Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldeneye all over again
When it comes to videogames, there is nothing I enjoy more than a good remake of a classic game. I'd rather have a remake of a superb, 13 year old game (like N64's "Goldeneye"), than a new and original but lousy one. This has been done a few times before with great results: PS1's "Resident Evil" was remade (from scratch) for the Gamecube in 2002, PS1's "Metal Gear Solid"...
Published on 5 Nov 2010 by Marius F.

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original. Feels like every other shooter now
I was really excited about the release of Gloden Eye, but sadly having played it I'm dissapointed and probably woulnd't have purchased it if I had played it first. It's a good enough game but not as good as the original, I was hoping it was the same as the original just updated to run on the Wii and improved graphics. It looks like this from the start, just how I...
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by David B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldeneye all over again, 5 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
When it comes to videogames, there is nothing I enjoy more than a good remake of a classic game. I'd rather have a remake of a superb, 13 year old game (like N64's "Goldeneye"), than a new and original but lousy one. This has been done a few times before with great results: PS1's "Resident Evil" was remade (from scratch) for the Gamecube in 2002, PS1's "Metal Gear Solid" was remade (from scratch) for the Gamecube in 2004 (under the name "Twin Snakes"), and PS1's "Silent Hill" was remade (from scratch) for the Wii in 2009 (under the name "Shattered Memories"). This remake of "Goldeneye" is just as good as those. However, this is more than just a remake of N64's "Goldeneye" from 1997. This is like "Goldeneye" + "all the other cool stuff from the James Bond-franchise" thrown together in the mix and shaken (not stirred). Classic guns (including the golden one) and characters from past Bond-movies are playable in the multiplayer mode. These characters include:

-Jaws (That big scary 7'2'' tall guy with metal teeth played by Richard Kiel in "The Spy Who Loved Me" (1977) and "Moonraker" (1979))

-Francisco Scaramanga (Played by Christopher Lee in The Man with the Golden Gun (1974))

-Oddjob (The Hawaiian guy with the lethal hat played by Harold Sakata in Goldfinger (1964))

-Ernst Stavro Blofeld (This is the Blofeld played by Charles Gray in Diamonds Are Forever (1971). Not the Blofeld played by Donald Pleasence or Telly Savalas)

-Baron Samedi (That scary voodoo-guy with the peculiar laughter and face-paint played by Geoffrey Holder in Live and Let Die (1973))

-Rosa Klebb (The dangerous little lady with the red hair and lethal shoe played by Lotte Lenya in From Russia with Love (1963))

-Red Grant (That blond henchman played by Robert Shaw in From Russia with Love (1963))

-Julius No (Played by Joseph Wiseman in Dr. No (1962))

The multiplayer is split-screen just like old times (up to 4 players), but an 8-player online multiplayer is also available. The single player story mode pretty much follows the same story as N64's "Goldeneye" from 1997. The only big difference is that you will be seeing the face and hearing the voice of Daniel Craig, rather than that of Pierce Brosnan. Personally I would have preferred Brosnan. Also, the rest of the cast (except Judi Dench) has been replaced by new "actors". Trevelyan, Ourumov, Onatopp etc. have different faces and voices than you see in the movie. Also here I would have preferred the old cast: Famke Janssen, Sean Bean, Robbie Coltrane etc.. But this isn't enough to ruin the game. Like I insinuated earlier, this is a remake made completely from scratch. This is not the Nintendo 64-game just printed onto Wii-discs. So you will have the pleasure of seeing the best graphics around. You can play this game with almost every controller ever released by Nintendo since the release of Gamecube: The Wii Remote with Nunchuk, Wii Zapper, Classic Controller, Classic Controller Pro, and the Nintendo GameCube controller can all be used with this game. I'm a bit old fashioned, so I prefer using the Gamecube-controller. Some parts of the story in this game are actually closer to what happened in the movie than the N64-game ever was. Like in that park in St. Petersburg when the identity of Janus is revealed, this time you will actually be sitting in the helicopter when those two rockets are fired. And you'll have to find a way to escape, just like in the movie. Some changes are made regarding locations I might add. The things that in the movie happened in Monaco, are here happening in Dubai, and what usually happened on Cuba is now happening in Nigeria etc.. I think this game is perfect as it is. Would have been fun with even more than 8 classic characters in multiplayer though. I am missing the likes of Auric Goldfinger, and I wouldn't mind having seen some of the newer characters like Jinx from Die Another Day (2002) and Solange from Casino Royale (2006) if you know what I mean :-). This game also lacks some of the humour that made the original so great. The AK-47 is among the weaponry here (wouldn't be Goldeneye without one) along with MP5 and SPAS 12, but nearly all the weapons have fictional names. Another thing that would improve this game: The original N64-game hidden somewhere like an easter-egg (just like "Maniac Mansion" was hidden in "Day of the Tentacle", and the original "Donkey Kong" was hidden in "Donkey Kong 64"). For example, in a video game arcade cabinet standing somewhere in that nightclub in Barcelona. I would even say this is the game of this decade (the 00s) I have been looking forward to the most, and for good reason. Oh, and unless you have been living under a rock the last 13 years, you know this is a first-person-shooter. The Collector's Edition of this game includes a limited edition Golden Classic Controller Pro, so what are you waiting for???

P.S. Is it just me or did they stop making games like "Goldeneye"(N64) and "Ocarina of Time"(N64)? Miss those times....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game! Get this., 8 Nov 2010
By 
Groomy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
Single player is great, but multiplayer is where the fun really starts! Don't expect this to be a straight remake, there's different weapons, levels, everything is different. But the fun is still there. The gold classic controller is great too, can't get enough of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the game, the limited edition controller's where it's at!, 16 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
When I say "Forget the game," what I mean is merely that I bought this item purely for want of the controller, I do not mean to cast aspersions on the game, as I do intend to play it and from all of my research it seems considerably good. The controller itself is excellent. Not only does it look amazing, some think it's tacky, I do not, but it also feels effortlessly comfortable and is really a step above and beyond the standard Wii remote for non-motion-sensor-gaming.

With the recent announcement of the Wii U's backwards compatibility to all Wii-brand controllers, not to mention its rumoured 50% better (than a PS3) graphical capabilities, getting used to a more traditional game pad such as this might well allow greater enjoyment of this future console.

For now though, this controller is second only to the GameCube controller for Smash Bros. play, so when prices are low on this product, or if you'd rather buy the classic controller pro in black Nintendo Classic Controller - Black (Wii), I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Remake!!!, 9 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
At first when i heard someone was attempting to remake the famous Goldeneye from the N64, also known as one of the best and most influential shooters ever, i was not happy. I thought although this sounds good on paper its not going to work.
HOWEVER! I was wrong! And im so pleased to be wrong, this game was great!
It could've been so easy to ruin this game but instead have created a well thoughout game.
Its more like a brand new bond game with elements of the original rather than being a straight remake. When you play the game you kind of forget its a remake then BOOM you will see something that reminds you of the original!
They have really pushed the wii to its limits the levels are quite large which i cant believe the wii can handle!
The story although slightly changed is still true to the N64 version.
The gamplay is exciting, i thought it was abit metal gear solidesc. multiplayer is a laugh great fun.
Its great that the wii finally has a solid shooter like this.

If you liked this check out Metroid Prime Trilogy, House of Dead Overkill, CODBlackOps, Conduit, Sin and Punishment2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This was a gift for my Nephew, it arrived on time,
I didn't have to worry about it, Amazon does a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars popular game, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This was a popular game for a while. this brought a lot of friends to the house. This keeps my son in the house and happy during the cold months
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 12 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
this game is utterly incredible! brilliant graphics 4 a wii game, really brings it to life. u can use the wii classic controller with it which is awesome, amazing multiplayer levels, really good campaign mode. i was expecting it to be the same as the 64 version, just with better graphics, but it really wasn't. you can do stealth attacks, be silent, even screw silencers onto you p99!
u can tell which level it is, but they've really made this different and really good. granted, it'll never be as good as the ol' 64 version, but i still love it.
my favourite feature though is the ability to play 007 classic difficuly, where your helth is shown onscreen and doesn't regenerate like on the N64. You can even get body armour, ffs! the only bad thing is that you can't take cover like in QoS, but since this is largely based around door, it would make the game too easy
this game is incredible and you should buy it if you like fps games youll be stunned by how good it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
A fantastic game that all Wii owners should have! Goldeneye 007 brings that competetive first person shooter experience to the Wii in style! Split screen multiplayer is an absolute blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 22 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
Managed to find this second hand in cex for 12! I only really waned the controller, but the game is brilliant! If you see this for under 20, and you need another classic controller, get it! A black one will cost you 15, so you can see it really is worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great present., 12 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This was a Christmas present brought for my son in law and he is addicted to playing it. Well worth the money as he spends hours playing it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii)
Goldeneye 007 - Collector's Edition (Wii) by Activision (Nintendo Wii)
43.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews