Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good "On The Side" Shooter
I often look for games to play outside the house and own both a PSP and a DS. As I play shooters a lot, both first and third person, I have come to be suspicious of shooters on the PSP/DS as the controls are just too messy. The problem is that you get used to two analog sticks from the PS3/Xbox, and then when you get to the handheld portables you are given one for the PSP...
Published on 28 April 2011 by JP

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars black ops, good or bad?
when i purchased the game i thought,this would be a good game,and i was right, not only does this game have an extraordinary campaignit also includes zombies, black ops ds zombies have 4 maps, house, temple, overlook and some sciency lab thingy. Overall i would give this game a three out of five
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by Teddy Read


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good "On The Side" Shooter, 28 April 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I often look for games to play outside the house and own both a PSP and a DS. As I play shooters a lot, both first and third person, I have come to be suspicious of shooters on the PSP/DS as the controls are just too messy. The problem is that you get used to two analog sticks from the PS3/Xbox, and then when you get to the handheld portables you are given one for the PSP and none for the DS. Games like Rainbox 6 completely fail on the PSP, making me very reluctant to try any other shooters on the handhelds. After reading reviews on Call of Duty: Black Ops for the DS I decided to give it a try.

So let's look at how this plays out on the DS. You have two options to choose from for button layout: 1.) you use the stylus to sweep around on the lower screen for looking around. This is very responsive and just a quick swipe and your view angle turns on-screen. The D-pad (left buttons) are used then for moving, and the left shoulder button for aiming and the right shoulder button for shooting. As mentioned in another review, this can become tricky as you are holding the stylus in your hand, and then still need to shoot with the right-shoulder button. Well, practice makes perfect, and you get the feel for this after a while, so not too much complaints there. What did become a problem for me is that I started feeling like throwing up after a while. The movements of the stylus is so quick that it feels by times the world is spinning. I guess this differs from player to player, so don't let this influence your decision. From what I gather, most people loved the stylus option. I opted for button layout: 2) No stylus and you use the buttons on the right for movement. However, this again put me right back in the problem with the PSP controls that it feels clunky. Luckily, the game is not a fast moving game and you have more than enough time to prepare and consider your moves, so you do not need to look around like a hawk.

The story differs to that of the console versions naturally. It still follows the same concept, and you get to play different characters in different settings. Mostly you are carrying your weapon, and at times it's all knife-combat which is also quite nice. There are helicopter and boat missions which are a welcome distraction. On easy settings, damage comes quickly and running guns a-blazing like in the console versions will get you killed quickly. The idea here is more of a cautious approach, especially when you are playing the second button layout I had chosen and not using your stylus.

Other areas like music and voicing was done well, but of course, graphics are pretty basic and nothing to write home about. I enjoyed it to the extend that I played it through a few times.

Overall I think the game succeeds, not because of the button layout, but because they story and gameplay has been designed for the DS. A direct console port would have been a severe mistake. It's in this regard that I am looking forward to the release of the future PSP2/NGP end of this year as it will feature two analog sticks, which will make shooter games an ease on it. The new 3DS sports a similar "analog" stick on the left, also opening the door for more shooter-like games on the 3DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. M. W. Brandon "ahriman72" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I recieved the game as a gift and would not have looked at it twice otherwise. I was pleasantly surprised.

Controls are remarkably sharp, the stylus is used to look around while you use the d-pad to move forward or backwards etc. The left shoulder button fires, so naturally if you hold your DS you can see how it works. No odd finger stretching required! Weapons are selected by tapping icons on the touch screen and environmental moves such as crouching are also implemented in this way. The game itself is graphically decent for the DS, altough incomparable of course to its home console big brother. The AI of team mates in the game works well enough, the main game is short but certainly worth another play through with unlockables available. The zombie mode is included if a little drab.

The game took me back to the PS1 'Medal of Honor' games, similar looks but the missions here are more interesting and the control system is surprisingly responsive. A read around the big review sites like IGN, Gamespot etc will also find similar praise for what is the most respnsive handheld FPS to date. The limitations are obvious in comparisan to the big consoles, but for handheld gamers, Black Ops offers a real surprise and shows that an unthinkable and often atrocious handheld genre can actually be implemented in style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good game with fun extras, 2 Sep 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Call of Duty black ops is a fun ds game. The graphics are very good for ds and the extras are very excellent. The only slight let down is the gun noises they are a bit quiet and aren't a very good sound. Although playing on zobie mode is very good fun and tense, Zombies just come out of anywhere! Overall call of duty black ops awesome a good shooting ds game, zombie mode is the best. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Online Experience, 8 Feb 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game has the best wifi experience on the DS I've seen for a while.
The max is 6 players which is great but the variety of options are the games strong points. You get perks, lot's of weapons with multiple attachments and "Titles" which is like a name tag. This is a milestone for n-Space and is great for any FPS enthusiasts on the go. The graphics are still not on par with Metroid Prime: Hunters but this is still a great game. The campaign though a bit short was very enjoyable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars black ops, good or bad?, 13 Nov 2011
By 
Teddy Read "Ted" (Coalville. Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
when i purchased the game i thought,this would be a good game,and i was right, not only does this game have an extraordinary campaignit also includes zombies, black ops ds zombies have 4 maps, house, temple, overlook and some sciency lab thingy. Overall i would give this game a three out of five
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cod bops ds, 3 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
the game is very facinating i love the guns in it and i love zomies it was a great game everyone has to play it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars circle pad pro, 8 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Does anyone know where this game supports the circle pad pro please comment below don't want to waste money unnecessarily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Call of Duty Black Ops on DS, 22 Sep 2011
By 
P. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this for my son who loves playing it on the PS3. He wanted to be able to play it on DS on a long car journey when we went on holiday, however he couldnt get to grips with the controls and to be honest they did seem quite difficult! He gave up with it before he even got anywhere. To be able to use the touch screen to move your character and touch buttons on the touch screen to reload or change weapon too, as well as using the directional buttons and A and B for other things while you are being attacked by a group of zombies or being shot at seems a bit too much all at once. You dont have time to stop and look at the touch buttons on the screen or turn around by swiping the screen with your finger as this is a fast paced game and you will be already dead! Don't buy this game unless you like a challenge and like to persevere - very difficult to get to grips with therefore am very dissappointed with the DS version.Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BORING, 16 Nov 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
THE GAME PLAY IS BORING IMPOSSIBLE CONTROLS ONLY GET IF YOU HAVE 50 FINGERS AND A EXTREME ADDICTION OF BLACK OPS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 15 Jan 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Very very disappointing. I bought this because my partner has it on ps3 but I prefer ds games but in comparison the controls are hard to use, how on earth you are meant to use the stylus & l1 r1 and joypad at the same time beats me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS)
Call of Duty: Black Ops (Nintendo DS) by Activision (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: £19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews