Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longer Lasting
This lighter was delivered quickly. It is very shiny and I can imagine it becoming tarnished if you kept it on keys.
It lights after a couple of attempts - but I think as the fuel drains from the wick this is normal.
Having owned petrol lighters before I was impressed that the sealed design means that the fuel does not seem to evaporate - as happens with the...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by chuangtzu

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Falls apart on first use
Really wanted to like this. It should be ideal, seals, simple, so great for occasional use. Well after being on my keyring for 6 months, finally came to use it, it's in 3 bits, just fallen apart, and so had the second one I have.

Pro's

- Great Idea.

Con's

- Very poor build quality.

Note - I did contact Tru Stash...
Published on 23 July 2012 by ICJW


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longer Lasting, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
This lighter was delivered quickly. It is very shiny and I can imagine it becoming tarnished if you kept it on keys.
It lights after a couple of attempts - but I think as the fuel drains from the wick this is normal.
Having owned petrol lighters before I was impressed that the sealed design means that the fuel does not seem to evaporate - as happens with the usual petrol lighters.
It actual works quite well - I wouldn't say that it would be an all-day, every-day use kind of thing, but as a backup its very good and certainly of good contruction.

Flame is average size, lighter part can actually come out of casing for filling, etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a nifty little lighter!, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
Great lighter, it's small and looks good, i'm wearing mine as a necklace and i ever since i got it i haven't lost time looking for a lighter. My only complaint would be that it usually takes around 2-3 strikes to light up, but that's not much a big deal compared to how useful the item is! If you are not sure about it you can look up "peanut lighter" on youtube to find many reviews of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Falls apart on first use, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
Really wanted to like this. It should be ideal, seals, simple, so great for occasional use. Well after being on my keyring for 6 months, finally came to use it, it's in 3 bits, just fallen apart, and so had the second one I have.

Pro's

- Great Idea.

Con's

- Very poor build quality.

Note - I did contact Tru Stash

(0)1202 766333 .
Or you can email them -
[...]
Who were no use at all, really not interested in supporting their products, which is a real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fire stash, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
it holds the fuel really well, however, the seal stopped mine from closing properly so i had to take it off, and then it still managed to open itself after my attempts to stop this using various items (plumbing tape, blue tac, duct tape, etc) which was a shame because it worked and was quite nice.
I would only recommend this if it was going to just sit in a pocket or bag and not be attached to a key chain that was frequently used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stays Sealed & Works, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
I've gone for 4 stars, but really I would have gone 7/10 or perhaps 13/20, just definitely better than "It's OK". The petrol doesn't leak or evaporate, as is the case with some gizmos along the same lines.

It can be sat on heavily amongst funky shaped bits of metal without getting dented or squashed.

It's very small, so it's no bother to have on my keyring.

Where does it lose points? The striker is smaller than it need be, the wick isn't as good as it could be and, consequently, it doesn't usually light first time.

But it does light and, though the flame is tiny, it doesn't gutter.

No use as an emergency fallback for arson, but fine as security against nicotine withdrawal...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
the bottom fell of and was lost within 48 hours, wouldnt buy again , not practical isnt my best perchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The screw top keeps detaching, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
The screw top of the lighter keeps detaching while in your pocket because it's of very low quality. I eventually lost this lighter because it came off. I wouldn't buy it again or recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
Had to wait a while for this item to reach me, not bad little thing for the price but to be honest a little inconvienient when wanting to use it as you have to unscrew the cap everytime. If its on a keyring the cap does loosen and if not careful it will get dropped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-made and great as a backup, 17 Mar 2011
By 
O. Lund (Sarasota, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
This lighter appears very well made; the thread-on cap fits perfectly and has a rubber O-Ring seal, meaning fuel won't evaporate and water won't get in - exactly what I was looking for since mine is an emergency backup and will be taken hiking, camping, canoeing and sailing.

The wick is adjustable and while it's designed to use lighter fuel, I suspect that (like other liquid-and-flint lighters) it will light acceptably well on petrol (careful - it can, and probably will, explode), methylated spirits, or 50%+ booze in a true emergency situation. I've docked one star for the relatively feeble spark since, like other reviewers, I found mine takes a couple of strikes to light. Unfortunately, that means the flint will wear out relatively quickly but I don't think that's a great problem if used as a back-up.

All-in-all, a great product which does exactly what it says on the tin and looks good doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor build quality., 24 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled) (Sports)
Would be a great little lighter but it keeps falling off the screw top. The threads don't grip when you screw the lighter back in and as a result i've taken my keys out of my pocket and the lighter has dropped to the floor. Very very annoyed so in short, this lighter is not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Utility Fire Stash (unfilled)
£5.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews