Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2001
Silver on the Tree is the climax of the sequence, when all the characters join together to fight the Dark for the last time. This is absolutely unmissable, but you have to read the other four first (that might sound daunting, but you'll skate through them). This is Susan Cooper at her best, gripping the reader and drawing them into the strange, dark world she has created. Anyone who likes Gothic fantasy, adventure on a large scale, plenty of believable characters and a whopping big race against time should read this.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I adore the whole series and have ever since I was a child. Before Potter and Pullman there was the world of The Dark and The Light, bound up with Athurian Legends and the history of these Isles. Truely magical for all ages with a strong moral lesson that under pins the narrative in such a way that it is entirely natural. As relevant today as when it was written.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Bought to re-read using the kindle. A great series of books that I read as a child and revisit occasionally. The dialogue will probably seem a little old fashioned but the content and storyline make for a magical and exciting series. I loved this series as a child and still love it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
great for the money. came within 7 days, i got this for my daughter and she loved it. anything to keep her happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
This was part of a nice gift idea. Thank you for a great gift! more words more words more words
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
A book (and series) that works on more than one level and encourages suspension of disbelief. I loved it! A shame the series wasn't longer. It was especially interesting the way several strands from earlier books came together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2007
I read this ssoooooo long ago but I still get the same feeling when I look at these books, I'm actually scared to read them again in case I ruin my memories of them. But seriously, if you want amazing books that never leave you, you've found them (I guess I should really have put this on the first book but this was what I was recommended) I cant praise them enough. I have read so many good books but these still stand out even from about 8 years ago!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Great final to all these books in the series. Read the 1st 4 as a teenager and recently reread them after finding them in the attic in my mothers house. Was delighted to discover there was a 5th book I did not know about. Particularly liked all the Welsh references being from Wales.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Very good book in a very good series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
I love all the books in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.