Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sixteen Christmas Carol collection vol 2, 18 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second volume from The Sixteen of traditional Christmas carols. Whilst the carols on this CD are not all perhaps as well known as those on vol 1 (A Traditional Christmas Carol Collection) as many of these have sadly gone out of fashion, they are all still beautiful carols. The ensemble singing is of the highest order as expected from The Sixteen with text kept as close as possible to originals without any wanton modernisation and the tunes preserved in their original guise.

With these carols sounding so superb, they may become part of Christmas again. This CD can be whole heartedly recommended to anyone who wants to hear great traditonal carols - many of which will be new. For those that want to join in with the singing, complete texts of all the carols is provided in the booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Peter (Cheadle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Traditional Christmas Carol Collection, Vol. II (MP3 Download)
Great tracks real spirit of Christmas got in the singing mood and had a good sing with the music. I recommend this to everyone with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting collection, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Gareth Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection of Christmas carols enchanted my relatives over from Germany last year. We were staying in a cottage, the snow was banked up high, the log fire ablaze and this CD playing in the background. I think they thought they had died and gone to Heaven. They weren't familiar with many of the carols here, but still had this on a loop (and the first volume also by The Sixteen) pretty much on a loop for the entire duration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative performances, 9 May 2013
By 
Phyllis McDonnell (Co. Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sixteen never disappoint. I don't need to wait until Christmas to play it - it's balm for the soul at any time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stuff for Christmas, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Roger Williams (Chorley Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is a joy if you like Carols sung by a choir. I do. It a great choice of carols old and new and the choir, well I'm not a musician so don't write from a point other than knowing what sounds right and they really, really do. My favourite is Darke's arrangement of In the deep mid winter; that soaring A at the end - sublime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer class- a real treat to enjoy excellence, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Traditional Christmas Carol Collection, Vol. II (MP3 Download)
Just so good, artistry at its peak! Not just for Christmas - but whenever need to be reminded of the talent of THe Sixteen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music is just wonderful and the amazing voices bring a new dimension to the familiar Christmas carols. I bought this along with the first volume and enjoyed listening to both over the Christmas period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLANT COLLECTION OF CAROLS!, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I BOUGHT COLLECTION I. AS WELL AS 2., BUT IT IS THIS RECORDING THAT I SHALL KEEP. IT IS A SELECTION OF ALL THE REALLY OLD TRADITIONAL CAROLS THAT EVOKE THE SPIRIT OF CHRISTMAS MORE THAN THE CAROLS WE HAVE HAD TROTTED OUT TO US IN CHURCH, SCHOOL AND ON RADIO, ETC. ALL OF OUR LIVES. THESE PARTICULAR CAROLS HAVE TUNES THAT MATCH OUR SOULS, ESPECIALLY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR. IF YOU LISTEN TO CAROLS FROM KINGS COLLEGE CHAPEL, YOU WILL BE FAMILIAR WITH THESE BEAUTIFUL CAROLS AND THEIR HAUNTING MUSIC. THE SIXTEEN REALLY DO THEM JUSTICE,TOO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to listen to, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm now a big fan of The Sixteen, who produce an unabashedly English sound without the annoyance of pre-pubescent trebles who can be so shrill. This cd is lovely compilation! Choral favourites, familiar with those who can sing more than just the melody line - altos, tenors, basses - and very nicely engineered.

Soooo much better than the stuff from King's Cambridge that Amazon are also selling - don't buy those, buy this! And Vol. 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fine singing from The Sixteen, as expected, and a mix of well known and lesser known Carols, all of outstanding quality of composition, harmonisation and performance. A collection to be enjoyed at any time of the year with no single track not up to the high overall standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews