Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars203
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2016
This tool should be renamed to "THE BEAST", awesome tool, bomb proof, plus brings a few extra blades, AWESOMENESS ! Im super happy, wont be buying another one, this one will last for years, unless i want to buy for someone or if i lose mine. If you need a cutting tool for work this is the one. Everyone talking about how hard it is to remove that piece of paper or cardboard ... man just rip it apart like i did, takes less than 2 seconds !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Stanley 010825 Fatmax Retractable Folding Knife]]Hi Received this Knife Today .Had to read other peoples reviews to see how it worked .There is a piece of cardboard already in the knife that is shaped like a blade that the knife comes with when taking off the packing .Take that out by using the knife as if you were extending the blade .Took a couple of goes by pressing the red button to put a blade in .Just hold down the red button and push your blade in CAREFULLY ,just jiggle it a bit till it fits in .There is a small amount of movement when the blade is in the knife but not really a problem .To fold the knife just put your thumb on the chrome piece and press lightly and the knife will fold .Comes with three blades that are located under the black grip .Push the red clip at back of knife to open for spare blades .
44 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
A dreadful product. Packaging is built into the knife and took over 30 minutes to extract. No clear instructions for what is not an easy device to understand. A picture suggests that you press a red button and then just slide a blade; but the blade disappears into the knife, which then will not work, and needs pliers to extract. Eventually got blade into right position but it wobbles and cannot be used for precision cutting. Also tip of blade still pokes out. I have been brought up with a series of excellent Stanley knives but, this being the current standard of manufacture, I have finished with the brand. The need to fiddle with this ultra-sharp knife makes it a dangerous tool that should not be on sale.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Smart space-saving fold design makes it easy to store in pocket for those times you will be needing it quite regularly or to make more room for other tools in your toolkit. It has a pop up lid on the handle section that reveals a section for holding additional blades and thus doesn't require any dismantling to access the blade storage as you would with a more classic Stanley. Excellent grip from the handle and a rubberised fingertip section to avoid slipping when applying pressure. I have owned one of these recently but it was misplaced, so I bought another one as a replacement as it proved reliable.

4 stars simply because there can be a small amount of play between the blade and Stanley tool when fitted, nothing to cry about but it would be better if it had a rigid hold for precision.

Some people are struggling with the blade change so I found this Youtube video to help. I didn't make the video but it is a brief review of the features on a variety of folding Stanley knife products including this FatMax, and shows the blade change process in brief as well as those other aspects I mentioned.

[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Reading the other reviews, i was surprised people had such problems. This item was slightly damaged when it arrived, mainly cos it's just attached to the packaging, so the item is just open to the elements. It took me a while to realize the blades were inside the knife. I bought 100 stanley fatmax blades from amazon, saves re buying knives all the time. I found it easy to use and a great work/hobby knife.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Abysmal product. Red button on mine nec to change blade is broken on arrival. No instructions on how to use it - read the other reviews even engineers struggle! It's pretty dangerous even by normal knife standards as you have to hold the blade and wiggle it around and push into place. Mine is going back and I've never returned anything before!! Don't buy this knife!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
I've tried cheap "Stanley" knives before (i.e. not real Stanley, but Draper or whoever) like I suppose you have. And they've always been rubbish.
This one is a bit dearer, but a solid high-class tool that's safe and easy to use and store and one I've been very glad I bought.
Once you get used to the odd folding method, it's easy to use and feels secure in the hand, unlike the cheapo ones where you're forever expecting them to take your finger off.
Replacement blades are cheap enough and double-ended. Don't make the mistake of buying a decent knife, then trying to economise on blades - get the proper ones.
You can store a few blades inside the handle, and changing blades is a ten second job and much safer than with in an inferior knife. It feels solid and under control when you cut with it, the blade retracts completely before folding, so you can safely leave it lying about without fear of anybody getting cut accidentally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Great item. I have now purchased three for different locations. The only drawback is the belt clip which kept catching so I have removed them. This makes the unfolding so easy I can do it one handed, if required, but closing it where you need to release the safety lock still, thankfully, really needs two.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I bought this as i was moving into my first house and needed a handy wee knife for unpacking boxes and DIY.

I really like the folding feature of this knife as it fits in your pocket a lot easier than a traditional Stanley knife and its also an additional safety feature as the blade is folded inside the handle, the spare blades are also stored inside the handle.

It is well constructed as you would expect with a "Stanley" Stanley Knife.

Some other reviewers have mentioned that the blades are awkward to change, i haven't had any trouble changing them so far (i found the instructions on the packaging self-explanatory), just watch your fingers when handling the blades.

I would recommend this product.

I had no issues with delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2012
Over the years I have had several "Stanley" knifes, and this is the best one to date.

The biggest challenge you will have is getting the knife out of the packaging, and then working out what bit goes where i.e how to insert the blade, fold the knife etc. However, once mastered, you will be on your way.

The knife feels good in the hand and feels robust. I have seen reviews where the blade seems to wobble, not in my case. The knife comes with three blades and so as I am an occasional DIY'r, these should last me years. Bit of a gimmick for me but the knife does fold in half. Perhaps if you were using the knife daily, perhaps this might be useful.

Overall, I am very pleased. Worthwhile addition to anyone's DIY cabinet. Highly recommended.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)