Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!
Having played this game for over 2 weeks now, I still cant wait to get on my PS3 to play more, To have the 2 add-ons as well as the original game on 1 disc is fantastic.

The game itself is very well done, Saints row 2 came out at the same time 2008, Both are different open world games, SR2 being about gangs, GTA 4 does beat SR2 on graphics easily, I also...
Published 8 months ago by jonmax

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tends to get tedious
The game is well priced for what you get.. but be prepared to repeat certain feats numerous times! That is where this game starts to get tedious.

You will find yourself browsing the net trying to find out how to complete the level. Graphics are quite nice, yet the one thing I like most is the radio channels. I'm always on Tuff Gong playing reggae :)...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Antoine Camilleri


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played this game for over 2 weeks now, I still cant wait to get on my PS3 to play more, To have the 2 add-ons as well as the original game on 1 disc is fantastic.

The game itself is very well done, Saints row 2 came out at the same time 2008, Both are different open world games, SR2 being about gangs, GTA 4 does beat SR2 on graphics easily, I also believe the size of Liberty City is much bigger than Stillwater, There is a lack of customisations in GTA 4, You can take a car into a spray shop, But you cant choose the colour it comes out in, I do like the way you can interact with the people you know, By taking them out to places like Bowling, Darts, Play Pool and even go to a Strip club and yes you can even get a lap dance.

The missions can get a bit frustrating, Like when you die you have to start back at the beginning (usually have to drive half way across the city to get to the main mission) Also when you are in a chase, You could easily loose your target, Be it crashing into something or skidding past your turn, Liberty city has many of them, This does make it more realistic though so that is a good thing right.

I don't want to bore you with a massive review, So yes I would definitely recommend this game to any body, Also at this price (£11.52 when I bought it) You cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What does the American Dream mean today?, 26 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
To think about America. The land of the free. Home of the brave. A place full of opportunity. And the Dream. The one all migrants know throughout the world. The American Dream. But what exactly does it mean today?

GTA IV is set in Libery City, based on the design and lifestyle of America's most recognisable city. New York. Here lies the dreams of the three titular characters of this gaming collection:
- Niko Bellic, the eastern european immigrant looking to find a better life in America with his cousin, Roman.
- Johnny Klebitz, vice-president of The Lost Motorcycle Club trying to keep the club alive in the midst of war.
- Luis Lopez, enforcer and business partner to Tony 'Gay Tony' Prince, owner of the best night life in Liberty City.

All of them are linked together by an uknown force and trying to stay afloat, to survive in the urban jungle where they are constantly surrounded by guns, gangs and some of the most twisted individuals in the criminal underworld, the competiton of business and the government itself. But when honest living doesn't work, where else do you turn to provide for your family? Crime is all these individuals know and it's what they're best at.

The Grand Theft Auto has always held some of the greatest stories, in-game dialogue and charcater development in any game series in the last twenty years. This game is no exception. The plot is exhilirating at times, dull at others to just push you in another twist in the story that makes you really think about what the American Dream really means today.
Gameplay is clear cut, fun and excting. You can drive, ride and steer almost everything you can get your hands on from simple motorbikes and cars to helicopters and small tanks. Your weaponry comes in all shapes and sizes and allows you to be effecient in your kills, or you can blow a room sky high.
Liberty City feels alive with excellent AI that dictates how the people you meet act and react to your actions from the most aggressive gangsters or cops trying to kill you, to simplest civillian and what they've bought from the supermarket.
And you're not restricted to the main story. You can be a hired hitman, clean the streets of criminals, hang out with friends, go on dates to get some 'warm coffe', fight your way through waves of police and hope to live to tell the tale, dance in a club, steal drugs, protect your turf, participate in cage fights, base-jump, get involved in ilegal street races and be the courier to a crazed and paranoid Jamaican drug dealer who you can barely understand! You're not going to be standing around doing nothing in this game, that's for sure.

Overall, this is one of, if not the, finest game on the current generation of consoles. All boxed together and at a reduced price it's the best deal you're going to get this year, so but and feel what Liberty City has to offer you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior graphics to the 2008 original release., 20 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
GRAND THEFT AUTO: IV. Without a doubt one of the best titles to be released on current generation consoles (XBOX 360 and Playstation 3). What was originally released individually has now been packaged together in one excitingly epic bundle within a single Blu-Ray disc at a lower price than these games were at launch. If you're new to the Grand Theft Auto universe then I'd say this is an excellent place to begin your journey; if you're an experienced veteran (or similar) and have become interested in this package then I would yet again recommend the GRAND THEFT AUTO: COMPLETE EDITION to you.

My journey within Liberty City began back in April 2009. Back then, GTA:IV was still a fairly new game and at the time I have to say, I enjoyed it immensely. The main game, GTA:IV, sees the player jump into the shoes of Niko Bellic; a middle-eastern immigrant who has arrived in Liberty on the Pegasus (a ship) and just like everyone on board the Pegasus, he is in pursuit of the 'American dream'. Having his hopes realized by his hilariously bubbly cousin's emails, Niko left his homeland in order to live alongside his Cousin 'Roman Bellic' who was supposedly made it in America and was living the life of dreams however; shortly after arriving in the foreign land, Niko became aware Roman had been lying to him when he discovers Roman is nothing more than a budget cab-driver involved with loan-sharks and criminals. This is how the story of GTA:IV begins, Niko becomes determined to make it to the top after he became tired of low-lives treating Roman with utmost disrespect.

GTA: IV will last you as long as you can play it (basically forever). I have had it since 2009(I had the original on disc+The episodes from Liberty City then traded them in for the Complete edition) and it still gets played lots of times ranking as one of my most-played games of all time.

GTA: IV gets extended with the two 'Episodes from Liberty City' DLC storylines. One involves you playing as smug-biker, Johnny Klebitz who's role quickly turns around within his gang (the lost motorcyle club - or MC) after an event at the start of the games sees an important character become incarcerated - this was the first of the two DLC 'episodes' adding new characters, weapons, vehicles, interiors and missions as well as cleverly intervening the story of Johnny with the story of Niko Bellic (from the main game, GTA:IV.) This game wasn't as long as GTA: IV because it was originally DLC). Following this 'episode' Rockstar Games released yet another DLC addon named 'The Ballad of Gay Tony' which threw the player into the luxurious life of Luis Lopez, a well-known, rich bodyguard working for nobody other than 'Gay Tony', owner of Liberty City's most-popular night clubs! This 'episode' gave the player an array of new features such as weapons, cars, the parachute, missions, characters and interiors; all assisted this 'episode' to become one of the favourites among the GTA community. Yet again, this story links with the storyline of Niko Bellic and after playing all 3 chapters you will soon realize all of these storylines actually link in some way.

So, now that these iconic games have been packaged together on one disc, what are the advantages? Well, aside from convenience, the graphics on GTA:IV have been greatly improved since the 08' classic edition because the blur-filter that used to be present in the 08' edition has now been removed making these graphics really shine (This too makes this purchase a brilliant buy because I can now enjoy the graphics of this spectacular game.)!

The verdict?
If you're a newbie to this series or a GTA fan looking to have these classics on a single disc then I cannot recommend this package enough, not only is it giving you 3 incredible games for a reduced price but you also get superior graphics on GTA:IV (in comparison to the 2008 copy) and it helps that all 3 games are on one disc and not two or 3.

My score: 10/10
- This game hits everything perfectly offering hundreds of hours to be had within this alive city; whether it be online (WITH 16 OTHER FRIENDS!) or offline fun, this game package guarantees to gratify your tastes! I still play this game now (3 years after buying it!) and if you want a challenge (I'm not lying) go for the Platinum trophy included with this game, it guarantees to take you a while to achieve it and even then, the gratification you experience will be unbelievable!

Thank-you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be ready to play for hours, 19 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game will keep you entertained for hours. The world is wonderfully developed and the amount of missions is more than enough to keep you going for long hours. At first the controls are a bit confusing, but after getting used to them and thanks to the constant in-game help, the actions come in naturally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Deal., 29 Sep 2014
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an awesome edition of GTA 4, you definitely get your money's worth with this complete edition which includes all the dlc Episodes from Liberty City: The Lost and Damned and Ballad of Gay Tony, so you basically have 3 games on one disc which is a great deal. GTA 4 in my opinion is a definite masterpiece from Rock Star, if you haven't played it yet then this edition would be a great place to start. In this fourth installment of the popular series, players take on the role of Niko Bellic, a rough-around-the-edge immigrant from Eastern Europe. Niko has arrived in America, in Liberty City -- a land full of promise and opportunity. His cousin Roman convinced him to emigrate, to join him in his mansion and life of luxury, but as soon as he steps off the boat, Niko discovers the truth about the American way and things are much worse than he expected with a life of crime. The game was filled with interesting characters, some were a bit quirky like Brucie the steroid freak "you're the man NICO!!' while others were more serious since the game was taken more seriously than the previous installments. The game also had a great storyline, that no doubt is truly amazing and it compliments the gameplay quite well. Great graphics, music and a ton of missions and more side missions makes this a must have for any fans of the GTA series with a renewed version of Liberty City detailed to the last pothole and rooftop vent. There are now four boroughs to explore plus extra areas outside of Liberty City proper. With the ability to climb obstacles, drive cars, steer boats and pilot helicopters and you also have an interesting variety of weapons available, the world of GTA is more accessible than ever before. The only downside is that the missions do not have any check points, this can be frustrating sometimes especially when you've finally reached the end only to be killed by an enemy hiding around the corner, this would re-start you from the beginning of that mission, but I guess it's more challenging this way (it makes you use a different strategy). It's far more fun to just mess around in the city, which I did after completing the game which I thoroughly enjoyed, although there were a few missions that dragged on a bit (the useless missions with Florian Cravic), you can crash your helicopter in the statue of Liberty (happiness) or start a massive raid in the strip club, or pull of some crazy stunts, compete in some online races ect. good times indeed. I can assure that you're gonna have tons of fun in the amazing Liberty City. While The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony put the game in two new perspectives, one from the bike gangs and the other from an ex-gangster who now works for the rich and powerful. Lost and the Damned is a weaker entry in the series in my opinion. While not a bad game per se, it just wasn't as interesting as GTA 4, but the Ballad of Gay Tony makes up for it, it has some of the best missions in GTA yet, infact some of the missions were epic and simply awesome. Not to mention that the humor and fun was bought back from the previous series like in Vice City. Anyway, GTA 4 complete edition was well worth picking up, and comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tends to get tedious, 28 April 2011
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is well priced for what you get.. but be prepared to repeat certain feats numerous times! That is where this game starts to get tedious.

You will find yourself browsing the net trying to find out how to complete the level. Graphics are quite nice, yet the one thing I like most is the radio channels. I'm always on Tuff Gong playing reggae :)

I was expecting much more from this GTA version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One happy bundle :), 7 Feb 2011
By 
Marcin Stol "Hudini" (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
What more can you say about this game than that it is the best GTA so far. Whats more, you get the main game plus both of the additional episodes in one bundle for a reasonable price. Don't hesitate, go get it! For those who have a choice of buying either the PS3 version or the XBOX 360 version, choose the latter as it looks slightly better and runs a bit smoother. Nevertheless both versions are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best price you'll find for one of the best gaming packages available., 23 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I think Amazon has the price for this about right, as the original game - while still tonnes of fun to play - has certainly aged in the years since its release and is relatively cheap to buy second hand. Likewise, the two episodes were released a couple of years ago and the standalone disk is also easy to buy cheap pre-owned. So this is more than a fair price for what amounts to well over 40 hours just for the stories - that's not even mentioning all of the side missions such as courting dates, assassinations, shooting the 200 pigeons etc. On top of that, there is an extensive multiplayer game to be enjoyed once the story is finished.

The only reason I have it at 4 stars rather than 5 is because the original game is incredibly frustrating, and this is due to the old habit of GTA games of not providing checkpoints during missions. Thankfully, the two episodes rectified this, so consider my score a 4 and 1/2 out of 5.

Overall, though, if you haven't played these games yet or were too young to when they were first released, I certainly recommend buying this version. While the graphics are now somewhat unimpressive by modern standards and it's far from perfect, ultimately it's so much relentless fun to just go around causing havoc that you won't care. It's GTA, and that's all you need to know that this game is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In retrospect, it's an excruciatingly tedious game, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
When GTA4 was released in April 2008 it was quickly regarded as the best video game ever made and sucked up thousands of positive reviews. In my judgement it was a victim to blind adoration from folks who were just unwilling, or unable, to see the numerous faults that ruin the game. Having played it upon its release, and again for the first time in 5 years only recently, I have the advantage of distance. It's a bad game people, sorry.

My main gripe is that GTA4 is soooooooo slooooooooow! For a game that sells itself on speed and thrills there's very little high horsepower to it. The missions are dull and repetitive, and go on and on for an eternity. In order to explain how joyless the missions are I'll go into a step-by-step detail for the average mission.

Go to some dude (usually miles away).
To avoid spending the next 15 minutes of your life driving to this destination you will need to find a taxi.
There will be no taxis nearby (although there are lots when you don't need them) meaning that you will have to go hunting for one.
At the destination the person you meet tells you that you are both going to a new destination and that you need some wheels (cue, if necessary, the only instance in the game where the title is actually relevant).
Another 5-10 minutes are now spent driving to this new destination while your buddy dishes out boring exposition.
At the new destination a deal will go sour or a target will run away.
An awkward car case in which your target will get away thanks to poor controls and difficult camera.
Mission failed.
You start again. ALL THE WAY BACK AT THE BEGINNING! There are no mid-mission checkpoints.
Through sheer chance you manage to complete the mission.
Your buddy actually has the audacity to say "take me home" before the game saves and progresses.

This is not Grand Theft Auto, this is Taxi: The Liberty City Experience.

Have you ever wanted to feel the bore and monotony of just driving, and driving, and driving, and driving, and driving, and driving, etc, etc, etc, etc? If so then this game is for you.

Nothing in this game is easy. Be it driving a car, a bike, a boat, a chopper, or even just walking around. It's all too difficult. When Niko is running about the streets (usually hunting for a taxi) there is a weird inertia which seems to pull him in all directions. You will often find yourself caught on corners, even when there is nothing to be caught on.

For a game that goes on and on and on I reckon some RPG elements would have made the grind somewhat bearable, but there none. Even your weapons are very basic with no variation. You have one hand gun, one machine gun, one automatic rifle, one sniper rifle, one rocket launcher. Even the ability to upgrade just the weapons would have kept things interesting. When using these weapons the targeting system is a joke and will often lock-on to people you don't want to aim at. Meanwhile 3 or 4 bad guys are blasting away at you. I hope you wanted to restart that mission all the way back at the start.

The main problem is that the premise just does not fit the open-world gameplay. The original GTA, with its cute, chunky, top-down graphics, worked just fine with car-jacking and reckless driving. But in an open-world game it just doesn't fit.

I actually found Sleeping Dogs, a game often accused of ripping-off GTA, to be far superior in terms of graphics and gameplay. Nothing in GTA feels refined. It debuted less than 2 years after the release of the PS3 and I do fully believe that it is too rushed and rough. Had it been delayed a year, or even just a few months, to polish away the many faults then it might have deserved the absolute mad praise that it got.

It doesn't. Plain and simple. Many were distracted by the bloody carnage and savage humor but this does not make up for everything else.

There are a total of 66 trophies, but many of them are online-based, and after 5+ years there's no way you can win them now, so don't bargain on getting that Platinum. Some of the other trophies are so torturous too. There's one that requires you to snipe about 250 pigeons hidden all over Liberty City. Erm...no. Anyone who dedicates the necessary amount of time for such a thankless, pathetic task should be required by law to get outside. Over 50 of the trophies are bronzes too. Believe me, this game is very stingy with rewarding the player for slogging through the breathtaking, patience-breaking tedium. I maxed-out at 54% before vowing to never, ever play GTA4 again.

Graphics B-
Sound A
Gameplay D
Lasting Appeal D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 12 Mar 2011
By 
R. Evans (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I had this for the Xbox 360 but gave it to my brother as I wasn't playing much anymore. Saw this offer with the three games all built in and had to get it again for the PS3 having just completed Red Dead Redemption (long overdue) and being 2 months until LA: Noire is released. I have already completed all three games but have started again and I am enjoying it just as much as the first time. I don't think this game will ever get boring. Just buy it if you haven't played already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3)
Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£22.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews