Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2005
Oh my gosh! What can I say? The Outlaws seem to be one of the best kept secrets of rock n roll. This is up there with Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Lyve" album as a top notch Southern/country rock live release. This differs somewhat from the debut album, which was pretty laid back and overall had a gentler tone. Bring It Back is the guys at full tilt with some of the best lead guitar work I have ever heard. You may not hear tapped Phrygian mode runs at 100 mph but they are soulful and intense. Buy it now or I'll send the sheriff and his posse for y'all, ya hear? :-)
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 October 2003
The front cover says it all - yes, this band really did have FOUR guitarists. When it works well, the results are stunning.
The reason most people would buy this CD is, of course, for the finale, a 21-minute live version of "Green Grass and High Tides", a strong contender for "best-ever guitar-driven rock track". Though necessarily slightly less polished than the studio version, the live recording brings fresh atmosphere and excitement to this superb epic.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2002
IF YOUR A FAN OF LYNYRD SKYNYRD,38 SPECIAL AND BLACKFOOT YOU WILL LOVE THIS ALBUM,AND IF YOU LIKE BLACKFOOT'S "HIGHWAY SONG...LIVE" ALBUM JUST BUY IT NOW,IT'S WORTH THE ADDMISSION PRICE ALONE FOR THE 21 MIN. VERSION OF "GREEN GRASS AND HIGH TIDES"BUT ALL 11 TRACKS ARE CLASSICS!ABSOLOUTLY FANTASTIC C.D.- 5*****
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Bring it Back Alive must be one of the great live albums from the 1970s. The vinyl version is impeccable but the remastering on this CD leaves a lot to be desired. The band is about guitars and vocals so why bury them?
As an example of how a re-master should be done, compare this CD with the Lynyrd Skynryd live album. If you have the equipment and the vinyl of Bring it Back Alive, make a cassette of the vinyl and then follow each track with the CD re-master version; result - vinyl wins hands down each time. The original album was fine - why mess about with it? Perhaps cost was a factor - try the Skynyrd test and you will see what I mean. Still, I am sure that Hughie is up there smiling away, playing the immaculate Stratocaster solos on Green Grass and High Tides...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Bought this as had notion to hear (very) long version of Green Grass and High Tides (their "Freebird") after coming across the (superior) Album version in a compilation playing in a coffee shop ; 20 minutes and over twice as long but not as good.
Bought the Vinyl LP but lent it to someone, forget who and they will have forgotten they were supposed to return it ( I think we both discovered Punk and so Outlaws became passe)
Production cries out for a remaster; some of the stronger songs have held up well but patchy sound quality isn't kind to the weaker material. Guitar duels are no better than on studio albums and often repeats of same.
I don't feel too disappointed though and my brother will love to borrow this. Will I mind if he forgets to return it?...probably not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
I`V BEEN WAITING AGES TO GET THIS ON CD AND ITS GREAT TO HEAR HIGH TIDES AND GREEN GRASS AGAIN ON QUALITY CD PRODUCTION. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ALBUM THAT STANDS TH TEST OF TIME.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
this is one of the best live albums i have heard ever, and would not hesitate to recomend it to any real music lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Forgot how good this was .. Thanks for the very prompt service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
Rock Candy remasters are usually far better than this. It isn't much better than the last remaster. Not a must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)