Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallic Spheres (or Echoes and Dark Side Revisited)
This album has David Gilmour stamped all over it and quite a wonderful creation it is. More trippy than ambient, this collaboration is more than just the sum of it constituent parts. It plays to the strengths of all the collaborators and the finished article is a rich, immersive experience. Indeed, the "3D60" version is mixed specifically for headphone use to mimic a...
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by pableonus

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a David GIlmour album
Bought this as a long time fan of David Gilmour - very disappointing as his contribution is minimal. Really shouldn't have his name on the cover at all.
Published on 17 Dec 2010 by Martin Diggins


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallic Spheres (or Echoes and Dark Side Revisited), 13 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
This album has David Gilmour stamped all over it and quite a wonderful creation it is. More trippy than ambient, this collaboration is more than just the sum of it constituent parts. It plays to the strengths of all the collaborators and the finished article is a rich, immersive experience. Indeed, the "3D60" version is mixed specifically for headphone use to mimic a surround sound environment.Through a set of good earphones, the music plays through much more sharply and the arrangement of tracks is changed to make the overall effect of a very different album. When the sleeve says 'bonus disc', it actually means what is says on the tin.

If you are a fan of The Orb and Pink Floyd, you are in for a treat.

Just as an aside, all artist royalties from this album will be contributed to the support of Gary McKinnon, the man the US wants to put on trial for hacking the Pentagon. You would have thought that someone that smart would be offered a job and taken very good care of wouldn't you?

So to my mind, a very worthwhile cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A REVIEW FOR FLOYD FANS, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Mr Paul Savory (Wrexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
Although I listened to The Orb's Live album many many years ago and got my hands on the Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells singles remixed by The Orb I have not listened to much of The Orb's music. OK' Fluffy Little Clouds is superb, but from the amount of tracks I have heard I really cannot say that much about how this album rates amonst The Orb's output.
I have very recently returned from Ibiza after a totally "More" inspired holiday - not the drugs but I had the Floyd lp on my mp3. Whilst shopping in the town of Ibiza I could not help but hear techno. In one shop I enquired as to each type of music I was enjoying, was it Techno Ambient? No, the answer - Techno Minimal. So now I have a new musical term. And guess what, just by chance this album is Techno Minimal ( I think or should that be "I dink"?).
By watching the video supplied to Amazon one can get the feel of David's guitar playing. Minimal notes. minimal effort (for an axe god) but maximum mood setting. Reviews in the press liken this guitar work to Echoes or Shine On... well, yes and no. The soundscapes here are lush. Very suited to over dubbing the Landscape Channel on Sky 205 or playing with Winamp visuals.
The 3D cd must be played through headphones to get the full effect. In much the same way as The Final Cut and The Pros & Cons of Hitchhiking with their holophonics recording method.
David does rock out a little on track 2 in the style of Echoes but it is soooo well hidden. Cluster One and Signs of Life also come to mind as to types of playing found here.
So I am loving this chillout album and possibly this is where The Floyd could have gone post Wish You Were Here. On the quieter side I also listen to Jarre, Oldfield and Brian Eno so just to give you an idea this album sounds nothing like any of their outputs. But you could find shades here of Ummagumma, The Division Bell, Meddle etc.
Metallic Spheres has a duration of about 50 mins (per disc) but it designed to be looped over and over.
Thanx for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hahahaha, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
some 40 years after turning his back on the psychedelic counterculture out of which the Pink Floyd grew, David Gilmour only goes on to collaborate with The Orb in creating the druggiest, most flashback inducing soundscapes i have probably ever heard. Seriously.

A real aural treat. One not to be missed if you enjoy the great David Gilmour, as well as some of the psychedelic works or Amorphous Androgynous.

AVOID if you are looking for 'nice songs with nice lyrics'.

Dave Gilmour contributes handsomely to this record, but it is by far a 'guitar hero' record. An album for true lovers of sound.

M. Ratcliffe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ambient Guitar Dub Universe, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
Excellent mature album by The Orb (Dr Alex Patterson/Youth), collaborating with David Gilmour from Pink Floyd. Here two lengthy tracks fusing mellow deep bass-dub-electronics by the Orb, combined with David Gilmour's swirling guitar solos. Both artist create a wonderful calming mood by individually adding there own strengths and skilfully combining there creative techniques creating a fantastic voyage into a modern fusion of guitar and ambient-dub electronic music.

PLEASE NOTE: This is no dance record!..Sit back, relax, then absorb by listening to the whole album. It will then be appreciated with its deepness within the ambient and music. 9/10.

JAMES VS THE SABRES OF PARADISE - JAM J - [12"]
30.07.1994
Jet Chamber
Electronic Dub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a David GIlmour album, 17 Dec 2010
By 
Martin Diggins (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
Bought this as a long time fan of David Gilmour - very disappointing as his contribution is minimal. Really shouldn't have his name on the cover at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and atmospheric, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Bodhi Heeren (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
An interesting and highly succesful cooperation between the illustrious Pink Floyd guitar hero and the sonic pioneers The Orb. And a true collaboration, not just the Orb plus some Gilmour samples. Instead he plays some truly atmospheric guitarparts which blends effortleesly with The Orb's soundscapes. Really integrated in to the music without hardly any display of his usual blues-scale based leads. Rather reminiscent of Steve Hillage's restrained and spacey playing with System 7.

Two long suite like tracks with varying soundpatterns. Bass/drum like passages organically drifting towards more free flowing ambient parts and some almost new age like quietness. With a common thread in the form of snippets from a remake of Graham Nash's "Chicago".

Essential for fans of the psychedelic side of Pink Floyd and of music that likes to take you on an inner journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mature Ambient.., 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
I have never been a huge fan of either Pink Floyd or The Orb. I do however realize that they are/were all talented musicians.I like some of their output but have never been truly passionate like some of their fan base are.
I do however like ambient music,Eno, Budd, Foxx, Oldfield, Bowie,Tangerine Dream,Stars of the Lid, Boards of Canada,Jarre,Biosphere, Eluvium, Aphex,and many many more. I thought I would check this album out and Im glad I did. It is a mature, thought provoking listen. There is a great deal going on, it isnt background ambient in any shape or form and repays repeated listening.I never liked the playful side of the Orb but here they have produced to my mind the most "Adult" of records. I love it and would urge you to at least give it a try. Highly recommended.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars more like balls than spheres, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
This has to be the outtakes from a brilliant album that never happened. Too often the tracks seem to imply great soaring pieces ahead but then meander and dribble into nothing. These implied tracks unfortunately remain still borne, vague glimpses of apocryphal greatness. There is more pleasure in a 2mins .30secs youtube clip of Mr Gilmour singing the words to Sonnet 18 than in this entire cd. One too avoid or only for devotees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Hour Of Atmospheres, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
Born from a remix of Gilmour's cover of "Chicago", Metallic Spheres is that most proggy of things, a joint collaboration between David Gilmour (guitar, vocals, effects), and long-in-the-tooth, and now relatively obscure ambient dub pioneers The Orb : At second glance, this collaboration makes perfect sense, right from the start of their career The Orb were referencing Gilmours work (lifting wholesale parts of his work on Floyd albums for their first radio session), building enormous, luxurious ambient soundscapes akin to the longer Floyd material, and, later on, working with, and remixing, Floyd keyboardist Rick Wrights solo material.

"Metallic Spheres" continues the tradition. To say that, these days, The Orb write songs is.. optimistic. Their work on this album is the most accessable in a decade or more - certainly since 2001's "Cydonia" - and dominates the piece, with an assortment of delicate keyboard lines, floating, barely-audible sounds, and, from time to time, pulsing crescendos of instrumentation and precise rhythms that remind me of nothing more than "Broken China" (Rick Wrights under-rated 1996 solo album forged from material he worked on during, and after, Floyd's final studio album "The Division Bell"). On these sumptious works, The Orb create rhythmic, pounding backbeats - think, if you will Floyds "Echoes", (or perhaps Floyd alumni Roger Waters "What God Wants") tinged with the kind of precise, yet otherworldly keyboard and piano lines that sound alien and otherworldly. Sadly, hardly anyone would be buying or listening to this were it the work of The Orb on their own. Enter David Gilmour.

Gilmour, whose textured, and unhurried playing adds an imaginative space to any song, a man who knows it's as much about what you don't play as what you do, brings to these tracks an innate understanding of melody and atmosphere. It's difficult, as such to say what exactly these songs are ; fragments reminiscent of solos and textures in his other work, the drawn out, infinite lines of many an intro to many a Floyd record, and Gilmours lesser known soundtrack stuff. In many ways, "Metallic Spheres", is a summation of many years of work, taking lessons from the soundtracks to "The Colours From Infinity" using rhythms as the foundation of a layered, considered texture of guitars, both the kind of delicate, keening, distinctive solos that have become Gilmours unique voice, and the more subtle, acoustic strums that underpin much of his work. To an extent, "Metallic Spheres" is a fitting statement, a wish fulfilled for some, being an hour long ambient, atmospheric, largely instrumental work by Gilmour comprised almost exclusively of guitar-led, elegant sounds and with The Orb channelling the restrained character of The Floyds instrumental passages to create a initially unlikely, but rewarding piece of music that is, perhaps, up there with some of the most atmospheric work from either of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Expectations, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. P. Dibley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallic Spheres (Audio CD)
I don't know a thing about The Orb, but when I saw that David Gilmore is playing on here I had to have it. Bought it eighteen months ago and thought then, "This is nonsense". I put it away, and thinking that my taste might have changed, I just got it out again. I was right then, and it still is. How can you write such boring music and then waste two C.D.'s ? Awfull drivel. Now, where's the bin ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metallic Spheres
Metallic Spheres by The Orb featuring David Gilmour
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews