Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting character study
Jack Argyle is acquitted, two years after his death, of murdering his mother, and the revelation of his innocence casts new doubt upon everyone in the Argyle household. Thus begins this Agatha Christie whodunit. Though it cannot compare to her earlier, better works, ORDEAL BY INNOCENCE does hold its own.
ORDEAL BY INNOCENCE is most notable for the remarkable...
Published on 26 Nov 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Down in Devon - again
Nice evocation of aspects of South Devon, and of a dimension of unintended consequences; but not one of her best.
Published 2 months ago by Frank Attwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting character study, 26 Nov 1998
By A Customer
Jack Argyle is acquitted, two years after his death, of murdering his mother, and the revelation of his innocence casts new doubt upon everyone in the Argyle household. Thus begins this Agatha Christie whodunit. Though it cannot compare to her earlier, better works, ORDEAL BY INNOCENCE does hold its own.
ORDEAL BY INNOCENCE is most notable for the remarkable strength of all the characterizations, the dark, menacing atmosphere, and the fascinating themes of guilt and innocence that Christie brings up. The plot is not as intricate or complex as her masterpieces, but the clues are laid with absolutely impeccable skill, and the solution is both clever and surprising. One of her best late books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real treat, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Paperback)
i loved it because it was a story i wasn't familiar with and its always a real treat to read an agatha christie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had no idea whodunit, 4 April 2013
By 
E. M. Krajewski "bookra" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Signature Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Great read - read the last half of the book in a day. Great ending - you'll never guess. Read read read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Christie, 12 Mar 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Signature Editions) (Kindle Edition)
I have given this book only four
stars for I believe I have been spoilt by Agatha's Poirot mysteries. Mind you Kindle readers this is still a super read and l fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Paperback)
The book is good, not the best Christie, despite it reportedly being her favourite. It's very different to the usual rhythm of her classic murder mysteries, but the characters are engaging and complicated. Pet hate of mine, but this edition has US spelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Paperback)
Good reading, now I can complete my collection of Agatha Christie's (in the signature edition) and read all the mysterie novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EASY READ/LISTEN, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. Ailsa Sharkey "ashark12" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not what I would call one of Agatha Christies best, but overall it is a fairly good peice of work. The pace of the story is fairly slow, which makes it easy to read or listen to, but I wasnt gripping the pages, as I usually like to do with a really good agatha christie story.
All in all though, it was fairly good, the audio book in particular as I love listening to Hugh Fraser read, because he really gets into character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Signature Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Agatha Christie never fails to entertain with her books and I have read loads and will continue to do so. This one is no exception, a brilliant read from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Poirot or Marple, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Signature Editions) (Kindle Edition)
A rare story away from the usual pattern of AC without losing the brilliance of her writing.

A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of Agatha's favourites, and mine too, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal by Innocence (Signature Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Keeps you guessing till the end like any good mystery should. By the pricking of my thumbs also a good one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ordeal by Innocence (Signature Editions)
£3.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews