Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recreation of rural life. Unmissable
This heart-warming 12-part BBC documentary series is a captivating, intelligent and entertaining recreation and examination of rural life as it was lived 100 or so years ago. It follows in the footsteps of the very successful Victorian Farm series, but has a much greater breadth of subject. Small scale farming became agricultural industry in the Edwardian era and working...
Published on 27 Nov. 2010 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect
Would be 5 stars but it did not come with a plastic seal of any kind and therefore felt more 'second hand' when giving as a gift. Disc runs fine though
Published 11 months ago by Charlie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recreation of rural life. Unmissable, 27 Nov. 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
This heart-warming 12-part BBC documentary series is a captivating, intelligent and entertaining recreation and examination of rural life as it was lived 100 or so years ago. It follows in the footsteps of the very successful Victorian Farm series, but has a much greater breadth of subject. Small scale farming became agricultural industry in the Edwardian era and working life extended far beyond farm boundaries. So this series explores the living and working conditions and traditions of a greater scope, to include fish farming, mining, market gardening, boat building and more.
The key to the success of the Edwardian Farm is its team of three presenters; archaeologists and historians Alex, Peter and Ruth. They attempt to live the lives of the working rural folk of the Edwardian period, and bring their professional expertise into play to explain the agricultural and household practices of the era. This makes for a far more satisfying viewing experience than watching reality show victims struggle to cope with unfamiliar routines: the Edwardian Farm team are often trying something for the first time but they do it with an informed, positive attitude and with the aim of explaining to us why it was crucial, or how it was a skilled trade, or what depended upon it - capturing the importance of lost trades and old customs which have disappeared in modern times.

The action all takes place at Morwelham Quay in Devon on the banks of the Tamar, providing a very different setting to the inland Shropshire hills of the Victorian experiment. Each hour-long episode follows the team during one month of the year so that this four-DVD set provides a complete record of a country year as it might have been lived in the early 1900s.
The filming follows each team member as they undertake the daily and seasonal tasks on the farm, and captures some of the gorgeous land- and seascapes of the area at different times of the year.
Each episode is crammed with interesting segments which highlight lost crafts, like making quicklime to fertilise the local acid soils or making a thatched hayrick to foil hungry rodents. There are some moments which are just plain daft - cleaning the kitchen before sweeping the chimney, or threatening to sweep that chimney with a live chicken! Didn't fancy the sheep's head stew much, either!
At the start of the Edwardian era there was no electricity, no running water and little mechanisation. But all creep in during the period so we see their arrival on the farm, with the world's first tractor challenging the shire horses at ploughing, or the automatic weaving machine producing a mat of thatch. Water-driven hammers flatten a billhook blade in the forge, and a paddle-steamer comes to the port. An early motor car pays a visit and one of the first aeroplanes flies by, but this is contrasted by the daily grind of milking an uncooperative goat, herding hill ponies, building barrels by hand, laying a traditional hedge, or harmlessly `harvesting' eggs from a trout for the team's fish-farm.
Unlike earlier programmes, this series taps into a culture which is just within living memory so the team can talk to people who actually lived that way and used these techniques for real, back before the Great War. It's fascinating, and all told with good natured humour - no flares of bad temper when things don't go quite as planned!
The series also aims to portray the rural hardship of the time, when farmers had to cope with poverty on the land by harvesting the bounty of the seas. So we see lobster and crab fishing, and learn how to make a coracle. Agricultural workers also turned to industry to earn their keep, so we're shown copper and tin mining, and the workings of a wool mills, while the women went into domestic service or made lace. On top of all that the series captures the rise of the railways and of leisure time and people's social activities, and the first stirrings of the tourist industry.

This all combines to produce excellent factual television, which neatly blends social history with an agricultural chronicle. It's enormously entertaining and treats its audience as intellectual equals. Initially, I wondered if there could be any more to tell after the Victorian Farm programmes - but this series proved to be even more informative and enjoyable than the last.
10/10

See also: The Victorian Farm Complete Set [DVD]
Victorian Farm - Christmas Special [DVD] [2008]
Tales From The Green Valley [DVD]
The Victorian Pharmacy [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful series by the team..., 22 Feb. 2011
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
Having followed this team, Alex, Peter and Ruth, since their Tales of the Green Valley days, there was no way I was going to miss this latest series, and I was eager to buy the DVD set to absorb all the series again. As usual the BBC didn't really treat this series very well, by shifting the schedule the whole time, however the series itself was fantastic.

So many more areas of farm life from this particular era were covered, along with the fascinating side-projects, which included fishing and mining, to name a few. It was interesting to see how much of the Victorian way of life was retained in Edwardian times, yet at the same time there were so many more radical ideas too, as society progressed on its way.

Each hour-long episode of this series just flies by, and having watched it a couple of times, there are still things I didn't quite take in on the first or second viewings. I've always enjoyed how the team interact with each other, and there's always some fun to be had. Like all the previous series, I love the fact this series provides escapism to the viewer. When TV is cluttered with soaps and TV programmes with nothing but people arguing and behaving badly, it's an absolute joy to go back in time with Edwardian Farm.
There isn't much in the way of extras with this DVD set, but if you buy the accompanying book which I'd highly recommend, then DVD extras are not really needed. Besides with 12 hours of viewing, it's not exactly like being short-changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
Ruth, Alex and Peter are just getting better and better. I did not manage to catch the series from start when it was airing, so decided to wait till it will be available on DVD. So worth the wait! I still cannot get over the jolly mirth of Ruth when she was riding a bike or working the "vacuum cleaner" nor how Alex and Peter were trying to catch different animals at different times. I know that is not what the show is about, but it made it damn more enjoyable. Watched the DVDs in two day marathon all and afterwards had to watch all the others I have with them (and I have all!).
I wonder what they will do next and hope they will do something next soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series!, 6 April 2011
By 
K. M. Jacobs (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
First was Victorian Farm and then came Victorian Farm Christmas, both of which were great. Now, from the same three cheery historians, you can marvel at the delights of the Edwardian Farm.

The format is similar to that of the Victorian Farm series in that our three affable historians take themselves off and live the life of Edwardian farmers for a whole year. However, there are a couple of differences. First is that in this series you get an hour for each month rather than an hour for each season and this is a good thing because it allows the presenters to go into much more detail so that you can get a much better idea of the reality of day to day living at that time in history.

The other difference is that the viewer gets to understand that unlike his Victorian farming friends, the Edwardian farmer had to be prepared to turn his hand to a much wider range of activities in order to be sure of providing a stable income all year round. As ever, there is also much humour and merryment between the three time travellers but I feel this works well in helping to get across just what a struggle life could be for the Edwardian Farmer.

Great fun to watch just for enjoyment and perfect to watch if you like a bit of history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous, 26 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
We have so enjoyed all the farming series - Victorian and Edwardian farm and the 1600s Green Valley series. We could learn so much from this lifestyle today - less materialism, more hard work and more in touch with the earth and each other.

The team are not actors, they are historians, but we still see a convincing slice of life 100, 150 or 400 years ago in each of the series. We love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cosy viewing, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
L. Barlow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
I love all of the 'Farm' programmes. This one, Edwardian Farm departs from the purely domestic/home farm a little more. The presenters go out into the Edwardian world and try other jobs, fishing, mining, domestic service etc. I think this is a good idea because the series could get pretty samey if they hadn't. After all, there can't be a huge difference from the Victorian to the Edwardian in the way things are done inside the home and the farm. There are differences, of course, but not so huge as between say Green Valley and Victorian Farm. Very personable presenters who have become like family friends after all this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Barn-Stormer!, 7 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of the "...Farm" series, and this one doesn't disappoint. Admittedly, there's very little time-shift between the The Victorian Farm Complete Set [DVD] and this title, so much of the technology is similar, if not the same, (as opposed to the leap forward from Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] and The Victorian Farm Complete Set [DVD]) however, the change of location gives scope for the team to explore other activities from the era such as mining and fishing.
For anyone with an interest in farming and/or history, this is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edwardian Farm DVD, 26 Aug. 2011
By 
Sandra Martin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
I have bought the preceeding DVD on Victorian Farm.If you liked that you will not be disappointed.The team of three are back this time enjoying a different era.The team get on brilliantly, there is much humour throughout the series,and if you enjoy history you will learn a lot.I only wish I had history lessons with this much entertainment.They picked a part of Britain I have visited and enjoyed in Devon.If you buy this DVD not only will you enjoy the history lesson ,you will find a travel log so,enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous historical series., 13 Nov. 2012
By 
KAREN PINCHBECK (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this after seeing Victorian Farm on TV. I wasn't disappointed! This is truly feel-good viewing, seeing the team tackle the day - to - day tasks with boundless enthusiasm and energy, even when things are going wrong. A fabulous insight into how things used to be done, and in some ways it saddened me that many of these old skills and customs are now obsolete.
A great box set for cold winter nights! Buy it with Victorian farm and watch them in chronological order for the full experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Edwardian Farm, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian Farm [DVD] (DVD)
This ecexellent documentary from an historical perspective is really first class. The team are enthusiastic and help you to live their experiences. It is a journey into how our ancestors lived and what events led into the modern way of life for all of us. I would also like to recommend "Tales from Green Valley" and "The Victorian Farm" The same team offer us the most wonderful insights into life and lives gone by and educate us in many interesting subjects. Ruth Nix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edwardian Farm [DVD]
£10.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews