Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Did what was said, quick to arrive and is was in good condition! Great service and I would use again.
Published 11 months ago by Miss Jade Jarvis

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Now I know why I had never heard of this film...
I disagree with the rating it has been given. My opinion: Complete lack of a storyline, the story itself is one gigantic plot hole. Its pretty much 'Rodger Rabbit - 1988' without any enthusiasm. Probably directed at prepubescent teenage boys. Definately not for children this one. It could have been something worth watching with a dab of originality. Oh well... Word of...
Published on 27 April 2011 by James Wright


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Now I know why I had never heard of this film..., 27 April 2011
By 
James Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cool World, The [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I disagree with the rating it has been given. My opinion: Complete lack of a storyline, the story itself is one gigantic plot hole. Its pretty much 'Rodger Rabbit - 1988' without any enthusiasm. Probably directed at prepubescent teenage boys. Definately not for children this one. It could have been something worth watching with a dab of originality. Oh well... Word of advice. See for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool World, The [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Did what was said, quick to arrive and is was in good condition! Great service and I would use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brad Pitt Lovers, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool World [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Watch Brad Pitt when he was no body
i watch this movie when i was young and always wanted my copy so had to buy it
the condition of the tape was as new
it arrived on time in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool World, Cool Cast, Cool Cartoon!!!, 14 July 2003
This review is from: Cool World [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a fantasic movie! When I first saw this Cartoon I was hooked! Watching it makes you (disturbingly) want to be in Cool World, with the voluptuous vixen Holly Would (Kim Basinger), the hard-boiled detective (Brad Pitt) and the cartoonist, Jack Deebs, who is convinced that he created the Cool World (Gabriel Byrne). This movie is a fast moving roller-coaster of a movie which has a great soundtrack to give the movie that extra edge! The graphics seem some what jurassic compared to the SFX 3D catoons we have these days, despite this the story has a great kick which is supported by a great cast of 'Noids (humans) and Doodles (cartoons). I would recommend this movie to anyone who loves cartoons, Brad Pitt or just a great laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Movie, 15 Jan 2004
This review is from: Cool World, The [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Ralph Bakshi's half-live-action-half-animated 'Cool World' is a much maligned film, and (I think) unfairly so. Whilst lacking the polish of Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Cool World is instead darker in tone, and far more anarchic. The plot may sometimes be incidental, but the designs are often stunning, particularly the cityscapes of Cool World and it's maniacal, axe-wielding inhabitants. Not least however, the animated Kim Basinger character, 'Holli Would' is a absolute knockout. Add to this Gabriel Byrne and Brad Pitt, and a truly crazy finale and you have a very strange and very cultish film - which works for me. So, I say ignore the critics and make up your own mind. Go on, cross the threshold and enter into Cool World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cool movie, but it ain't Roger Rabbit, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Danish (Jutland, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool World [DVD] (DVD)
I stumbled acoss Cool World, after buying Who Framed Roger Rabbit. Both movies is of older date, and combined lice acting with animations. But "Who framed Roger rabbit" had a lot bigger budget.

I rate movies from the criteries: Do i like it? Was I entertained? Was it well made?
I like this movie. Im a fan of Brad Pitt, and this is before his really big breakthrough. Decent acting from all the actors, cool designs, and a nice overall tone in the movie.
I was entertained, but the storyline is a bit messy, and after the movie, there is a lot of unanswered questions. I personally think it's one of the movies charms, but opinions may differ.
The movie isn't that well made, but it's not enough for me to complain. They clearly didn't have a lot of money to do all the animations, sets, and so on. So It's quite easy to see a lot of the stuff on sets is made of cardboard. But you know what? Enjoy the movie and don't sit and complain about stuff like that :)

Overall, I like Cool World. Yes It leaves you with questions, and the effects leave some to be desired. But It's a cool, and at times fun movie. So if you have watched Who Framed Roger Rabbit, you might enjoy this, but don't expect the same high class special effects in Cool World, because then you might be disappointed.

Cool movie, buy it. But you might just not let the youngest in the house watch it, cause it's kinda dirty at some points. But hey, it adds to the movies charms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its funny, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool World [DVD] (DVD)
My niece actually bought this but remeber it first showing around when had vhs tape player. It average and okay if easily amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas but lets itself down with missed opportunities, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Cool World, The [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
On the bright side, I personally found this movie better than what I was expecting. I would say it's certainly worth at least a try. There seemed to be a few little references to Disney and Warner Brothers here and there which were interesting to watch out for and I did quite like how anvils just seemed to randomly fall from windows. There do seem to be some creative ideas in there and the plotline really did look like it was trying to be interesting.

The trouble is that it really let itself down by not exploring issues which, if done properly, could have made this, in my personal opinion, a much better movie.

This is where the spoilers start.

My main issue with this movie is that there was opportunity to address some interesting points of character development but they never seemed to happen. Mostly it's around the protagonist, Frank. When he's first drawn into Cool World, he's suffering the effects of shell-shock and PTSD and, on top of that, just saw his mother's dead body as the result of the road accident he was just in. Then suddenly he's drawn into this strange new world, which he seems dumbfounded about at first because of what he just went through. Perhaps he's wondering if he's just dreaming or has gone mad. THEN suddenly it's years later and he's a police officer. His life circumstances in his own world are briefly referenced about once near the end, but otherwise isn't mentioned again. No! I want to see the story of this guy adjusting to this mad cartoon world while at the same time having to deal with the personal effects of war and the guilt around the death of his mother, and what this all does to his mental state. THAT'S an interesting storyline! You could intertwine it with the cartoonist and what Cool World was doing to him. This movie set up a fantastic opportunity to tackle issues of people's mentality when immersing themselves in fictional worlds while also having heavy things upon them in the real world. Instead there was a time-skip and those things were barely touched at all.

That's not to say the storyline with Holli wanting to go into the human world wasn't a good one. It could have also intertwined with exploring the mental state of the two human characters, especially as she seemed to be the one drawing the cartoonist into Cool World. No, I quite liked the storyline with Holli. Until it got to the ending. That was an absolute cheap cop-out excuse for a happy conclusion.

On perhaps a more nit-picky level, the animation and the actors didn't always blend that well. Then again, that probably comes down to the time it was made and the budget/resources available. I have absolutely no issue with the adult themes (trust me, I've been on the anime hentai scene), but sometimes things did just seem unnecissarily mean. Cool World does not look like a nice place at all, it's always smog-filled and dark, and there doesn't seem to be any reason behind that.

It's worth at least one watch. There are some good things in there, but the movie also suffers some bad direction which really lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Brad Pitt's greatest moment, 18 April 2014
By 
Jan Patrik SahlstrÝm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cool World, The [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a poor man's version of Roger Rabbit. No plot, lousy effects and cartoons, it has a few halfdecent moments and it's kinda fun to watch a young Brad Pitt struggle in a horrible role. Better avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool World, 22 April 2010
This review is from: Cool World, The [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Not a very well produced animation - there was a lack of finesse in the drawings and a clunky dislocation in the smoothness of the storyline.
I watched this DVD once and got rid of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cool World [DVD]
Cool World [DVD] by Ralph Bakshi (DVD)
Used & New from: £14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews