Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hard Drive
Old drive on my desktop started clattering and occasionally saying unable to find boot drive. This hard drive was larger than the original but took the ghosted copy of the system and worked first time. Now giving silent and speedy service.
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by Gadget

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vibrates when running
Have assembled a quiet pc using Cooler Master sound proofed case an expensive high efficiency power supply, an ASUS fanless graphics card and an OCZ SSD for the C drive. Very pleased with the result except when this drive is running it vibrates the whole machine and the desk - just a little but enough to annoy.
I brought two of these drives for my new pc and both are...
Published on 23 Nov 2012 by S. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vibrates when running, 23 Nov 2012
By 
S. Lee "The General" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
Have assembled a quiet pc using Cooler Master sound proofed case an expensive high efficiency power supply, an ASUS fanless graphics card and an OCZ SSD for the C drive. Very pleased with the result except when this drive is running it vibrates the whole machine and the desk - just a little but enough to annoy.
I brought two of these drives for my new pc and both are fitted to removable bays and both vibrate in the same way so I assume it is a consequence of them running at 7200rpm speed? Otherwise they are very quiet in operation - no clicking sound during read/write operations.
This new pc stops the drive if not used for a while to save or open work, and it's noticeable when it stops spinning, and when it starts up again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hard Drive, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
Old drive on my desktop started clattering and occasionally saying unable to find boot drive. This hard drive was larger than the original but took the ghosted copy of the system and worked first time. Now giving silent and speedy service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
As expected Western Digital quality once more comes to the fore. Quiet as a church mouse while accessing data or booting up and it keeps nice and cool if its got a small fan cooling it. Highly recommended drive and combine it with a cooling fan on the PC case its great. Accesses data really fast and works as a main drive great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Product, 17 May 2011
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
This is the latest generation (SATAIII)of hard drive which runs 6gb/s.
Really very fast and Amazing thing is it is backward compatible
and works like SATAII as well.
I will replace this hard drive soon with my all office systems.
Just bear in mind you need sataIII support motherboard for maximum advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy Drive, quick access and quite, 4 April 2012
By 
Alec (Yarm, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
Length:: 2:29 Mins

Had the drive working for One week now in a new build Computer. Performs well, Its Sata 3 so read and write times are good. Is faster than Sata 2 but not spectacularly faster In real world use I find, the data speed within the computer is also affected by what chipset you're motherboard has and what CPU you have.
The drive is quite compared to some I've had in the past. Has the jumpers on the back which are used for limiting the speed from 6Gbps to 3Gbps and/or using the PUIS (power up in standby) mode, handy if you have a large raid array to save on power depending on motherboard compatibility and raid type. So overall a good hard drive, quite and for what you get a good price, would buy again for any more new builds in the near future.
Any problems with the drive and I will update this review.

PS, Two good tips when handling hard drives, always wear a anti-static wrist band if you have one, and once you've taken the hard drive out of the anti-static bag, don't put it back on top of it. The bag is only anti-static on the inside, not the outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great HDD, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
Very good product, noticably quicker loading times over ATA300. Installed and formatted easily. Runs cool, and quiet. Delivered promptly and well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
I've had the hard disk installed now for about two weeks. My hard disk failed and i thought it might of been an issue setting up the new one. It wasn't so bad after all. No other settings had to be changed on the motherboard, I just linked up the Sata cable connection, added the power supply and then stuck in the windows disk. Windows formatted the hard disk and hey presto, Bobs your uncle. Of course over time I've had to add the drivers for the other bits and pieces. Delivery was prompt and product works just as it should. No worries. I'd recommend it to anyone. Note the box it comes in is a a bit bigger than the disk, but this is good packaging for you. Make sure you're in when it's delivered or you'll have to pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars failed twice, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
ordered this hard drive turned out to be faulty.had it replaced with another one,4 months down the line, faulty again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead on arrival, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
As the title says I received my hard drive this morning only to find it was DOA. This was probably due to Amazon's rubbish packaging the hard drive was in, It was just the hard drive in an antistatic bag with a thin cardboard layer covering it. I Was surprised to see this as I have 3 of these drives already and they came from Amazon and arrived good as they were in a bigger box and were protected much better than this one was. I have decided to exchange for another one so see if the second one will be any better but I doubt it. Note to Amazon: changed the packaging back to the one is was before or at least write fragile on the box. Rather disappointed with Amazon. Amazon have now exchanged my hard drive this time with better packaging and is now working when it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WD Blue Desktop Drives, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATAIII 6Gb/s 16MB Cache 3.5 inch Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
These hard drives give good performance and are noted for their reliability for everyday computing. They were used with couple of other WD Blue drives that went to a new build, and they were mainly used for additional Storage, and they have proven reliable, and with no performance issues. One of the drives was partitioned it into 2 different drives - with again no issues what so ever. These are good drives that do the job they're intended to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews