Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triology of thought provoking humorous book's., 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Each book captures part of normal everyday life. Sometimes times a very funny view, or a quite serious subject. Issues not normally talked about for younger readers are broached in these books. The books are also have underlying moral issues, which are turned over and questioned in a considerate and often humorous way. Somehow Pratchett engages the reader in a crazy mirror of life, taken to extremes, but in a beliveable way. The characters are built upon in each book, like a girl who is competion mad, but misses the human point of view of Johnny. This book made me laugh out loud, and you can see a link with styles that are picked up in the Disc World books. These stories are more in line with reality than the disc world series. Johnny is someone special who the reader could well imagine being! A great read. Some of the storylines are real history based,which I lived through. When my daughter read them she asked about them, for instance space invaders and the gulf war. One way for generations to communicate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading, 4 Nov 2011
By 
L. Simpson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
I bought this trilogy for my new Kindle, while waiting for SNUFF to come out.
I have read all of Terry's adult Discworld books and have now started delving into his childrens' books.
This trilogy is not about Discworld but very entertaining and enjoyable, probably more so than his junior Discworld books, "The Amazing Maurice...." being the exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Excellent books, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Three different but thoroughly entertaining books featuring Johnny Maxwell and his friends. Classic Terry Pratchett and very funny. Highly recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Maxwell Trilogy, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Terry Pratchett at his best. Much better than the TV series. Good look into WW2 would be excellent introduction for older children getting insight into second world war. The time travelling element adds a new dimension, literally. Would highly recommend this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
I know these are meant as childrens' books but I find Terry Pratchett works on so many levels that they are still a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proper Pratchett !!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
another great book from Terry Pratchett ,laugh out loud in some parts ,close to tears in others.i highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Pratchett!, 14 May 2013
By 
Mr. I. C. Graham "Avid Bookworm" (Lincolnshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Aimed firmly at the younger readers, this is still a series that adults can enjoy. Three plots surrounding the same local gang of adolescent friends - firstly with a computer space invaders game that turns out to be real - secondly, the local cemetary comes to life to complain about local planning proposals - and finally a slip back to WWII to save the people from a bombing raid. All with Mr Pratchett's wry and cynical humour, hugely enjoyable. A definite 'keeper' for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
all different, but such enjoyable reads. As usual with books by TP found all three virtually impossible to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Well what can I say other than wonderful book to read as are all the Terry Pratchett pieces of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite non-Discworld characters- all three books in one, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
All of the Johnny Maxwell books are here :)
some of the best philosophic, psychological and thought provoking writing, following the life of Johnny Maxwell as he stops an alien invasion, sets dead people on the moon, and learns the precarious nature of time travel. age ten up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny Maxwell Trilogy
Johnny Maxwell Trilogy by Terry Pratchett
7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews