Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Jack and Rose from Titanic, you'll like this. Disaster, class-torn lovers, love...
This is a sweet, sensual romance, as opposed to the erotic romances that this author writes for Ellora's Cave, but it totally worked for me, and this is a tale I will read again and again.

I love romance, and even more so when there's a female lead who won't conform, and from the very start, on meeting Nate and then Grace, I immediately thought of the...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by ROROBLU'S MUM

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit too romantic in parts for me
I quite liked this book but it was rather overly romantic for me in a "Mills and Boon" way. Still readable but not memorable. Worth a try as it's a freebie
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by LMMKindlefan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Jack and Rose from Titanic, you'll like this. Disaster, class-torn lovers, love..., 16 Oct 2011
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
This is a sweet, sensual romance, as opposed to the erotic romances that this author writes for Ellora's Cave, but it totally worked for me, and this is a tale I will read again and again.

I love romance, and even more so when there's a female lead who won't conform, and from the very start, on meeting Nate and then Grace, I immediately thought of the class-torn lovers Jack and Rose from Titanic.

Nate lost his family in Ireland and has come to America, the land of opportunity, to seek his fortune, but his love of a good drink and his outspokenness have meant that for the first six months, he's moved from job to job, until the new job as chauffeur to liberal Mr Wyne.

Grace is Mr Wyne's daughter, having been sent to live with him by her mother and stepfather, when she refused the 5th suitor in a row. They consider her to be unmanageable, and she is delighted to live with the father who left his own loveless, class marriage when he fell for a younger female. Grace's only aim in life is to be able to marry a man of her choice, one who she loves, and not make a social merger.

At their first meeting, there's clearly an attraction between Nate and Grace, and she gives as good as she gets. Nate becomes her chauffeur, but also her protector and friend, teaching her to drive, and introducing her to the delights of a saloon..

They fall in love, and whilst Nate tries to remember that she's a lady socially above him, one to be treated with respect, they start to make love and are interrupted by her father, and Nate leaves before he gets fired. Grace tracks him down and they make love, but the next morning the earthquake hits...and from that, the fire...

From the devastation and loss of life and property, Grace and Nate get their HEA, class and society be damned. For me, this is a really sweet, Keeper of a tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit too romantic in parts for me, 21 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
I quite liked this book but it was rather overly romantic for me in a "Mills and Boon" way. Still readable but not memorable. Worth a try as it's a freebie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical drama/romance, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy reading about the main characters in this book and it did have a good storyline. The book was of a fair length and once I started to read, I did wonder how it would all end. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable Read, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book, it is not a memorable book by any accounts as one of the people who has reviewed it said,but It is a nice love story with the typical subject of forbidden love between two people of different social class and background. The characters are very likeable and the dialogue between them is funny at times. If you like love stories, this book is a good and entertaining read, although apart from the love story itself and everything that comes with it, there is not much more to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
ok book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable romance, 29 Jun 2013
By 
DJW13 (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
This is a fairly predictable romance - but then that is what readers often want. I kept thinking that the hero would reveal some money making scheme, but all he did was show an appetite for hard work and fall in love with a rich girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Worm, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love from the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read - a good story. The ending was predictable but enjoyed the book. Made great holiday reading not too much brain power required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love from the Ashes
Love from the Ashes by Denise A. Agnew
2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews