it is a fine addition the Christie canon alongside his novelisations of Black Coffee and The Unexpected Guest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider's Web (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read.Charles Osbourne does a terrific job.One of those books you can't put down. Fully recommended to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - Suspense filled - Chilling little tale....., 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider's Web (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this little story. It's so full of action & twists & turns; you're constantly taken surprise by what happens next &, in true classic Christie style, you're kept guessing right until the end. I would love to go see the play - that would be fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent audio cassette, 25 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spider's Web (Audio Cassette)
Spider's Web is another great Agatha Christie audio cassette. An intricate plotline adds to the story, and the revelation of the murderer at the end is very dramatic, and very unexpected. For anyone who enjoys a good Agatha Christie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider's Web (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
A classic Agatha Christie. I was gripped from beginning to end. I understand this is someone's translation from an Agatha Christie play and read as such in that the characters did not travel far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sucks to you, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of several novelisations of plays by Charles Osborne and they are a gift for Agatha Christie fans who have read all the other books. The writing style isn't quite like Agatha's, but of course the dialogue is hers and it's near enough to simply accept without thinking about it. Since it's a play all the action takes place in a couple of rooms, which makes the book seem a little claustrophobic and there's no variety of locations and characters to keep it interesting. It's more for fans and completists then, but nevertheless great fun as a whodunnit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an avid Agatha Christie fan and really looked forward to reading this book, I did enjoy it all though I did feel at the begining that I was reading it as though I was watching a stage play, bit weird really, maybe the thought was in my head that it was originally a play. Never the less it was a pleasent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived on time as promised and well wrapped. However it is not an Agatha Christie but actually it was a novelisation by Charles Osborne although I understand that it had been adapted by the author as a novel from Christie's work. It was ok but not a book I would bother to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a let down, 4 April 2011
By 
Jamie B (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having greatly enjoyed the production of 'Spider's Web' that recently toured, I was a bit disappointed by this novelisation. I feel that Charles Osborne should have opened up the play, and explored the characters more fully. I found the mix of dialogue with sparse stage directions translated into prose a real trial to read. Descriptive prose allows a story to breathe; it creates atmosphere, and there was almost none of that here. I had to rely on my own memories of the stage production to flesh out the whole affair.

The story itself is typical Christie countryhouse fare. I was a bit surprised that it was written so late (1954) since it seems to have more in common with the adventurous romps and derring-do of her 1920s novels, than with the darker stories (such as Hickory Dickory Dock) that she was writing at that time.

Nevertheless this will be of great interest to Christie 'completists'. Any chance of a novelisation of 'Akhnaton', anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider's Web (Agatha Christie Collection)
£3.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews