Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PICO V50 REVIEW
I purchaded this item a few weeks ago and am so far very pleased with it. The projection quality is excellent providing you watch in a dark room. The size of the screen is larger the further away you place the proector but will also work if you place it 8 inches away from a wall as well. I had a small flexi tripod anyway and there is a socket on the base to mount it...
Published on 17 Dec 2010 by C. M. Perry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatibility
This Item is incompatible with Apple OS X. There was no warning in the Amazon information. I have contacted the manufacturer and they have no plans to produce the appropriate software. Hence, to me it is useless. To try to get it working I have also purchased MS Vista Home Basic from Vistastock through Amazon to use through Bootcamp and found it has no Activation Code...
Published on 8 Sep 2011 by Davele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PICO V50 REVIEW, 17 Dec 2010
By 
C. M. Perry (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
I purchaded this item a few weeks ago and am so far very pleased with it. The projection quality is excellent providing you watch in a dark room. The size of the screen is larger the further away you place the proector but will also work if you place it 8 inches away from a wall as well. I had a small flexi tripod anyway and there is a socket on the base to mount it. My only gripe at the moment is i am trying to rig it to some speakers as the in bult ones are of minimal use. They are fine if it is just you viewing and it is right next to you otherwise with a group you will not be able to hear it. Overall first impression are great and well worth the purchase. It will only take a usb upto 32gb and card so my portable hard drive 320gb is no good. Comes with 3 pin charger which is quite large.
my best buy of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good projector with good functions, but not the end product, 9 Jun 2011
By 
E. Tsang (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
The Aiptek PocketCinema V50 is a mini projector. The projector only weighs 225g. The quality of projection is excellent. It comes with speakers, which is handy. It can read from SD cards and memory sticks. With some work, it can also projector from a PC, which is good for presentation on the road. This is a valuable feature for me. It can show photos, videos and converted pdf and Powerpoint files (see below). Attention has been paid to details in the software, which is pleasing to use.

The projector contains its internal memory. It contains some photos for testing the projector, which is handy. The projector driver and file conversion software are stored in the internal memory. This is very sensible. So when I visit other sites, I could use my projector on their computers if they are willing to install the software. It is not as ideal as plug-and-play, but it gives a means of projecting when needed.

There are drawbacks though:
1. The charger is very heavy. For a portable device, a much lighter charger should be used.
2. The buttons are fiddly. They are sometimes too sensitive, sometimes insensitive.
3. It is a bit noisy (though one reviewer on Amazon considered it quiet).
4. It does not work with a Mac!
5. With a special cable, which Aiptek also sells, it supposedly can work with iPhone. I bought the cable, but failed to make it work. I'm going to return it.
6. Powerpoint and PDF files have to be converted. It is not ideal, but it provides a means to present these files.

Overall, I am happy with the quality of the projection. However, the projector is not the end product yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small but powerful, 1 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
I wasn't too sure of what to expect with this unit to be honest, i had watched a few vids of other pocket projectors with 10 lumins etc, and was a bit underwhelmed.
This thing however blew me away, it's small and relatively quiet but has up to 50 ANSSI lumins, which really shows when you are in a dark room watching The Matrix on a 6 foot screen.
And when i say screen, i mean a large blackout rollerblind, which was so good it was like being in the cinema. Anyone thinking of getting a pocket home projector should look no further, this is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatibility, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
This Item is incompatible with Apple OS X. There was no warning in the Amazon information. I have contacted the manufacturer and they have no plans to produce the appropriate software. Hence, to me it is useless. To try to get it working I have also purchased MS Vista Home Basic from Vistastock through Amazon to use through Bootcamp and found it has no Activation Code. The information given by Vistastock about activation by phone does not work. I thought I was purchasing working copy. I now have a useless projector and an operating system that will become useless in less than 30 days. Thank you Amazon. All in all I have wasted a considerable amount of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little projector, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
i bought this as a bit of a gamble, because i had never heard of aiptek or i coudnt really find many reviews about it, but im glad i did get it. the overall build quality was very good but i did have a little problem with the tripod atatchment where the threading started to go on it but it wasnt too much of a problem. it isnt very heavy but it has got a feel of quality to it, and it doesnt seem like it would breake if you dropped it once or twice. It was very easy to use and i started projecting as soon as i took it out of the box, the menu isnt very glamorous but it does the job, the touchpad buttons on the top dont aways respond as you want them too but as it came with a remote i didnt really find this an issue. i was overwelmed by the brightness and i could easily see a 50" screen in a lit room (not a bright room but i still had the curtains open). When i attached the power supply and tried it in a dark room i could get an 80" screen without a problem, and even managed to watch a film on it that took up the whole of my wall (wich was about 100") and still had a very good picture quality and good bright colours. I can connect most everything to it with the composite adapter supplied (although the speakers arent great theyre alright in a quiet environment) and got great picture quality from it. the only thing i am dissapointed with is that the supplied software to connect it to the computer did not work on mine for some reason so it will not work with my computer. the battery lasts about an hour or so in enhansed mode and 2 hours in eco mode so no qualms there. the unit opperates quite quietly but you can sometimes hear the hum of the fan. Overall it is a very well built pico projector that you could take anywhere with you, with a brightness that rivals any other pico projector i have seen and i would recomend this to anybody wishing to buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sync issues Aiptek v50 Projector, 20 May 2012
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
I did not purchase my projector from Amazon but from a site in Germany. Great projector but had sync issues on movies where after about 20 mins use the audio and video went way out of sync. I tried lots of different av formats some worked better than others but still sync issues. I eventually got in touch with Aiptek(usa) because Aiptek(Europe) were not answering any of my E-mails. It turns out in was a software problem and I needed to update the firmware on the projector. Easy to do, firmware is free to download on Aiptek website. Video playback works a dream 100" SCREEN, however just to advise other owners the cooling fan on my projector started to become very noisy and then would stop spinning altogether resulting in the projector overheating and turning itself off. I contacted Aiptek and was informed as my projector is out of guarantee(24 months) its not covered and they do not sell fan as a spare part. So if your fan is louder than normal and its less than 2yrs old you have been warned. As far as anyone purchasing a new projector now I believe these issues are sorted on the newer models.

Enjoy

NT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK but not for Mac!, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
Downside: I bought this to go with my range of Apple equipment. It does not link directly to a MacBook Air or Pro as the system doesn't like the file types from a Mac USB output. Its control buttons are not precise at all, neither is the operation of the included remote control. Included software is for PC only.
Positive: If you want a pocket size projector with a pretty strong image and power, this is OK and projects a clean image over 3m in daylight (not direct sunlight) onto a cream wall very well. Overall: Would I buy it again or recommend to others? No
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality. Might be better with PC use., 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
I'm quite satisfied with this product. Works great with input from USB and memory card. Video quality is very good. Perfect to view DVD quality. Image quality is also good with lower resolutions. Minor problems with some of the video formats, but mostly due to bad compression. I normally project to 2.5mt distance. Image visibility is already sufficient at 20lumen in non-direct day-light, 40lumen is good. In no-light conditions, image is already good at 20lumen, it is perfect at 40lumen. Use with PC seems to require change of PC screen resolution for best viewing (software is provided). I find this a bit annoying, but use with PC is not my primary use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
product is great value for money and excellent bit of equipment. would reccomend it to anyone who is into their film nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aiptek 430022-UK PocketCinema Pico Portable Projector (Electronics)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews