Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HTC Trophy
HTC Trophy has a good build quality and feel.
- The new Windows 7 OS is a great improvement on the old version 6.
- The interface has been simplified a lot with the Live tiles which makes it nice and slick and easy to make calls or text and use in general.
- Inbuilt Zune player is very cool and integrates well for Videos, Music & Radio.
- Internet...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by CRLD

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not try it out
Could be a good device but:

The moment that you will need to change the phone (like putting the sim card in another device, it is impossible to copy the contacts from the phone to the sim card or transfer them in any other way but copying them one by one!!!! (smart phone????)

This Zune application is the most stupid and nerve's braking application...
Published on 17 Jun. 2012 by Massimiliano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HTC Trophy, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
HTC Trophy has a good build quality and feel.
- The new Windows 7 OS is a great improvement on the old version 6.
- The interface has been simplified a lot with the Live tiles which makes it nice and slick and easy to make calls or text and use in general.
- Inbuilt Zune player is very cool and integrates well for Videos, Music & Radio.
- Internet Explorer is a much improved browser and is very smooth when navigating up and down the pages.

- Battery life is average as with most smart phones and will require a daily charge.
- The app library is not the biggest compared to other Mobile OS but there still a lot of choice.
-Would have been nice to have an expandable micro SD card to add to the on board 8GB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sim free....seems unlocked!, 18 April 2011
By 
A. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
I received this phone last week and was surprised to see the Vodaphone logo when it was switched on without a SIM. This makes me think it's been unlocked. The other thing to note if you buy from this seller is that it's not from the UK. Looks like German booklets and set up. You cdan change the language setting though which is good and you will need to go online to get a UK manual! Apart from that though it's a great phone so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
Hi,

I'm a long time Windows mobile user, who decided it was time to make the move to Windows Phone 7.

The good bits:
+ The OS is beautiful. Very responsive touch screen, and a pleasure to use. You really can't stop touching and playing with it for the first few weeks.
+ The phone itself looks great, very solid and a nice size.
+ Facebook, linkedin, Windows live, etc integration with your contacts list is amazing. All information from each contact in one place.
+ Live tiles are great, so you know at a glance if you have any missed calls, unread emails, messages, or outstanding tasks etc
+ The software keyboard is actually very good. I've always gone for the hardware keyboard option, but there wasn't one available when I got this phone. I've found my typing speed, especially when you tilt the phone into landscape, is just as fast as with a hardware keyboard.
+ The phone starts up from being switched off very quickly (less than 30 seconds before it's ready to use).

The bad bits:
- The camera takes great pictures, although it takes a bit of skill to execute. You have to half press the camera button to auto-focus, this takes about a second, then you fully press the button to take the picture. This can be a bit tricky if you are in a rush to take the picture.
- Far fewer features on this phone that there were on my old Windows Mobile phone. E.g. no internet tethering to pc, copy/paste, and it feels less customisable, e.g. you cannot add your own ringtone. There's also no turn by turn navigation software available at the moment.

Another point to note is that the charger is a micro USB connection (like the amazon kindle). Not the same as the mini USB connection that came with all my previous HTC phones.

Gave it 5 stars although I feel there is still a bit more to come in the future with updates and new applications to fill in some of the missing OS features. Overall though, I'm very happy with this phone and would definitely recommend it. It looks like Microsoft have taken a couple of steps back so that they can go 10 steps forward. But regardless of what is coming in the future, right now this is still a great phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter smartphone, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
Brought this for my Mum who needed a new phone. We considered Android however she would have found the user experience and little confusing and also the 'cheaper' devices at the time suffered a fair amount of lag and fragmentation with which apps would work on them. Also considered iPhone however this was slightly out of budget.

Windows Phone is really easy and intuitive for anyone to use. Although it has limited app selection from the marketplace, some users don't need 100,000s of choices and for the main part, the stock ones are just fine.

The hardware of the Trophy is quite nice, light and with a matt finish and textured on the back. Camera quality is average with quite a lot of the shots coming out pixelated or grains (although my Mum seems happy with them).

Syncing the phone isn't the nicest of processes as you need to use the Zune software, luckily she hasn't wanted music on here yet so I've only had to install software updates using Zune which is easy enough. If using the Mac though, software updates don't seem to work and syncing pictures always opens iPhoto which is very annoying.

The phone is limited to the Windows Phone 7 platform meaning it won't get WP8, but for most starter users this shouldn't matter. Okay, you won't get the latest apps or features anymore but Microsoft are still releasing some updates to keep the platform going.

It is also worth noting that new phones will not be able to setup sync with Google services such as Gmail, Calendar and Contacts because of a slight issue between MS and Google. Could be a deal breaker for some people.

Overall, the phone and experience is solid, easy to use and does everything asked of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone, 22 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
In a nutshell this phone does everything I wanted it to. It syncs with my works email / calender & contacts as well as my own personal email and contacts and files them all in one convenient place
It took a little while to get use to the phone having been a Nokia owner for the last 15+ years, but so far so good.

There's 2 reasons I don't give the phone a 5 star review.

1. The camera is not that great and the images are generally blurred out of focus unless your outdoors in bright sunlight (this is more of a niggle than a genuine complaint)

2. There is no way to back up the entire contents of the phone, therefore if a master reset was required I would have to spend hours setting the phone back up, in this day and age this is utter madness and completely unforgivable. All my Nokia's for the last 6+ years have had the ability to sync with the computer and completely back up the phones settings & contacts just in case the unthinkable happened, I can't understand why such a fundamental function was omitted from this phone !

Since the Mango update phone is even better and more user friendly than before !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not try it out, 17 Jun. 2012
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
Could be a good device but:

The moment that you will need to change the phone (like putting the sim card in another device, it is impossible to copy the contacts from the phone to the sim card or transfer them in any other way but copying them one by one!!!! (smart phone????)

This Zune application is the most stupid and nerve's braking application that binds you completely.

Impossible to use own mp3 for ring tones!

Low battery lasting time.

HTC deliberately hides this issues from it's site and they never answer on the comments I made.

So my final verdict is: leave it! go for another model, unless you will to spend hours to find that absolutely normal and necessary functions in this "smart phone" are simply impossible to execute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 16 Mar. 2011
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
I haven't owned this phone for 24hrs yet, however,I think this is going to be the phone that I don't ever want to exchange, I don't really mind about the lack of apps, barely use them, hence didn't bother with I-Phone. It's light but has a very reassuring weight, screen is responsive without being over zealous, and thought I'd have problems with the keyboard, however the predictive text gives you a word across the top and you just tap on it. Still exploring but not disappointed in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 20 May 2012
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
I got the phone as an upgrade from a few terrible wildfires that wouldn't work... The foreign lady told me it was android got it and was instantly thankful that she got it wrong. The OS is so easy to use! Despite a previous review there are ample apps on there. There hasn't been anything I've searched for that isn't there. I absolutely love it after 3 months! I wouldn't swap it for the world. Emails, chat (with Facebook messaging built in), the notifications built in and emails. Wow! I am 18 and love gadgets but due to the ease of use my mum (50 years old with an ancient Sony ericson) loves it too! for all ages and abilities!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the current crop of Windows Phones, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
Having used several of the phones that became available in the UK at launch, I've concluded that this phone - the HTC 7 Trophy - is the best Windows Phone. It might not have the best screen, it might not have the most storage capacity, it might not have the Samsung Omnia 7's really nice 'wake' button, but based upon feedback from friends and colleagues coupled together with the lowest price point of a Windows Phone I think this is the best Windows Phone 7 device on the market as of March 2011.

Battery life is comparable to any Android phone (although not as good as iPhone 4 or a BlackBerry) and it's very light when compared to other phones in it's class. The HTC 7 Pro - which has a slide out keyboard - is a brick compared to this phone and was the primary reason I opted for the Trophy instead. I've also owned the Samsung Omnia 7, a beautifully crafted device with a great screen, but it's just too large a phone to be practical. Technical specs aside this is the Windows Phone that normal people would use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HTC Trophy, all hype or real?, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
B. R. Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone (Electronics)
HTC phones seem to have a good reputation for quality and reliability. The Trophy is no exception. It is a pleasure to own.
The only motivation or reason to buy the Trophy or any Windows7 mobile phone must be the expected ability to work in a seamless way with Windows 7 and Microsoft products on the PC. Unless you are a corporate user with complex servers you are going to be very unhappy.
On my PC I have Windows 7 and Use Outlook 2007 for my E mails,calendar and Task management. I was expecting to have to install a Microsoft Utility on my PC which would automatically transfer all my Outlook information onto the Trophy and then synchronise it in both directions with updates.
In the past I have had a Palm Zire and currently an HP iPAQ which synchronise to outlook via Microsoft Windows Mobile software. It works a treat. Just plug in the Phone USB cable to the PC and off it goes.
I spent hours trying to set up the links to Windows Live. Only to find in a document that it would only update from Outlook to the Trophy. Any changes or new appointments made on the road to the phone would not be loaded into Outlook and could even be deleted during synchronisation.
The documentation dealing with Windows 7 mobile is all over the Microsoft web site. It might have been a good idea to generate a user manual for the Windows 7 Mobile system showing how to set up the generic features.
If you want to load apps forget it unless you are a gamer.
I did resolve the synchronisation problems. A line on one of the web pages was the key. Use Google for synching Outlook to the Trophy. If you don't have one, open a GMail account. On the Trophy set up the Google E mail account. Tick the synch box. Your E mails and other programmes will be updated every 20 minutes, maybe longer sometimes. In Gmail Open Calendar. Import the Outlook Calendar. Alternatively download a utilty from Google. Google Calendar Sync and run this. Follow the instructions and later your calender will appear on your Trophy. You can follow the same process for Contacts but download Google Contacts Sync. It all works as expected on my Trophy.
From what I know now I would purchase the HTC Desire with the Android operaing system and have access to all those lovely apps.
Maybe the Windows7 Mobile based systems will take off if one of the major manufacturers such as Nokia adopt it. Hopefully Microsoft will come out with some good updates and not do a Vista!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTC 7 Trophy Sim Free Mobile Phone
Used & New from: £35.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews