Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.90
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 May 2007
The third of the original trio of Jade Warrior's albums is also probably their best. Their music is difficult to describe in terms of better-known artists; it's easier to say that they jump between sparse electric rock and a peaceful, but powerful acoustic vibe. 'A Winter's Tale' kicks the album off with the latter and establishes the use of a strong ambient studio echo. It's a languid, melodic song with a chorus repeat at the end with a communal feel to it. The deliberately brutal, ugly bass of 'Snake' jars after this, as does the spare lyric, but it is a highly individual track.

The best track is 'Dark River', a breathtakingly compelling instrumental. The first two minutes consists of a heady flute passage over an infectious conga rhythm. A simple, increasingly hypnotic acoustic guitar pattern follows before a wonderful percussion climax. The other instrumental, 'Obedience', is also superb, culminating in a mesh of sound that is harmonious rather than cacophonous. There are vague concessions to r&b in the form of 'Joanne' and 'The Demon Trucker', but even these bear little relation to the likes of the Stones. 'Morning Hymn', 'Lady Of The Lake' and 'Borne On To The Solar Wind' are, like the opening track, beautifully melodic, yet possess that peace vibe.

One of 1972's best-kept secrets, 'Last Autumn's Dream' is the best example of why Jade Warrior's music deserves a much wider audience.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
There's a track on this album called 'A Winter's Tale' and its worth the cover price alone. A dreamy, snow capped anthem that'll wrap you up in duck down and keep you in log cabins for life. I first heard it in the summer of 82 and have treasured it ever since - along with the rest of the tracks that unfurl through this rich tapestry of wild wonderful atmospheres. 'Dark River' takes you to the deepest Amazon ... and leaves you there. 'Joanne' is a rock masterpiece. The guitarist Dave Duhig has a blistering pace that has split many a Wharfdale in two. Once you've been seduced by this Jade Warrior lp - you'll want them all - and they're all equally outstanding - including the four albums on Island Records. Buy 'Last Autumn's Dream' - this is your wake-up call.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2008
I bought "Last Autumn's Dream" on the strength of a review in one of my Dad's hi-fi magazines (the cover art may also have influenced my choice...) I was about 13 at the time and fell in love with the album immediately - over the next couple of years I played it to death, but when it went AWOL when my family moved house I couldn't find another copy. Praise be to Repertoire for making it available once again - I'm now 48 and I'm every bit as smitten as I was all those years ago!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
I took the risk of buying this "repertoire" limited edition of the old vértigo label without knowing quite what to expect. Not a great fan of prog. rock except for the very early stuff. This álbum is from 1972, and since the customers' comments sounded positive, and the cover art interesting, I took the plunge.
I have to say it took more than a couple of listens to begin to appreciate it, and at first, the harsher, more jagged tracks (Snake and Joanne, in particular), seemed to interrupt the other pieces, but other tracks, like Lady of the Lake and Dark River, easily made up for it, and convinced me that Jade Warrior were professionals, real artists. The latter track is unlike anything I've ever heard, and is a really fine instrumental that leaves you wondering why the group were not more highly acknowledged at the time. I suppose too much disparity of style eventually went against them, plus the fact that at the beginning of the seventies there was so much good, creative music coming out that it must have been difficult indeed to make a name for themselves. From what I see, the Japanese discovered this band and value them more highly. The oriental cover art obviously helps, combined with their more experimental approach. Whatever, I reckon lovers of progressive rock will not be disappointed 'cos the band's intelligent and creative style will appeal to Gentle Giant or Yes fans, while the easier, more rhythmic numbers ensure an overall enjoyable experience. And if you don't like the jarring songs mentioned above, being a CD, you can always 'jump' them......but be careful, for you might get bitten by the Snake, as I have been !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
Once again Jade Warrior has hit the mark. I have recently purchased Last Autumn's Dream, their musicallity and diversity is supurb. All the more to be treasured for a Limited Edition. Why is it that we do not hear more of them, certainly a band in my opinion far beyond their time and they deserve the recognition of a far wiider audience. Should you enjoy the sounds of Electric Rock with melodic Ambient tones then this band is well worth listening to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Last Autumns Dream begins quietly with the ballad A Winters Tale. If you think it is all gonna be nice & sweet like that one then think again, cos track 2 ( snake) is an excellent slice of primative style garage rock with amps cranked up to 11. Joanne mixes Santana like funk with some scorching Hendrix style guitars; while May queen is more progressive in style and is probably what Yes would've sounded like had they originated from Africa. There are some other quieter and meditative tracks on the album, like Obedience and the lifting Bourne On the Solar Wind for example.Finally, I must give a merry sounding tune titled The Demon Trucker a mention. Believe it or not, this was chosen for a single release. As Jade Warrior are hardly the sort of act to have a hit of any kind, it unfortunately, but quite naturally failed to chart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Definitely the earlier albums are better to me.only listened once to this & put it on the pile...keep or charity shop?mmm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Always loved this one. Total contrasts that no band would risk but it still works somehow. Really nice repaching too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Another load of boring old crap!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)