Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a minute wasted!
I am rather disconcerted by some reviews that don't give credence to this marvellous series. Wallace and Gromit introduce fascinating clips from obscure corners of the world that celebrate wonderful inventions. Not only are these clips superb and ranging from art to pure scientific discovery; the animated intervening introductions by Wallace and his loyal sidekick are...
Published on 3 Jan. 2011 by H. Urquhart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of DVD purchase
Not very entertaining or informative. Combining technology and characters was not what was expected based on previous W & G DVD's. It was also too short.
Published on 29 Jan. 2013 by Maxwell Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a minute wasted!, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am rather disconcerted by some reviews that don't give credence to this marvellous series. Wallace and Gromit introduce fascinating clips from obscure corners of the world that celebrate wonderful inventions. Not only are these clips superb and ranging from art to pure scientific discovery; the animated intervening introductions by Wallace and his loyal sidekick are also packed with inventive and relevant animated detail to accompany the theme of the programme, be it flight, engines etc. I cannot recommend this series enough for both adults and also for children. My six year old, who is an inventor in the making, watches the episodes several times on i-player and loves to see walking sculptures on the beach or Wallace moving around in a steam engine chair fuelled by Gromit and a showel of coal. And what could be more fascinating than creating a modern central heating system derived from observing and casting a structure constructed by termites? This form of presentation is fairly revolutionary I think and cannot be faulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another charming Wallace & Gromit venture...with a UNIQUE twist this time!, 26 July 2011
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD] (DVD)
Wallace and Gromit are CLASS. There's no other way to describe this iconic pair of plasticine heroes. Their charm and brilliance has bagged creator Nick Park several BAFTAs and Oscars, proved overwhelmingly popular and successful for Aardman Animations, and - quite frankly - represents the best of British.

The career of this eccentric inventor and his faithful companion has spread across four classic short films (A Grand Day Out, The Wrong Trousers, A Close Shave and A Matter of Loaf & Death), a wonderful series of shorts (Cracking Contraptions), and a classic feature-length film (The Curse of the Were-Rabbit).

So, after all that...what else could Nick Park do with his wonderful duo? The next step is yet another charming and remarkable idea, but is also absolutely fascinating, incorporating a real-life look at inventors and their amazing creations all over the world.

This time, Wallace's latest business enterprise is his own television show "World of Invention", with the cellar of 62 West Wallaby Street being his studio, and Gromit subsequently being a one-dog crew. With Wallace as host, World of Invention consists of six half-hour episodes, each looking at a different aspect of the scientific world. There are brand-new animated sequences, complete with the usual antics that we've come to expect from Wallace and Gromit, but what makes World of Invention so special is that the animation is interwoven with real-life factual interviews and mini-documentaries on inventors/scientists past and present, their creations and the impact they've made on the world.

World of Invention is a perfect blend of animation and factual programming. The balance between the two fields is beautifully handled, and neither takes anything away from the other. The animated segments featuring Wallace and Gromit are full of the charm and sophistication that makes them so special, and centre around the theme of the episodes superbly, making them purposeful to the show's successful presentation.

Needless to say, Gromit's mannerisms and facial expressions are on form, with him still the ever-suffering, yet loyal, hardworking companion. He clearly does a fine job doing all the rigours of running the studio, and Wallace deserves praise as the host. The idea of him being the host of his own TV show is another concept that is both ingenious in premise and execution. Although the inventor is naïve and bumbling as always, Wallace's charm and banter succeeds in carrying the show's content as the host. The seemingly immortal Peter Sallis is back again for Wallace's voice, and remains as perfect as ever, delivering the trademark voice that you can't help but warm to.

But the real-life snippets deserve just as much praise, really. They examine all kinds of scientific wonders, ranging from the most radical failures, the most incredible success stories, history of revolutionary inventions that shaped the world, and utterly inspiring stories of how technology and inventors have saved and helped human lives. There are narrations from Ashley Jensen and a welsh archivist called Goronwy (voiced by John Sparkles) which help explain and elaborate the scientific value of these inserts, and there's also correspondence from likeable inventor/presenter Jem Stansfield. It's all absolutely fascinating, and will certainly inspire viewers to learn more about/appreciate science and maybe try their own hand at inventing.

Speaking of which, the special features are a set of DIY vids on how to build your own `cracking contraptions', such as the Upside-down-o-scope, the Wind-powered Sprinkler, an Atmospheric Railway, a Fin Ray Grabber, a Spy Camera and an Air Rocket. This is a really fun extra, and kids will certainly be keen to build their own inventions after watching these clips. Needless to say, adult supervision is recommended, as is the relevant safety gear and necessary space, but the instructions are easy-to-follow, thanks to a basic step-by-step guide and the presenting of inventor Ricky Martin. The end results are fun to behold, and the experience this offers is one I would recommend indulging in.

Even though I would've liked to have seen some additional extras (i.e. behind-the-scenes documentary, chat with Nick Park etc), this is a DVD that I would heartily recommend. Wallace & Gromit's World of Invention is a true must-have, not just for fans, but for science lovers, teachers and engineers of all kinds. It successfully appeals to so many audiences and - like all other works of Aardman and Nick Park - is just simply delightful. Let's hope we get a second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and grommets inventions, 19 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD] (DVD)
Totally brilliant. The children love it and it really gets their minds going about ways to invent things. Loved it so much I bought a copy for my 6 year olds school. They said they had never seen the entire year so quiet and absorbed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent format, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this for my three year old because he loves Wallace and Gromit. I was initially worried that it might be a bit too scientific for a 3yr old, but he absolutely loves it and we get continual requests, especially for the rocket (space) episode. So much so we're struggling to get to the last episodes so I have to admit we haven't watched it all!
The format is really good and unusual focusing on more 'out-there' inventions. It's great for a younger audience and isn't detailed or explained scientifically. Instead it really focuses on the process, the passion of the inventors and the amazing outcomes. No formulas or complicated language. It's really well done and I can see it will be educational, inspiring and thought provoking for little ones.
Thoroughly recommend for youngsters and I like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and Gromit's Wolrd of Invention, 10 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD] (DVD)
I just bought it as a Christmas present, came in time, excellent condition, good value for money. I have watched some of it with the person I bought it for, and it has all the goodies and extras on it, really funny. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this wallace and gromit, really informative, the kids loved it, absolutely glued to the tv.
Not the usual capers, but an easy way to get the kids interested in how things work around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoy animation especially good stuff like Wallace and gromit, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy animation especially good stuff like Wallace and gromit , the imagination is just amazing and of course the camera work twenty five frames or pictures equals one second of film to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting but good never the less, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite what I was expecting but good never the less :D Wallace and Gromit introducing loads of inventions around the world.. Was great and informative to watch.. Even my little girl liked it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD] (DVD)
I got this for my 7 year old grandson,we loved watching It and it make science interesting and great fun. Only the introduction is Wallace and Gromit but that makes it more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well done., 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD] (DVD)
A little corny but well done and very interesting. Would be a good basis for a Middle School science class. I'm way past middle school and I still liked it and learned things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention [DVD]
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews