Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read :) (again)
This is not the usual type of book I tend to read...but having been pleasantly surprised by other books of Mr.Jones(my very first being The Child Taker which is fantastic and one of the best books I have read in a while!a real chilling page tuner!) I just had to try this one out ...and yepppppp!! He has done it again for me...I loved it...cant wait to get the...
Published on 18 Jan. 2012 by Miss T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn - not a five star read though
An interesting plot weakened by a lack of understanding by the author of basic security service strategies and procedures. The typos, though not the end of the world, were also a bit irritating at various stages throughout the book. They often affected the tense or meaning of a sentence. A quick re-read brought clarification but interupted the flow of the story. The...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by ArmedRascal


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read :) (again), 18 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is not the usual type of book I tend to read...but having been pleasantly surprised by other books of Mr.Jones(my very first being The Child Taker which is fantastic and one of the best books I have read in a while!a real chilling page tuner!) I just had to try this one out ...and yepppppp!! He has done it again for me...I loved it...cant wait to get the others...keep up the good work Mr.Jones!!!Tess x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn - not a five star read though, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting plot weakened by a lack of understanding by the author of basic security service strategies and procedures. The typos, though not the end of the world, were also a bit irritating at various stages throughout the book. They often affected the tense or meaning of a sentence. A quick re-read brought clarification but interupted the flow of the story. The author's phraseology caught me out now and then, e.g. when the bomb went off 'one half of xxx's body ended up in the corridor, the other in the office'. This sounded like xxx had been blown in half. Therefore I was surprised to find out in the next chapter that xxx was only knocked unconscious! What the author meant to say was that 'xxx landed on the threshold between the corridor and office'. I also found the direction of the storyline clumsily manipulated by implausible events, e.g. a highly trained anti-terrorist officer leaving their weapon in the car!

That being said, I read the book to the end and found it mildly enjoyable. I would recommend the book to anyone wanting an easily read adventure yarn at a price that cannot be argued with. As this was the first novel I will certainly try Conrad's others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great debut from a new voice in the thriller writing field, 25 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of thrillers and can honestly say this is one of the best debuts I've come across in recent times. The plot is fast-moving and believable and the author has clearly carried out extensive research. In its style of writing, it reminds me of the type of thrillers written by authors such as Gerald Seymour or my personal favourite, Stephen Leather.
I'm looking forward to reading book 2 shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series - will be reading more, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Read this after reading his book The Child Taker, and enjoying his style of storytelling. It is the kind of story which would make a great Tv series - something similar to Spooks or Luther with lots of action, suspense and a banging soundtrack.
Loved the switch between America and Britain. Also enjoyed the descriptions of the different places, especially as having visited Liverpool and understanding the cityscape and landmarks which were under threat.
The switch bewteen characters was also a good aspect of the book, allowing for a more varied read.
I also really like the way the author spoke of many real life events and used them in the fictional tale. Some of these are obviously linked to a story about terrorism (9/11, 7/7, Madrid bombings), others more obscure (Columbine massacre.
All in all, a good, gritty, action-packed tale, and I will be downloading some more of Conrad Jones' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 23 Feb. 2011
By 
T. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read the recently amended Kindle version of this book, and, after reading some of the previous reviews, it's obviously been improved. Having said that, there are still many factual, spelling, and punctuation errors........ BUT, despite those errors, this a really good book.
It's mostly well thought out, and written in a way that keeps your attention, and the need to turn the page to see what happens next is with you all the way through.
Conrad Jones highlights in this book just how vulnerable we are to terrorist attack, and what an amazing job our various law enforcement, and security agencies do protecting us.
Well done Mr Jones, I've already bought the rest of your Kindle books, and I'm looking forward to reading them.
Shame about the ending, though. Security agencies around the world would have been made aware of the existence, and distinguishing marks, of a certain character, so it would not have happened like that. That bit was not at all well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still not sure, 29 May 2012
By 
Lazy Lady (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm still not sure whether to give this book 1 star or 5!!! I like the basic plot, it kept me guessing right to the end (not difficult to fool me but hey ho ).
The book does need a very ruthless edit. It has all been said before so suffice for me to just endorse those views.
I am a Liverpudlian and there were times when I was totally confused by the descriptions of places and landmarks - very different to the city I was brought up in. Either invent a fictional city or accurately describe the one you use.
To sum up I did actually read it all and liked the plot so it can't have been too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read - ignore the grammar and spelling errors.., 11 Feb. 2011
By 
M. Leese (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Picked this book and author up through browsing the top 100 lists from Kindle store and glad I did. Good to read books set in UK for a change. Realistic and fast paced and believable - apart from the odd factual error (like London is far more than an hour's drive from Manchester and Liverpool).
There are also many (and I mean lots) of grammar and spelling errors in the Kindle version which can at times spoil the experience.
Try not to let these mistakes get in the way of an otherwise great read.
I have downloaded the next part of the series already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not what i'd imagined, 3 Feb. 2011
Having know the author i thought i'd give him my support and read the book even though it was my normal reading genre.If the truth be known i picked the book up with limited expectations. The first night i dont think i put the book down much to my husbands annoyance - actually i dont think i even talked to him for a few days ! i was taken away by the story telling and the feeling i was actually there seeing the events unfold.The characters were real and the picture given makes them almost life like. Even though reading the outline of the plot of the book did not really fill me with enthuisiam once i started to read i just had to order the next book and then the next. The whole trilogy is a must read. i have even read them all over again just as the first time i rushed through just to find out what happens next. i often think about what the author has written and how true to life it really is, with all that is happening in this day and age. The trilogy is exciting , informative and educational and a must read for anyone .
SOFT TARGET III Jerusalem (SOFT TARGET SERIES)
Soft Target II Tank (Soft Target Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, Couldn't put it down., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really got hooked on reading this book, at some points it was is this book fact or fiction, as it was that much of a good read. At some points it was often scary to think that most of this book was taken from an area not far from me, and I know many of the places mentioned in this book,

What this book does do is show how vulnerable we are as a society.

Read this book a few times now, and its an excellent read, well worth getting and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, still 5 stars!, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Target; (Edited Version) (Soft Target Crime Action Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
yes, spelling, grammar and syntax errors abound (this is what we e-readers must put up with for getting books for almost nothing!!!) but the characters are well developed (so much so that I actually felt sad when one of my favourites died) and the story is fast and furious. Greatly enjoyed the whole Tank series - hope Conrad hasn't put him into retirement because I want to read more!
Despite the editing flaws the whole series, for me, gets 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews