Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money! Buy the standard version.
I ordered this and when it arrived I was a bit puzzled as there did not seem to be anything "deluxe" about the CD. After doing some research with Amazon and another major retailer, it turns out that the "deluxe" refers to the "special packaging", which consists of a cardboard cover instead of the standard plastic CD case. This cover is all very pretty but really looks...
Published on 2 Nov. 2010 by Helenbelle

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This was not advertised as used but the cd case ...
This was not advertised as used but the cd case was broken. It was bought as a present for a friend but is not fit for purpose.
Published 5 months ago by Sue Lesser


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money! Buy the standard version., 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
I ordered this and when it arrived I was a bit puzzled as there did not seem to be anything "deluxe" about the CD. After doing some research with Amazon and another major retailer, it turns out that the "deluxe" refers to the "special packaging", which consists of a cardboard cover instead of the standard plastic CD case. This cover is all very pretty but really looks no different to the standard pack and it is less robust that the plastic case. It is definitely not worth the extra £3-£6 (depending on where you buy it). Just get the standard version!

Having said all of that....the music is FABULOUS!! Bryan at his best!!

The music is worth 5 stars but the deluxe version packaging is worth 1 star!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing deluxe about it, 2 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
The CD is fantastic however being a BA fan I decided to pay the extra money and order the deluxe version, this has lead to disappointment as there is nothing deluxe about a bit of cardboard. I believe the other version has a plastic case and that is the only difference. Perhaps Amazon should have specified what the deluxe version meant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Frills all skills, 5 Nov. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (MP3 Download)
Being just a casual fan of Bryan Adams I had the sneaking suspicion that this would be a bit of a gimmick. There is no shortage of so called 'acoustic' albums that are anything but.
This though is exactly that, the occasional keyboard piano, but no loops or drums just a fella & his guitar and an appreciative audience. First off the crowd here go some way to making this work. Clearly they have a feel for all the songs here and really contribute a musical background of singing choruses & clapping along. The recording quality is just about spot on as it creates a close, personal feeling not of a concert hall but rather almost a room with a handful of guests enjoying a personal performance.
Most importantly though is the fact that Adams voice is well up to the job. This stripped back approach is all very well but if you struggle to hit those notes then it's all going to be embarrassingly laid bare for all to see. There are an awful lot of aging'stars' out there whose voices are way short of whats needed but who are happy enough to keep releasing albums. Happily thats not the case with 'Bare Bones' as Bryan's voice, while retaining that trademark 'ragged' edge, is very musical and he hits every note with ease and with none of the telltale smoothing off of high notes or talking lyrics which are often employed to hide a fading vocalist. The acoustic guitar is used to counterbalance his singing nicely too.
There is a long tracklist and it has a nice variety which keeps things interesting. The dropped star is for the missing 'Run to you' which is a personal favourite that I would love to have heard sung in this style.
A commendable and enjoyable collection of his extensive back catalogue that have been cut back to the bone and while not perhaps sounding new, definitely bring an added interest and will please long term fans and newcomers alike.
A frill free testament to the mans musical skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, honest and pure passion!!, 1 Nov. 2010
By 
Carla Reis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
When you follow someone's careers over the years and you are given a present like this CD, you can only be on Cloud 9!! This is as stripped as an artist can be: no gimmicks, no hidings, maybe some will hang on the 80's rocker and will not understand how special it is, to hear how these songs were composed. It only takes a Bare Bones acoustic show, to understand how precious these concerts are, it's like you're given the opportunity to be in Bryan's living room and you feel privileged, so I can only praise Bryan for his amazing work and be happy for finally being able to play this CD over and over again! Thanks Bryan for putting it out and congratulations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, unpretentious and timeless - a classic for live music fans, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Bare Bones (Deluxe Edition)Bare Bones

I bought this album yesterday not really knowing what to expect, unfortunately I was not one of privileged who got to see Bryan on his bare bones tour in the UK so was really excited but a little dubious. I still maintain, that he is still one of the best live acts I have ever seen (and I have seen quite a few! Acts that some people wouldn't really expect from a "BA fan" - Slipknot, Foo Fighters, Linkin Park, Rage, 30 Seconds to Mars, to name but a few), but completely acoustic? The result is utterly captivating and refreshing! Away from auto-tuning pop - Adams' shows off not only a superb vocal ability but tremendous guitar and harmonica playing - often lost in the big arenas - as well as a quirky sense of humour. There are the usual classics, some less commercial and some completely new. All in all a real treat. Bryan's a real showman. At the end of the CD, like at all of his concerts I wanted an encore - I can only keep my fingers crossed for a follow up....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Listening to this is like being a member of the audience again on his latest tour. Fans won't be disappointed. It is great to hear how these songs started out and the album is full of passion and energy. Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master at work, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
I've been a Bryan Adams fan since 1991 and having seen him live a few times, he is without doubt the best live act i have ever seen(i have seen a lot of bands over the years)
This CD is simply fantastic and proves what a class act BA is.Some lovely guitar,harmonica and piano playing along with BA sounding better than ever.
What makes this guy stand out for me from other 'stars' is he is such a down to earth,un-pretentious,normal guy and he is a real gentleman.
Thanks for the CD of the year BA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 14 Nov. 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
As a 'fan' for quite some time, I was disappointed with the last studio offering '11'. However, this little beauty has more than made up for it! Music as it should be, showing Bryan at his best. I've seen many 'top' bands/artists live and Bryan remains my number 1. His energy and enthusiasm along with a genuine desire to please the audience shows. His ability to sing live has kept an army of loyal fans, selling out shows rapidly is proof of his longevity! Even my hubby, a die hard 'non fan' has become very attached to 'I miss you...a little bit' and shocked me by declaring that he would like to see him live! This is a brilliant CD showcasing his musical ability as well as his sense of humour and I recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlivened bones, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Iain Barber "barbio" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
This album is just accoustic guitar and piano and it is also live from selected concerts, because of this you can practically hear every note of the guitar and Piano, great if your trying to learn to play these instruments.
What i really liked about it though is the way Bryan adds a different style to these songs, if you have ever sat round a camp fire with friends and someone plays the guitar while everyone sings, this album is a bit like that simple yet has that atmospheric warmth to it, Bryan also adds humour to this cd, it would be great if a dvd came out because funny moments occur and you wonder what happened?
The cd is 74 mins in length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic fun, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Bare Bones [Digipak] (Audio CD)
I've been going to Bryan Adams' acoustic gigs (now known as 'bare bones') since he first started doing them in early 2008 as part of a promotion for his previous album ('11'), and this album depicts how the show has developed from a 45-minute set to a full-length two-hour show with stripped down versions of his most well-known music, and new and rare songs. The live recordings with the audience reactions show how much fun the acoustic shows are :-) Some fans prefer the full band shows, but the acoustic gigs rock in a different way....so if you're a fan, go and see the show, and go and buy this CD. My only criticism is that some of my favourite songs which feature in the show, don't appear on this album...but overall it's a balanced choice of music representing the whole span of his career from the early days through to his newest songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare Bones
Bare Bones by Bryan Adams (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews