Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well organised dance album
It is what it is, a dance record, but I like the way they have organised it into 3 discs, to suit your mood. If you want more urban, dub step (what's going on now) sound, listen to disc 3. You've got your real club/rave tracks on disc 2 and your anthems on 1. Great to drive and party to.
Published on 16 Aug. 2011 by Clazza

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As Last Year, But Worth A Shot
2009 witnessed a major resurgence of dance music into the mainstream, which was reflected in the year's `Annual' release. Not only was it the best Annual musically since 2000, the packaging harked back to the halcyon days of dance music, with its classy, creative, diagonal box replacing the uninspired plastic cases adorned with bikini clad divas that had blighted the...
Published on 8 Dec. 2010 by stage_one


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well organised dance album, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
It is what it is, a dance record, but I like the way they have organised it into 3 discs, to suit your mood. If you want more urban, dub step (what's going on now) sound, listen to disc 3. You've got your real club/rave tracks on disc 2 and your anthems on 1. Great to drive and party to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As Last Year, But Worth A Shot, 8 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
2009 witnessed a major resurgence of dance music into the mainstream, which was reflected in the year's `Annual' release. Not only was it the best Annual musically since 2000, the packaging harked back to the halcyon days of dance music, with its classy, creative, diagonal box replacing the uninspired plastic cases adorned with bikini clad divas that had blighted the Ministry of Sound label for years, and made it synonymous with music played in modded up Vauxhall Novas by the overexcited, Burberry clad dregs of society.

The `2011 Annual' had a tough act to follow, then, and while this is a worthwhile release it doesn't quite match the quality and variety of its predecessor. The packaging is back to being a standard cardboard flip out case, although the artwork looks cool and classy. The CD's themselves follow the vague form of House (CD1), Trance (CD2) and Dubstep (CD3), although in these days of genre-mashing it's not a particularly strict divide. Also, many dance music fans would characterise many of the tracks from David Guetta or Alex Gaudino as `pop' rather than any sub-genre of EDM, and indeed you aren't going to find James Blake on the dubstep disc, or John Roberts on the house CD etc. Then again, there's easily enough non-chart stuff to make this superior to you average Clubland or Now! compilation.

The first two discs are enjoyable, though stay at the same level throughout. It's all tech house with sprinklings of trance and funky house and vocal dance, without the music taking you anywhere. There are a lot of good songs littered about, but they're not mixed into a particularly artistic journey, even though the edits are silky smooth. Of course there are bigger sounding tracks than others, standouts like `I Think I Like It' and `Babylon', but essentially it's all decent grooves that you wouldn't be too disappointed to see dropped on a dancefloor. Disc 3 is heavier on the whole, with dubstep, electro, drum `n' bass and sometimes a combination of all three. Of the three it's the most exciting, and has the highest BPM; it's also got the most dancefloor credentials, as you wouldn't be surprised to hear some of these tracks on a Friday night in Fabric or somewhere similar.

While this set doesn't always really represent a lot of what's being played in clubs, it's as usual a good barometer of where mainstream dance tastes have been this year. The track selection is fairly predictable and safe (there's a lot more interesting tunes out there than dull vocal trance by past-their-prime producers like Oakenfold and van Buuren), and compared to last year it sometimes gets quite boring in places. Overall, though, it's good for the car, good for a party, and if that sounds cool then purchase without trepidation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
Not as good as previous annuals i've bought over the last 10 years too much drum'n'bass for my liking. ok though if you like that type of music or have had plenty of alcohol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puts a Smile on ya face in this winters recession!! Buy the CD!!, 5 Jan. 2011
I was lucky enough to be given this CD in its booklet glory as a present for Christmas.
I now on CD 2-3 now compiling my favorites as always.
The Mixing between tracks stands out for me so you really have to play this a few times before appreciating the Ministries true sound for 2010. Puts a right smile on ya face when driving home in slow traffic.
If your a trance dance fan then pick this up a the annual and buy the CD as this one's for your collection. Make a copy for the car tho scratches do happen.
It deserves more than 1 star hence the review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hit & Miss, 30 May 2013
By 
Will (St Albans, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
Returning to their rightful mediocre state, after the surprisingly good Annual 2010. There's just so much filler & is really confused in its genre selection. There are some really heavy Dubstep tracks, yet there are loads of really cheesy Pop-House tracks? and a few good trance track. There are a couple of Gems [I'm Alive 2010, On A Metropolis Day, Youtopia & Babylon]. But overall I wouldn't recommend this anyone who's new to Electronic music and wants to see the best the genre can offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
Compared to previous years 'Annuals', I was disappointed. The music chosen to go on it, was all very simliar. I did find I spent most of my time, skipping from one track to the other, in the hope of finding something a bit different.
It could be that it was just a bad year and nothing much was about or MOS haven't paid for the rights for anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 April 2012
With The Annual you'd expect it to be a great compilation of the years hits, but it just doesn't deliver. It is well mixed and is a good listen, but I find the track list very frustrating, half of the tracks aren't from 2011 and as per usual M.O.S uses the remixes of the tracks rather than the originals, worth a listen but nothing to scream about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointment, 17 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
Since the year 2001 I have always bought the Ministry of Sound's annual album,
yet i have to say i have yet to find a decent song!!
I just hope any future realises wont be as bad,as i realise this is not normal!!
a disappointed Rose,from Menorca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WORST MIX CD COLLECTION EVER BROUGHT!!!!, 24 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
Avoid, Avoid avoid... Do not purchase this collection its the WORST thing I have ever purchased.... The First CD is tolerable the 2nd/ 3rd may aswell be 1 song jelled together as it sounds like the same mix over and over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 (Audio CD)
like all these 3 cd sets there is always one good cd mix out of 3. i got this used as i do with most cd's so it was about £3 delivered. if i would have paid full price i would'nt be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011
Ministry Of Sound - The Annual 2011 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews