Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Accused is a set of meaty and often hard-hitting dramas by Jimmy McGovern, writer of The Street. Each episode opens with the accused (geddit?) being led from their cell to face trial for an unspecified crime. The story is then told in the next sixty minutes of how he or she, normally an honest and upstanding citizen found themself there and on what charge. There is the plumber facing bankruptcy and an expensive family wedding who comes across a bag of cash in a cab. The soldier whose best friend committed suicide unable to cope with the stresses of war and victimisation in Helmand. The lonely cabbie with a sick wife who develops a friendship with one of his fares and more.....the good, the bad and the unlucky.

McGovern picks from a cross section of society and weaves each plot beautifully to keep you guessing until the end who is guilty (or not) and of what crime although the result is secondary to the journey there. Hardly anytime is spent in the courtroom, we are just whisked in for the verdict and that is plenty. Great performances from the best of British actors including Christopher Eccleston, Juliet Stevenson and Marc Warren. As all the stories are separate, it does not have the character continuity or indeed community of The Street but fans of that excellent series will recognise and appreciate McGovern's DNA running right through this one as nobody does gritty English drama better.
22 comments|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
I started watching this series and was hooked. The characters, the acting, the story line. This is one of those very enjoyable series that has you rooted from the first few minutes. Each episode is a different character and story, and at the end, you just want more. The actors themselves are lovable, but you dont see that as they act out their role, and they just suck you in. I would watch this again.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
I watched these on television when they were first shown. They're all brilliant with an exceptional performance by Ben Batt, Christopher Ecclestone and Marc Warren - highly recommended - as is anything by Jimmy McGovern
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Fan - tast - ic. Only word for it. Each story is a gem. Each story is gripping. So glad I discovered Jimmy McGovern's work! I've also recently ordered The Street - another wonderfully gripping series by McGovern. Buy Accused and The Street and you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Had just seen the second series on TV and realised I had not seen all of the first series, so got this set. Not to be missed if you like gritty British drama. All of the actors featured are truly outstanding. Better than many current feature films in my view.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
I missed this on its initial Tv release; so saw it on here; checked the reviews and brought it; that's how it normally goes right? when your not to sure about something you check the reviews and if it's mixed you either weigh in how many are good and how many are bad; or you take the chance or not. Ordered it.
Note i have only watched episode 1 and 2. yes i know should wait till finish before i write a review but i think on the basis of episode 1 and 2 i can tell you what i think...
So what do i think?
Well as always you can't go wrong with a Jimmy McGovern story. (i haven't watched moving on or the streets)
But cracker, The lakes.
this is six stories which deal with normal people and extraordinary situations (but realistic)
the first story revolves around Christopher Eccleston who plays a father whose daughter is about to get married. And he finds a large wad of cash in a taxi. Now this is all i'm going to give on this story. as no point in laying it out.
the first story is strong well acted by all the cast and well directed. The story is Believable. This is what makes British drama so brilliant.
episode two is also a very strong and powerful one. about two friends who join the army. one of whom freezes during a fire fight and is labelled the 'b***h' this story is more powerful than the first one. and good performances from Ben Smith. And a surprising performance by Mackensie Crook (so used to him in the office)
this series is well worth getting. fed up with that never changing American glossy shows (not to say i dont like them) but this is gritty and strong stuff. whether it'll make you sit back and think? depends on type of person you are I suppose as we all take different things from films or series. But what I loved about it? it's situations that could pretty much happen. it doesn't spoon feed you. It doesnt paint a rosy picturesque world. Nor does it feature people who are well groomed. Or are perfect. No this is real life. this is what Jimmy McGovern does best.
So worth buying yes this series is well worth getting and I believe you will not regret it.
this series also stars. marc Warren, Warren Brown, Peter Capoldi, Naomie Harris, Andy Serkis, Juliet Stephenson.
Already can't wait for the second season. (which i know has already started)
hope this review was helpful in any way.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
This was true edge of the seat stuff and riveting to watch. Everyday stories of everyday people who end up in court, for one reason or another. Truly gripping, must-see television with some very fine acting. Am waiting for series 2 with bated breath.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
A great drama series with astonishing plot, intriguing characters and heart-breaking performances from some of the greatest British actors. I totally loved it! I cannot wait to order the series two which is going to be released in a few days.
It mooved me so deeply that I cried but at the same time I felt deeply the power and the sharpness of the social critique implied in the scenarios. Juliet Stevenson and Andy Serkis are magnificent actors! I adore them.
A highly recommended TV series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I bought this on the strength of the wonderful acting skills of Christopher Eccleston and
was not disappointed. An interesting collection of stories which would suit people who
like courtroom dramas with a twist.. keeps you guessing and not too much dry courtroom procedure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Incredible story telling, this series is on a par with The Street. I must confess that I did find one of the episodes to be very upsetting and incredibly sad. Having said this I am looking forward to the release of the second series of Accused.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)