Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three Classics at the right price, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
The latest in Avid's on-going series of bargain priced reissues of classic 1950's jazz, this retrospective captures the period in which Tubby Hayes transformed from local wunderkind into international contender. One of the albums, the fabled Jazz Couriers in Concert, overlaps with the recent Jazz Genius set on Fantastic Voyage, and listeners will have to decide whether they prefer the cleaner sound of the earlier set to Dave Bennett's remastering here, but the music itself is uniformly wonderful. Bennett has wisely chosen to include the penultimate Couriers album, made for the US Carlton label, and arguably the bands best work, alongside Tubby's first quartet effort, the majestic Tubby's Groove, an album to rank with the finest American LP's of the era. The bonus tracks are drawn from slightly earlier sessions, one with trumpeter Jimmy Deuchar on which Hayes is still very much coming into his own. Finally there is an alternative take of On A Misty Night, from the Jazz Couriers first Tempo session in 1957, which adds a welcome reminder of Hayes equally precocious vibraphone skills.

As with all of Avid's double-CD series, the packaging is of the no-frills variety with sleeve notes lifted directly from the original issues, sometimes in truncated form, but at nearly 80 minutes a disc this set is the ultimate cost-effective way to hear the best of Hayes pre-1960's output. The Couriers tracks still sound engaging, with the two front men in inspired form. Best of all? Perhaps Hayes own idiomatic Mirage, a theme worthy of Horace Silver in his prime. Likewise, the quartet set is simply magnificent, with the leaders tenor recalling Getz, Griffin and Rollins in a recital which more or less set the parameters for his style in the next decade; virtuoso saxophone playing and choice vibraphone work delivered with hand-in-glove, co-operative band members. A word too for pianist Terry Shannon, whose secure playing graces all three of the full-length albums. Smack in the Silver/Clark/Flanagan tradition, his work throughout is a constant delight.

Whilst the recent flood of live and previously unreleased sessions by Hayes are all valuable, it's worth noting that it was with the records heard here that the saxophonist won his formidable reputation. At this price, no-one can by-pass such fine music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IN THE GROOVE WITH TUBBY HAYES, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
Tubby Hayes was a virtuoso performer on the tenor sax, and this bumper reissue serves as a reminder of just what the British modern jazz scene lost with his untimely death in June 1973. "The Jazz Couriers In Concert" was recorded live at London's Dominion Theatre on 16th February 1958, and "The Couriers of Jazz" dates from that November; both feature Tubby Hayes with Ronnie Scott on tenor sax, and Terry Shannon on piano, Phil Bates and Jeff Clyne respectively on bass, and Bill Eyden on drums. "Tubby's Groove" features the Quartet in December 1959 (Hayes, Shannon, Clyne plus Phil Seamen on drums), and the four numbers featuring Tubby Hayes have been lifted from the 1955 album "Pub Crawling with Jimmy Deuchar which, with an alternate take of "On a Misty Night", completes the second CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TYPICAL TUBBY, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Alan Giles "AlanUK" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
These Avid double sets are always good value for money - this one is no exception. All the material on offer here is currently available on other more expensive labels. The music covers the years 1955-59 and is up to Tubby's usual high standard. He is heard on both tenor sax and vibes. The 1955 tracks are also available of a Jasmine CD under Jimmy Deuchar's name, as are the 1959 tracks by the quartet (a couple of extra tracks on the Jasmine which were bonuses are not included here for time considerations) the 1958 concert has recently been reissued on a 3 CD set called Tubby Hayes The Flamingo Era and the balance of the Jazz Couriers material is available on Fresh Sound/Carlton, a record issued here in the UK on the London label, but originally recorded for issue in the USA.

The only reason I give this 4 instead of 5 stars is that the sound quality on the 1958 Live Couriers In Concert session is not all it could be. I assume that it has been dubbed from a vinyl copy (I suspect the original session tapes are missing). It is of course mono, but rather boxy. It restores Ronnie Scott's announcements which appeared on the original Tempo LP but were edited out of the 1960s reissue on Music For Pleasure. Strangely, the sound of the recording is more like the MFP reissue. I have the original Tempo LP and to my ears it sounds fresher - but unlikely they would have used the MFP and dubbed in the announcements, so I suspect the source is the Tempo LP. No crackles or pops, just this rather constricted sound, but the music is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tubby and Ronnie at their absolute best, 13 April 2011
By 
Mr. Philip Baird (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
Well thankfully this doesn't hang about and from the off Tubbs and Ronnie are out of the gate and blowing up a storm with a fantastic drummer Bill Eyden kicking hell out of the drums. They let up for the odd ballad or two but soon ride the wind again in some of the best British jazz you'll ever hear. There's bags of atmosphere too (and Ronnie's 'jokes' !) and I wish I'd have been there for the live recording. Tubby's solo on Tin Tin Deo is just magic and is even perhaps up there with Coltrane and Rollins such was the talent of the man - ideas just flow out of him. Sunny Monday is another highlight and quite beautiful. This country has produced some wonderful jazz musicians and composers but none better than the British king of the tenor, the late lamented Tubbs. I wish I could have met him. Don't hesitate to put this one in your basket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tubby, a force to be reckoned with., 17 Sep 2011
By 
Kenneth J. Morris (Burton-upon Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
Avid Jazz, the Watford based jazz record re-issuer, are to be congratulated in their efforts to keep the creative flames of 'historic' jazz musicians alive in the 21st Century. With less than a dozen or so UK born modern jazz soloists rated as being of world class stature by the US originators of the genre it is a great pleasure to find 26 tracks spread over two and a half hours (on 2 CD's) featuring Tubby Hayes and his inspired fluency on tenor sax and occasional vibraphone. Three 1957-59 vintage LP's - "The Jazz Couriers in Concert", "The Couriers of Jazz" and "Tubby's Groove" are supplemented by four tracks with Jimmy Deuchar/Derek Humble/Ken Wray/Victor Feldman/Lennie Bush/Phil Seamen (trumpet, alto/bari saxes, trombone, piano, bass and drums respectively. Ronnie Scott is, of course, strongly featured on the two Couriers albums and the two tenorists ably display their incredible ingenuity and ability to generate excitement. These CD's probably contain some of the very best UK 'hard bop' ever recorded. Fantastic value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BeBop heaven!, 22 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
Great recordings from the best British small jazz group ever. How could these CD's be anything but super when Ronnie Scott and Tubby Hayes were involved. Great support to the 2 tenor players was eloquently provided especially by Terry Shannon on piano.

I was at the Dominion Theatre concert and the Jazz Couriers were superb including of course Ronnie Scott's jokes!

As the saying goes 'they don't produce recordings like this any more'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still waiting, 18 Feb 2011
By 
J. M. Pease "peasej36" (Ashford, Kent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
As I was present at the live recording I have tried to get a decent disc of the music. This is not it as the sound quality is even worse than the the Acrobat issue. I will now try my luck with the Hayes/Flamingo Era set.
Having got that gripe out of my system it must be said that, as usual with Avid, this is superb value for money and worth getting just for the "Tubby's Groove" and "Couriers Of Jazz" sessions. I particularly liked the Monk tribute on the latter album and once again realised what a super drummer we had in Bill Eyden.
Highly recommended at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music from yesteryear, 9 July 2014
By 
D. C. Clarke "David C." (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please recordings are from the heyday of British modern jazz in the 1960s. This is great music for all the fans of Tubby Hayes and Ronnie Scott. Great arrangements and beautifully played and recorded. By and you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tubby Hayes, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Alex Balmforth "Alex B" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to hear Tubby, Ronnie Scott, Bill Eyden et al again after many years. My vinyl records are becoming a little scratchy. Though I thought the sound quality of the first Jazz Couriers LP left a lot to be desired, mind the other two transfers were much better. Great nostalgia. The musicians are not identified, sad omission...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Tubby Hayes simply world class, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Classic Albums Plus [The Jazz Couriers - In Concert / The Couriers Of Jazz / Tubby's Groove] (Audio CD)
A wonderful reminder of the British Jazz scene in the 1950's. Beautiful music that will last the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews