Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic space opera
I bought this book having read and enjoyed the previous two books in the series, Star Soldier and Bio-Weapon.

While there are a few to many grammatical and spelling errors, it did not detract from my enjoyment of this, and the other books in the series.

To give an extremely basic and brief summery of what is a well written and varied series of books,...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Alistair Fraser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All space and threats from new quarters.
Easy to read. As this is number three book in the series you can see the main character developing and get indications of where this might be leading. Good book for being on a plane or down by the beach
Published 15 months ago by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic space opera, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Alistair Fraser (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book having read and enjoyed the previous two books in the series, Star Soldier and Bio-Weapon.

While there are a few to many grammatical and spelling errors, it did not detract from my enjoyment of this, and the other books in the series.

To give an extremely basic and brief summery of what is a well written and varied series of books, It tells several stories mainly centered around one central character and his fights to escape a police state, only to find himself fighting for a superior human race intent on ruling over the lesser humans of earth. Again, he escapes the clutches of both races only to be faced with the horror of a lethal cyborg race.
The characters are well developed and I found the many plots in the story to be gripping and interesting with several unexpected twists and turns.

The Doom star series is an epic space opera that should appeal to any science fiction who enjoys fiction about survival against all odds and space warfare. In order to get full enjoyment I highly recommend reading all three books and I very much hope Vaughn Heppner writes further books to complete the Doom Star Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I look forward to the next book from this author., 10 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I would equate these books with Chris Bunch's The Last Legion series and Simon R Green's Deathstalker books.

Vaughn is very good at creating characters that you care about and wish to follow.

His space battles are some of the best I have ever read.

It is clear that he is still gaining experience in his writing style. But he has a promising future.

I purchased the Star soldier book because it was cheap and I wanted something to test out the kindle android app. I quickly got into it and had finished all 3 books in a week and a half.

I look forward to the next book from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All space and threats from new quarters., 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read. As this is number three book in the series you can see the main character developing and get indications of where this might be leading. Good book for being on a plane or down by the beach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Book 3 starts just where it all left off. I love the mix of Sci-Fi and the engineering aspects which actually makes the physics interesting as it’s relevant to the story line. I would absolutely recommend this Doom Star series to all Sci-Fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is there anywhere a man can live free?, 28 Jan 2013
By 
A. Kendall (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Kluge arrives at Mars just as Social Unity is amassing it's space fleet to take on the Doom Stars of the High Born. He finds himself fighting in the middle with the Mars Federation. Unfortunately Social Unity have a secret weapon and he realises he now has another ruthless enemy to fight ... cyborgs. He thinks about running away, but with an attritional space battle unfolding in space above, he has to stay put and fight it out with the limited resources at his disposal.

The story continues at a cracking pace, even though the space manoeuvres take days or weeks with missiles being fired as they pass Earth so that they arrive on target at the right time a few weeks in the future. Space combat can be very complicated, but an epic space battle is assured as each side tries to come out on top, each with their own little tricks and ploys to help them. Will there be a winner or is it just mutually assured destruction?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The storey continues, 31 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Martin Kluge is not a man who likes being told what to do but can bite his tongue for long enough to get an advantage. Yet more problems in his quest for freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
being dyslexic i was always told to read everyday, with a mind that never stops racing i find it hard to get drawn into sotrys, but this series of books sucked me in and i havent been able to stop reading. i only started book 1 a week ago and am already half way through book 4. this book is as well written as the gears of war books by karen traviss. it is obvious alot of thought and research has gone into the storys. And they all read like one huge book no side tracked story line for something new its all one huge universe. Would also make a good computer game for the level of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the best book so far in the series, 21 July 2011
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
by far the best book so far the the series so far , lots of space action with huge space battles with impossibly large lasers and particle cannons and huge ships, the main characters from the first two books pop up now and then but this seems more to do with the highborn super soldiers and the rebels on mars, not sure where book four is going though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. A. Anthony (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a massive reader, probably 10-15 books a year and my preference is for sci-fi (not fantasy, I can never really understand how the two get grouped together. I like stuff going in space and futuristic things, not trolls and orcs etc). Anyway back to the review. At the time of posting this there are 4 books in the series. I started at the first one as it was quite high in the kindle charts and very cheap. I found the story easy to get in to, the characters interesting and the pace was good. Unlike some other books I have read recently there are only a few story arcs to follow at the same time which makes it perfect for just picking up and grabbing half an hour here and there. I have since read the rest or the series and look forward to the possability of a fifth and final book.
The story follows the struggles of the main character Martin Kluge, whilst you don't particulary get to care for him, (after all he is a soldier trained to kill people/things)you do get to feel some of the strain and anguish he has to go through.

I don't want to write too much and spoil the book for other readers. So if you like space and combat based science fiction it's worth the few quid that these books cost. If you are in any doubt there's always the preview chapter to download.

Give it a go, good books and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smart sci-fi at a bargain price, 2 April 2011
By 
K. Sandbach (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Intelligent & gripping - highly recommended for anyone who likes sci-fi to feel realistic instead of trying to boldly go where the laws of physics are too inconvenient to apply.

The series tells of the adventures of Marten Kluge as he finds his way from place to place within the solar system, struggling against adversity every step of the way. Initially he is trying to escape the oppression of the political system adopted by humanity amongst Earth and the inner planets; later he finds himself dragged into a war between mainstream humans and a rebellious off-shoot of humanity, the genetically engineered & generally superior Highborn; later still he finds himself up against an even tougher foe (I won't say any more to avoid spoilers).

This is not a story with exaggerated technology able to mysteriously jump between the stars & conveniently teleport people from place to place - all the action takes place in our solar system & with genuine attention to the practicalities of getting from A to B & how things work. It's easy to forget just how BIG our solar system is when reading & watching most sci-fi, and just how much scope there is for events to unfold between the planets, moons, & other bodies we have "locally".

There are plenty of influences from other sci-fi folklore, which adds another level to reading this series as you spot this or that influence of other stories. I don't know if this is intentional by the author or not, but either way it added to the enjoyment for me.

Bottom line - a great read for a minimal price tag. Buy the first book and see what you think - even if you don't like it, you've spent less than for a cup of coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle Pod (Doom Star Book 3)
£2.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews