Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic DVD and a funny, quirky and unique film!
FILM

Like others before seeing the film I had never read the comics, having now read the entire series I can attest to the film being highly enjoyable for both fans of the comics and to those who have never seen it. Director Edgar Wright brings his own stylistic choices to the series but with the creator of the books, Bryan Lee O'Malley, lending extensive...
Published on 25 Dec 2010 by Mr. P. J. Pears

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, terrible DVD
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World must rate as one of the best films of recent years. Clever, funny, stylish and deeply different. It was so good I went to see it twice in the cinema. If you're something of a geek and will appreciate the video game and comic references you'll love this film.

So why am I giving it just three stars? Because whoever made the DVD version...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by J. Aidley


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic DVD and a funny, quirky and unique film!, 25 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. P. J. Pears "Eternal Solar" (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
FILM

Like others before seeing the film I had never read the comics, having now read the entire series I can attest to the film being highly enjoyable for both fans of the comics and to those who have never seen it. Director Edgar Wright brings his own stylistic choices to the series but with the creator of the books, Bryan Lee O'Malley, lending extensive support to the film the end result is a very enjoyable adaptation of a remarkable series of graphic novels.
The film itself has a slow start (and a nauseating credit role as well unfortunately) but this serves as an enjoyable contrast with the later action. The scenes themselves are lovingly shot in Toronto itself and the attention to detail and special effects are outstanding. One thing in particular which seems remarkable is how much fun the actors and actresses are having (particularly Satya Bhabha and Chris Evans as Evil Ex 1&2). The films many references and homage's to classic games ('look I can play the Final Fantasy II base line') to anime and comics (spot the Akira reference for example), those for whom Nintendo and anime means little or nothing (and those over 30) are likely to find the film more difficult to enjoy and at time befuddlining with its eye popping special affects, pop-culture references and rapid fight scenes, the music is always diverse and exciting (featuring some great songs). One could complain that the final third of the film can drag a little, the final fight scene, while epic, drags on longer then it should, plus some of the more interesting side characters from the books are never touched on and others such as Kim Pine and Stephen Stills could have used some more development.
However as a whole the film is both funny, touching and exciting, anyone who enjoys video games, anime, comics etc will find it doubly so, 8.5/10

DVD/EXTRAS

The DVD package is excellent, inside a nice shinny slipcase there are two discs filled with hours of extras. Disc One, apart from having the movie itself also has an alternative ending, some very funny outtakes, commentary and gallery. The second disc is crammed with extras, a full 50 minute documentary on 'The Making of Scott Pilgrim' which is highly enjoyable, a series of videos looking at the visual and sound effects, trailers, a very funny 'TV safe' version of the film with the sections with bad language having silly words inserted instead. Along with several other extras there is also the 4 minute short 'Scott Pilgrim VS the animation' an animated segment that looks back at Scott's history with Kim Pine (basically being a retelling of the second books, first chapter) it was so much fun I wish there were more shorts like it. Excellent package, 10/10

Conclusion - If you enjoyed the books or are looking for an inventive, unique film there is nothing quite as funny and enjoyable as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much the bob-omb, 31 Aug 2010
Like a lot of people, I'm unfamiliar with the comic book, but that didn't stop me loving this day-glo salute to whiteboy twentysomethingness, when bands and gigs and girls with dyed hair are the Most Important Things In the World. Scott Pilgrim - bassist for too-cool-for-school no-hopers Sex Bob-omb - is just starting to get over a terrible break up when he meets and falls for Ramona, the coolest girl in the world. The path of true love never runs smooth, etc, and soon Scott is literally fighting for Ramona's love as he takes on her seven Evil Exes in mortal combat.

This very thin premise wouldn't carry the movie for ten seconds if it wasn't all pulled off with such hectic, humourous energy. The video-game nature of the battles, mixed with the achingly cool characters and the endless geek-friendly gags, would be too much in the hands of a less skilled director, but Edgar Wright keeps all the elements in check, and they are never allowed to overwhelm each other. It's also remarkable that a film with something like 11 one-on-one fight scenes never gets boring.

Most indie-kid obsessions - Japanese cool, retro kitsch - are referenced. The mindset of bands - neurotic lead singers and grumpy girl drummers - is affectionately spoofed. Vegans are mercilessly lampooned. Michael Cera has never been more engaging. Canada has never been so cool. A definite win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A greatly entertaining movie, 25 Oct 2011
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Scott Pilgrim is a 22-year-old bass guitarist who meets delivery girl Ramona Flowers. Scott becomes obsessed with Ramona and asks her out on a date but he soon discovers that Ramona has some rather important baggage and if he wants to continue to date her he must defeat her seven evil exes.

I had heard a lot about how good this film, and the graphic novel it is based on, is for a while and now that I have seen it I must say it is just as good as I had been told. The film is brilliantly funny throughout and the computer game style special effects suit the story perfectly. Although some of them are slightly flat, all the characters in the film are fun and I have to say that Scott's roommate Wallace is probably my favourite character in the film as he is brilliantly funny. I haven't read the original graphic novel but it will definitely be going on my to read list for the future.

Overall this was one of the more entertaining films that I have seen for a while and, while I am sure it would not be to everybody's tastes, I feel it is well worth a full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could become a classic, 10 Jan 2011
By 
JD (Salisbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
First up, should you buy this film and, should you buy it on blu ray? One thing is for sure, the film looks and sounds fantastic on blu ray, which you'd expect given the vibrant colours and visuals on offer and the great soundtrack.

Will you like it? Well, if you like quirky, highly inventive, visually spectacular films with great action and sharp humour, you will probably love it, but I can see that some simply won't get it.

Basically, if you're buying this as a conventional action/comic book adaption I'd advise that you look at the basic component parts before buying - Michael Cera is the superhero (so you know what you're getting), it's filmed in Canada with an English director and an quirky, English sense of humour.

So, if you like your humour obvious, your story structure conventional and your characters/situations to be believable don't buy it. This is not a conventional movie.

What it is is 10 times more imaginative than the usual Hollywood output and, though that bravery means that not absolutely everything works, the film's scattergun approach means there is a refreshing, surprising and highly entertaining bit that does work perfectly just around the corner.

The action scenes are just brilliant and never fail to surprise and delight, the one-liners are frequently hilarious and the whole quirky love story is quite touching, with really likable geeky characters.

With so many saying Avatar will be the 'game changer' for future cinema, I'd like to think Scott Pilgrim will have more of a lasting impact. Because, while Avatar will indeed change things from a technology, commercial and marketing point of view (much like Star Wars in the 70s) in terms of storytelling and characterisation it was as conventional, uninventive and hackneyed as they come.

Scott Pilgrim on the other hand has some truly new ideas that we can expect to see copied massively in the coming years. The disjointed storytelling takes some getting used to and is, on occasion, diverting, but it is very refreshing.

I can see why some compare this to Kick Ass. Because, although very different films, they buck the recent industry trend that superheroes need to be dark and saddled with serious grown-up issues (The Dark Knight and Watchmen for instance). Kick Ass and Scott Pilgrim are both serious fun in a world (much like our own) where its finally OK for geeks to become rockstars or superheroes.

Very highly recommended as long as you don't mind something a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really fun and enjoyable., 24 Nov 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie is a little strange in places but once you're comfortable with the style is a really funny and enjoyable watch. Lots of great references and a good cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, terrible DVD, 24 Aug 2011
By 
J. Aidley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World must rate as one of the best films of recent years. Clever, funny, stylish and deeply different. It was so good I went to see it twice in the cinema. If you're something of a geek and will appreciate the video game and comic references you'll love this film.

So why am I giving it just three stars? Because whoever made the DVD version was unspeakably lazy and incompetent. It's presented in 16:9 widescreen - fair enough - but the film includes a lot of pop-up captions that go to the edge of the original cinematic frame. Had the makers bothered to move the cutting rectangle around to ensure these were included that wouldn't matter much, but they clearly think your money isn't worth the effort and so simply hacked these (often very funny) captions off in the middle leaving you missing important parts of what made the film so good.

We shouldn't have to put up with this kind of outright contempt from DVD makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable even if you have not read the comics, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I had not read the graphic novels that this film was based on, so I was a little reluctant to watch this. I thought it may be better to be familiar with the story/universe before watching. However I was given a copy by a friend who said that I would like it. As usual, they were correct.

Even if you are not familiar with the comics, if you enjoy video games and geek humour you will get a lot of laughs from this film. I do feel that I wish I knew the story better and as soon as time and funds allow I will be sure to have a look at them.

The film is essentially a romantic comedy but there is also a strong fantasy/action element. Yes, the plot is ridiculous, but within the universe it makes sense somehow. I loved the video game style power ups and over the top action.

The film is good silly fun, with a little bad language (nothing major and not over used) and no nudity or gore, just comedy violence. Recommended if you've read the comics or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THere were maybe 60 seconds I did NOT enjoy to the fullest., 26 Jun 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film. Captures the feeling of the comic books perfectly. The plot differs quite a lot from them, but the alterations all made sense. Rating: Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, 5 Mar 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really weird film. It's not gonna be to everyone's taste that's for sure. Everything about this film is really bizarre, from the plot, characters - even to the directing. Bizarre. Despite that, I actually really enjoyed it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, 29 Nov 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im a fanatical video gamer, and this movie just pushes all the right buttons with me. Abit of nostalgia for all computer nerds like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa712c660)

This product

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World Double Play - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Used & New from: 16.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews