Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trade winds won't blow you away but its a nice, breezy summer read
A well written easy to read romanctic adventure story set in the eighteenth century. Killian and Jess, the hero and heroine of the story become vivid characters with their strengths and weaknesses woven into the plot.

The pace is good with chapter size making the book excellent for periodic reading, so a good one to read on the train to work. I particuarly...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by Matt Aylott

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The expected swash and buckling - or unbuckling, maybe
As far as chic-lit books go, this one has travelled reasonably well. I am probably not the target audience for these larger than life romances, though I always appreciate stories with a nautical bent.

This one, a debut novel, is okay. The dialogue is not so good, since it is a mixture of 18th century English with modern day idioms and phrases - okay if you're...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Michael Watson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trade winds won't blow you away but its a nice, breezy summer read, 4 Mar 2011
By 
Matt Aylott (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trade Winds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A well written easy to read romanctic adventure story set in the eighteenth century. Killian and Jess, the hero and heroine of the story become vivid characters with their strengths and weaknesses woven into the plot.

The pace is good with chapter size making the book excellent for periodic reading, so a good one to read on the train to work. I particuarly liked the infusion of cultures; the tale covers three countries - Scotland, Sweden and China. The narrative gives a flavour of each place; their customs, attitudes and the values of their time.

The only downside is the story-line is perhaps a tad predictable - boy meets girl and difficulties are overcome - but the action is sufficiently engaging to make it a good read from start to happy end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Escapism, 17 Dec 2010
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trade Winds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So it's a wet & snowy afternoon, & I'm reading this lovely first novel.
Christina Courtney has produced a couple of endearing lead characters in the srong willed Jess & the defiant Killian. And if their adventures do occasionally stretch the bounds of imagination, so what ? It's published by Choc-Lit & it's very definately mind candy for the romantically inclined.
I hung my brain out to dry & thoroughly enjoyed time with these characters. More soon please Miss Courntney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast off your cares..., 3 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trade Winds (Paperback)
... And sail away in this delightful love story. When spirited Jess van Sandt meets irresistible Killian Kinross the sparks fly, but will they pass as ships in the night or embark on a future together? Their voyage of discovery sweeps the reader through light seas and troubled waters; there is adventure, danger and passion. Centre stage, however, belongs to Jess and Killian and their truly romantic tale. It was a great pleasure to take time out of ordinary life and lose myself in this satisfying novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The expected swash and buckling - or unbuckling, maybe, 12 April 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trade Winds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As far as chic-lit books go, this one has travelled reasonably well. I am probably not the target audience for these larger than life romances, though I always appreciate stories with a nautical bent.

This one, a debut novel, is okay. The dialogue is not so good, since it is a mixture of 18th century English with modern day idioms and phrases - okay if you're after the romance and the relationship between the two main protagonists but not so good if you're trying your best to become involved.

That said, if these are the sort of books you like, this is probably worth reading since there is plenty to keep an enthusiast interested. The scenes move around from Scotland to Sweden to China and back again, though I have to say I couldn't really hear the creaking of timbers and the wind whistling through the rigging I was half expecting from a nautical flavour.

I'm sure Christina Courtenay will be back again. Chic-lit is definitely here to stay and such a book as this will keep the flag flying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light weight escapism, 27 Jan 2011
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trade Winds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'll start by saying this book is squarely aimed at a female demographic so I read it with some reluctance. On the plus side it rolls along nicely and you get a feel for the period, especially the feeling of being at sea on a sailing ship and how massive the world must have seemed then. There's also sufficient attention to detail to make it feel like you can imagine being filmed as a period drama on TV and after a while that's exactly how I saw it: it was written with TV in mind. Ideal for whiling away dark winter evenings or a book to read on the train but it's not going to make you think you've read anything profound or life-changing. My other half loved it and so did her mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rich and engaging historical novel with a romance at the heart of it, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Trade Winds (Choc Lit) (Kindle Edition)
With its lush and vivid setting I'm tempted to call 'Trade Winds' a beautiful book. Set mainly in Sweden, but with parts of the story told in Scotland and China in transports you through both time and cultures in 1732. I know next to nothing about Sweden, but I got a strong sense that this book was well researched and the author paints a distinct vision of each setting the book takes place in. I particularly loved the parts in China.

The heroine is Jess van Sandt a woman who has been raised in Sweden. Her now deceased father had been a forward thinking man, and with no sons to pass his business to had taught and encouraged Jess to be a part of it. But when her mother remarries, her new stepfather assures Jess that the business is now his, and her father's Will left her with nothing but a dowry for her marriage.

Jess is a determined and intelligent women and knows that something is amiss and desperately tries to get to the bottom of her stepfather's subterfuge. Wanting nothing more than the right to what she legally believes to be hers.

Living in the modern world, with a career of my own, it's easy to forget what it used to be like for women in the past. To not be able to own your own property and be entirely dependant on the men in your life. But this book really did make me think what it must have been like. I admired Jess's wits and courage and fumed at the injustices against her.

As a hero, initially you could be fooled into dismissing Killian as a bit of a gambler and a rogue. But peel beneath the surface and you'll find he's a very complicated man. A man that's determined to prove himself. Disinherited by his Grandfather, he seizes the opportunity to travel to Sweden and apprentice to Jess's stepfather to learn a trade and prove himself.

The love story isn't instantaneous, or a clash of lusty wills as you sometimes see in romances. It's Killian's dislike of injustice that draws him to help Jess, rather than some nefarious or romantic purpose. But just as Jess does, you slowly become charmed by him.

However, this book is more than a love story, the epic journey to China adds a real sense of adventure, and of course it really was an epic journey in those times. There's more than one villain to keep you on your toes and I found the history and Far Eastern culture fascinating.

VERDICT:

There are four things that really make this book work. The beautiful setting, the obvious historical research coupled with the adventure and love story. This isn't what I would class as a fluffy romance, it's a rich and engaging novel with a romance story at the heart of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okayish, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Constant Reader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trade Winds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Based on the glowing reviews here, I was really looking forward to reading this but it didn't quite live up to expectations.

"Choc-lit" - the publishers should have given me a clue - a none too subtle pun on Chick-lit and that is what this is really. While the setting of Sweden and trade routes to China sound interesting, any local colour or detail is ruthlessly excluded other than that which serves the plot. This results in a rather strange feeling, like living in a bubble which contains either Killian or Jess, with all outside influences excluded. I didn't feel by the end of the book that I knew anything about what it was like to live in Sweden in the 18th century or to travel to China.

While you could sail a ship through the holes in the plot, Killian and Jess are an attractive couple and I think that characterisation is more Courtenay's forte. I was quite interested to know what happened to Jess' mother and chaperone, but having served their purpose they were never heard from again! Two good villains should have been used better - their fates were so similar, offstage and somewhat anticlimactic, but again they only exist to bring Jess and Killian together and therefore can be discarded as soon as that purpose has been achieved.

Chick lit in costume dress, but not that satisfying for fans of historical novels. The book has a lovely cover and thick pages - in that respect at least it was a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trade Winds (Choc Lit) (Kindle Edition)
one of the first books I read on kindle. I loved the historical aspect and found it hard to put down. Would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great mix of history and romance, 21 Nov 2013
By 
katriona macleod (Stornoway, Isle of Lewis United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trade Winds (Choc Lit) (Kindle Edition)
a book you just cannot leave until you finish and then you start on another of this author's books it transports you to another world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trade Winds (Choc Lit) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the fact that there were one or two historical facts woven in with the romance of this novel. A good read not too "frilly" with just enough love interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ff5258)

This product

Trade Winds (Choc Lit)
Trade Winds (Choc Lit) by Christina Courtenay
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews