Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different type of Agatha Christie!
This book is a series of fairly short stories about Agatha Christie's favourite characters, Quin and Satterthwaite. In these stories she combines the paranormal with the logical for a truly amazing combination.
Mr Harley Quin seems to be a man with the unnatural ability to make you see things from a totally different perspective and seems to be an advocate of the...
Published on 28 Feb 2004 by Suzanne Moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and 'out of joint'
An interesting set of short stories, with similar themes. I wondered how many of them were written around the time of Christie's disappearance and breakdown of her first marriage given that there are some unhappy, suicidal, women to be found here. Each of the stories is 'out of joint' somehow - there's something queasy-making about them all, as if the walls aren't plumb...
Published 18 months ago by PHanson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A charming and enjoyable read, a look into a way of life that's gone now with a delightful twist of mystery and murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very very enjoyable. Wonderful writer her books always enjoyable . Well read with great character voices no matter how many times you hear it you like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A few short stories about the same characters, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Good amount of short stories relaying to mr Quinn & Saterthwaite. An easy read but don't expect too much of a plot. If you are a Christie fan like me you will probably enjoy, otherwise you may find a little dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good listen, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good short stories that can be listened to time and again and not become boring.ideal for people like myself who struggle to hold a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and 'out of joint', 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting set of short stories, with similar themes. I wondered how many of them were written around the time of Christie's disappearance and breakdown of her first marriage given that there are some unhappy, suicidal, women to be found here. Each of the stories is 'out of joint' somehow - there's something queasy-making about them all, as if the walls aren't plumb. They're not as entirely grim as I seem to have made out here - after all, these are 'entertainments' and, having been written by Christie, it's very easy to keep turning the pages. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this to any Christie fan who has not read it. Its years since I had read any of her books and it definately did not disappoint and she retains for me the title queen of crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas Prezzie, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my dad over christmas as he asked for it theres not much to say other than its apparently a great audiobook :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars darn good read, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good to see mr quin back in his own bookwe should all take a lttle more care in our observations of our surroundings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christie's favorite characters are mine as well., 8 Mar 2012
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As this is a collection of short stories, there is no one first sentence.
Mr. Satterthwaite, although 62 years old, is described as a dried-up man; views on age have changed over time. He is wealthy, loves the good things in life, definitively British and is a keen observer of people. The last attribute increases with each encounter with Mr. Harley Quinn.
Mr. Quinn is a gentleman of mystery: Is he real with supernatural powers, or Ms. Christie's very own, and very different version of Holmes. Quinn was, in fact, Ms. Christie's favorite character. In her autobiography, she describes him as "a friend of lovers and connected with death". She does allude to the classic Harlequin in "The Soul of the Croupier" when Satterthwaite expresses surprise seeing Quinn. Quinn responds "It should not surprise you," he said. "It is Carnival time. I am often here in Carnival time."
In general, I'm not a fan of short stories, but I find myself frequently re-reading these. I do love Satterthwaite's line of "I can put up with vulgarity, but I can't stand meanness." The stories have a slight supernatural quality to them, but always with a logical explanation possible, and certainly to the solutions of the crimes. I enjoyed Christie's perception of 1930s England as being multi-cultural and non-denominational, but wonder who true that was. What I most enjoy, however, is that each story stands alone and is intriguing and compelling on its own merit.

THE MYSTERIOUS MR. QUINN (Myst- Harley Quinn / Mr. Satterthwaite, England, 1930s) - Ex
Christie, Agatha - Standalone
Bantam, 1986
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Quin Ruffels Poirot's Moustaches, 11 Jan 2012
Great fun. More colourful than Hercule, just as inventive. Off on a tangent, unique. Shows the diversity of Christie. I'd also recommend 'Problem in Pollensa Bay' for those interested in an alternative to Old Egg Head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews