Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different type of Agatha Christie!
This book is a series of fairly short stories about Agatha Christie's favourite characters, Quin and Satterthwaite. In these stories she combines the paranormal with the logical for a truly amazing combination.
Mr Harley Quin seems to be a man with the unnatural ability to make you see things from a totally different perspective and seems to be an advocate of the...
Published on 28 Feb 2004 by Suzanne Moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and 'out of joint'
An interesting set of short stories, with similar themes. I wondered how many of them were written around the time of Christie's disappearance and breakdown of her first marriage given that there are some unhappy, suicidal, women to be found here. Each of the stories is 'out of joint' somehow - there's something queasy-making about them all, as if the walls aren't plumb...
Published 16 months ago by PHanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different type of Agatha Christie!, 28 Feb 2004
By 
Suzanne Moore "Suzanne" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is a series of fairly short stories about Agatha Christie's favourite characters, Quin and Satterthwaite. In these stories she combines the paranormal with the logical for a truly amazing combination.
Mr Harley Quin seems to be a man with the unnatural ability to make you see things from a totally different perspective and seems to be an advocate of the dead as wells as acting as cupid. Through the stories you go with a Mr Satterthwaite, a man who likes to observe life and loves watching little dramas unfold, who with little hints and nudges from Mr Quin solves a variety of different murders and mysteries with impressive skill and cunning.
As you read these stories Christie makes you see how by taking things you remember and looking at it from a different angle can give the whole thing new meaning.
I read these stories expecting the usually Agatha Christie style only to find them very different from her more famous stories, starring Hercule Poriot, Miss Marple, Tommy and Tuppence and others. Although different and a lot shorter than most of her work The Mysterious Mr Quin doesn't disappoint, they are very clever and entertaining stories.
This series of tales show just how much Agatha Christie deserved the title Queen of Crime. A must read Agatha Christie just so you can see her different styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audiobook review!, 15 July 2012
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As a fan of Poirot and Miss Marple I have recently begun to explore Agatha Christie's other works, such as her horror stories. I hadn't come across Mr Quin before, and it piqued my curiosity. I wasn't disappointed - in fact, quite the opposite. These stories are detective fiction laced with the supernatural, superbly written. The leading players, Mr Satterthwaite and Mr Quin, are creations to equal her more famous detectives, and I'm surprised they have been largely forgotten.

The audiobook set is read by Hugh Fraser, well known as Captain Hastings in the television Poirot. I have some of his readings of Poirot stories, but for me this set is where he really came into his own as a performer. There is no trace of Hastings in his gentle, elderly Satterthwaite, or his quiet and slightly sinister Quin. All the other characters are voiced with care and humour (his bossy duchess in The World's End conjures up Margaret Rutherford or Edith Evans, and had me chuckling whenever she 'appeared'). I was genuinely sorry when I reached the end of disc seven, and I have no doubt I'll be listening to these again and again.

The audiobook set contains seven discs in a sturdy box. The discs are stacked cakebox style, which I find annoying. But the cover design is rather nice, very apt for the period and totally in keeping with the harlequin theme. The stories in the set are The Coming of Mr Quin, The Shadow on the Glass, At the Bells and Motley, The Sign in the Sky, The Soul of the Croupier, The Man From the Sea, The Voice in the Dark, The Face of Helen, The Dead Harlequin, The Bird with the Broken Wings, The World's End and Harlequin's Lane. Longer stories have been split across discs, but the separation points have been well chosen and seven stories have not been split at all. Overall, I rate this as an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite - and hers, 21 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christie wrote these stories early in her career, only when she felt a plot had been "sent". In most of her books she is robustly skeptical, but these stories have a supernatural element. Mr Quin - Mr Harley Quin - is inclined to appear mysteriously whenever a mystery needs to be puzzled out. These don't all involve a corpse in the library, some involve theft, or suspicion. But they all involve parted lovers, and Mr Quin is a friend of lovers. He always says he does nothing to help, it's all down to his friend, the small, precise, elf-like, elderly Mr Satterthwaite, who manages to get everywhere because he dearly loves a title and likes to think he knows everybody who is anybody. He has a warm heart, though, and his interventions bring him into contact with a croupier (who turns out to have a soul), a medium (Christie has her usual fun with this character), some American tourists, an engineer, an actress and her entourage. The stories are also full of atmosphere and a sense of place and you feel you too are in a clifftop garden in Madeira (or is it Corsica?), a casino in the South of France, a formal garden in Le Touquet, a cafe in Kew Gardens. Having read the last story once, I can never read it again - it's too sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 30 Oct 2009
if you enjoy people watching then this the book for you. It is all about interaction between people. Sometimes it ends in a death, sometimes it doesn't.

It is what happens between the characters that takes the stories forward.

It is also a fascinating insight into upper class in the 1930's.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve short stories, 8 July 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Satterthwaite has an enquiring mind especially when it comes to crime - whether ancient or modern. He keeps encountering the mysterious Mr Quin whenever some sort of mystery comes to the fore. Human nature is something Mr Satterthwaite finds totally fascinating and because he has never married he feels he has had a better chance to observe and understand his fellow human beings. With the help of Mr Quin he manages to solve mysteries which at first sight seem incapable of resolution.

Provided you accept that Harley Quin may or may not be real these are charming stories. Some are darker than others and all have a great deal to say about the strange ways of human beings and the situations which their uncontrolled emotions propel them into. Thanks to Mr Quin's prompting Mr Satterthwaite is led to ask the right questions of the right people. Poignant, amusing and fascinating these well written stories make the reader think about life in general and perhaps about their own lives and things they have taken for granted.

If you're used to thinking of Agatha Christie in conjunction with Miss Marple or Hercule Poirot then give these stories a try for something just that little bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious Mr Quin, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Malcolm Rigg (Crowthorne, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I heard three short stories on the BBC about Agatha Christie's Mysterious Mr Quin and discovered that this book contained yet more of them including the denouement in the last story. I was intrigued to read the set of stories and wasn't disappointed. The last story is worth waiting for if you read the book sequentially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Statterthwaite and Mr Quin, 25 Jan 2007
By 
torch_light (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Agatha Christie always sighted the Mr Quin and Mr Statterthwaite stories as her favourites and returned to them simply out of love for the characters. Christie moved away from her usual motifs into the world of the apparantly supernatural with these titles.

Mr Statterthwaite inhabits the upper class world of the 1930's, imagine Counts and Countesses, caviar, Monaco, casinos, Country Houses, art galleries and round the world cruises.

He watches rather than plays a part in the lives of the people that he sees played out before his eyes but often meets the mysterious Mr Harley Quin when he leasts expects to. These meetings invariably lead to an 'approaching storm' that lends itself to Statterthwaite helping to right wrongs that have been perpertrated.

An amazing book of the most delicious short stories that have two brilliantly conceived characters 'solving' problems and mysteries borne out around them.

It is such a shame that she didn't wrote more of these stories.

Special mention to the story 'At the Bells and Motley'. A set-up that holds it's own against the best locked room mystery stories.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 Jan 2014
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting and as usual very good.A fully deserved five stars and recommended to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good period 'who done it' with a twist of supernatural, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This book of short stories from Agatha Christie introduces us to 2 characters who like sorting out other people's problems. Each tale had an interesting twist and the introduction of a character who was mysterious gave an added interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A charming and enjoyable read, a look into a way of life that's gone now with a delightful twist of mystery and murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews