Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What to say the next time a religious zealot knocks on your front door
It's very well known that the New Testament was cobbled together by 300-odd bishops in 325 AD. The whole story is far worse than that. The author ruthlessly compares the gospels, exposing the inconsistencies and forgeries, as well as setting out the real sequence in which the whole lot was written. For example, St Paul wrote before any of the Gospels, and strangely said...
Published 17 months ago by L. Rose

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a good editor
This book is amusing, and makes many good points, but the author's childish use of ridicule and profanity absolutely detracts from the narrative. I can only think this must be a self-published book, because any decent publisher would improve the book a lot. The author's enthusiasm and ego have detracted from his ability to be considered a serious contender in the canon of...
Published 16 months ago by John Bremner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Jaedson Barton-costa (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't recommend this book more. It's a great read: funny and highly enjoyable. You will want to highlight many of the passages, as I did. And you will catch yourself giggling every other page (or even more often). Definitely a great tool for slapping down boring "preachers" at the dinner table or elsewhere with.
And the rants are the funniest!
10 out of 10.
JB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blasphemously brilliant, 18 May 2011
By 
D. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a follow up to CJ Werleman's superb first book, God Hates You, Hate Him Back, this book focuses on the New Testament and, in doing so, has more time to go into detail. This is a good thing as it results in another wonderfully humorous exploration of the Christian Bible. Making his way through the New Testament, CJ treats the reader to an exposé of many of the problems it presents those who claim the Bible is inerrant and factual. As with his previous book, this won't offer the gravitas associated with Hitchen or Dawkings but, given Werleman's approach, I doubt that was his aim. Instead he sets out of offer an often hilarious but always interesting and informative read that anybody can enjoy, theists included (providing they have a sense of humour and don't take their religious beliefs to be above criticism.) Highly recommended for those with even a passing interest in religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars effective debunking, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Dr. C. D. Connaughton (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
This book makes a strong case that Christianity is based on falsehood and is therefore, of course, false. It is interesting and informative about the details of the Canonical gospels, their authorship, their times of creation, and the contradictions between them. There are numerous references to other writings of similar opinion which will be helpful to those who wish to read more on this important topic. It is clear that Mr Werleman has read widely on the subject and he is refreshingly forthright in his criticism.

Like all books of this type, I regard this book as necessary for the furtherance of truth and the liberation from the burden of oppressive falsehood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book helps Christianity, 9 Mar 2011
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Moderate, fair minded Christians who read this book can only have their faith strengthened by its frequent use of foul language, coarse syntax, crude grammar and frequent typograhical errors. If this were all they had to fear from the opposition they could happily laugh their way to their pews every Sunday and plenty of days in between. Fortunately there are many much better researched and compiled works establishing the moral high ground of committed atheism. Myself a committed humanist and atheist, I tried this book out on two moderate Christian friends, both of whom said it strengthened their faith. Open to reasoned argument based on facts, they were of the opinion that hysterical writing is in the nature of being a smoke screen poured out to hide latent insecurity.

The author's grasp of the New Testament is so vague that he believes Jesus is said to have ascended into heaven on a phantom donkey. I quote from Chapter 3, page 35. '---the moment Jesus' ghostly ass ascended into heaven...' He also accepts that 2 Thessalonians was written by Paul the Apostle.(Page 197) No serious New Testament scholar believes that Paul wrote all of the epistles attributed to him and he certainly did not write 2 Thessalonians. We can have little faith in an author who fails to get right this well known fact.

Worse still, the author seems unaware that there are two Greek words in the New Testament that are translated into English as 'hell': Gehenna and hades. The former originally referred to the place where rubbish was burned outside the walls of ancient Jerusalem and only later became a synonym for a place of devinely sanctioned torment. Hades is the Greek name for the place of shades, the abode of the dead, and corresponds more or less to the Hebrew sheol, which was a popular Jewish belief. The Jewish hierarchy did not teach belief in an afterlife. The prophet Jeremiah quite clearly did not believe in one as we see when we read the Book of Jeremiah in the Old Testament. If we are going to expose the many gross errors and inaccuracies in the bible we need, not only to know it thoroughly, but also to know all about its background, who wrote it, when it was written and how it was compiled and edited. If JESUS LIED is anything to go by, the author qute clearly is sadly lacking in his understanding of these vital matters.

Poorly reseached, crudely written diatribes inevitably play into the hands of those against whom they are aimed. The Christian David will always slaughter any over-blown atheist Goliath who is sent against him. The sensible, moral-minded atheist will make sure he is well trained in the use of his sling before he bravely sets out to slay any religious juggernaut. Sadly, although C J Werleman may have intended well, he has failed miserably to present either a realistic case against Christianity or an equally realistic one for atheism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jesus, The Lunatic., 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
It was C.S.Lewis who wrote, in Mere Christianity, that Jesus had to have been either a liar, lunatic or Lord. Werleman thinks, as I do, if the Gospel Jesus existed, ''he was a self-deluded madman... was indeed a liar and a lunatic. (p 2). Many will of course disagree and say the author is being far too harsh and over-reaching. However, the dictionary defines megalomania as: ''A psychopathological condition characterized by delusional fantasies of wealth, power, or omnipotence. An obsession with grandiose or extravagant things or actions,'' which is very like the Gospel Jesus.

This may be an rudimentary examination of the New Testament and its deluded hero Jesus, but it's often a comical delight to read. The highlight for me was chapter five 'The Gospels on Jesus' Adolescent Years', in particular, Werleman's hilarious review of 'The Gospel of Thomas, which was ''omitted by the Council of Nicea in AD 322'' (p76). Thomas provides us with a description of Jesus aged five to seven years of age, and he behaves therein like a mischievous, petulant, disobedient little monster. Perhaps this was the real reason that this Gospel didn't make it into the New Testament. Anyway, in Thomas, Jesus had murdered two children by age 5. One of the children that he murdered accidently ran into him, bumping his shoulder. So Jesus turned towards the unobservant youth and shouted: ''Thou shalt not live a full life!'' And With that curse, the young boy fell to the ground and died (p78).What a Jesus? But you know what some youths are like.

This is a entertaining and an informed critique of the New Testament. Well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
Well I always thought the 'good book' was a story book. This just adds fuel to the fire. Entertainingly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Shocking!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
And when I say shocking I'm referring to the grammar and the syntax - it's quite horrendous! However, once you get used to this and accept the author's limitations, what he has to say makes a really good read. In me he's only preaching to the converted, but he still maintains my interest throughout. I think for anyone who is not quite taken in by St Paul and the New Testament this is required reading - Mr Werleman will help you understand why you have doubts and free your mind from the tyranny of Christian superstition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jesus Lied, 20 July 2012
By 
steve (Rainham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
A really interesting, readable and apt book.
Personally I did not care for the profane language used at times. It made the book less attractive and less scholarly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a great book, 18 July 2012
This review is from: Jesus Lied - He Was Only Human: Debunking The New Testament (Kindle Edition)
I realise everyone has their own slant on things, but I was expecting so much more from this book, which frankly is badly written and not very balanced.
In the first few pages bible verses are deliberately taken out of context, which seems a bit rich given the book's title. Also, America's social problems are compared unfavourably with Sweden's and the whole thing put down to religion, which seems to be a huge, sweeping generalisation based on no particular evidence. I would imagine the fact that Sweden has fewer social problems has much more to do with progressive government policy and a smaller and less disparate population rather than whether the country is more secular, although no mention is made of Sweden's higher suicide rate.
All in all, the author thinks far too much of his own opinion which gives his arguments little foundation and credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OBVIOUSLY THE AUTHOR ISN'T A STUDENT OF HISTORY, SCIENCES, THEOLOGY OR COMMON SENSE, 16 Mar 2013
Probably one of the worst books I've ever come across. Not only is there no sound scientific or philosophical basis for the claims made here, but on top of that, the genuine disregard of scripture as "myth" from the outset (and a general negligence in examining the scriptures) sets a presupposition of bias towards the atheistic agenda.

Moreover, they're actually no claims made in this book that an A-Level theology student couldn't easily take to pieces. The author is most likely another one of the "Dawkins brigade". Like Dawkins, I suspect that the writer of this piece has his specialist subject - although I doubt it is in a relevant discipline - and also like Dawkins, I suspect that the concept of unbiased examination never occured.

They're 95,000 external documents that support the validity of scripture, and the validity of the New Testament in particular. This is far more than any theisic piece of literature... yet, none of them are called upon in relation to evidence of the scriptures. One might suggest a little more homework to be done on the subject.

If it were possible to award less than 1 star, I would. Extremely unreliable, biased, badly researched claptrap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews