Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama to Savour
When I heard that HBO were going to do a period piece about gangsters set in the prohibition era, a kind of Sopranos in spats, it was one of those ideas that was so good you wonder why it hadn't been done before.

Well the wait was worth it as this is adult entertainment at its finest. What you have is a multilayered sprawling epic about prohibition era Atlantic...
Published on 5 April 2011 by J. Duducu

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, Not that Bad
I love series like Breaking Bad, Wire, etc .... but this one is Average. The 1920s world it represents is a little alien and cold.

By that I mean the main boardwalk and sets are little too closed off - as if the series couldn't afford some sweeping vistas of the prohibition era chicago and atlantic city. And you just don't care for most of the characters - I...
Published 16 months ago by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama to Savour, 5 April 2011
By 
J. Duducu (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
When I heard that HBO were going to do a period piece about gangsters set in the prohibition era, a kind of Sopranos in spats, it was one of those ideas that was so good you wonder why it hadn't been done before.

Well the wait was worth it as this is adult entertainment at its finest. What you have is a multilayered sprawling epic about prohibition era Atlantic City. At the centre of the story is Steve Buscemi's "Nucky" Thompson a corrupt politician (rather than gangster) who has his brother as the local sheriff and his fingers in all the city's pies.

Nothing is perfect so if there's one grumble the period detail is a little too perfect. Every room, even the run down ones, seem to be dressed to within an inch of their lives and I am not sure anywhere was quite that pristine outside of a lab.

This is a character piece so the emphasis is on characterisation rather than action but that's not to say that there aren't wonderful action set pieces too overall though it's the three dimensional characters that makes it breath. There's the ice cold boot legger Chalky White (Omar from the Wire) a terrifying prohibition officer Agent Nelson all fire, brimstone and a simmering self loathing of his own weaknesses.

There are also great female roles such Margaret Schroeder the Irish immigrant who discovers her own inner strengths at the same time the viewers do and Gillian the most complex grandmother you are likely to come across.

There is a veritable rogue's gallery in the show who are all more unusual than the usual ciphers you get in the average TV shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning!, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was not at all interested in watching Boardwalk Empire as I thought it would not appeal to me and that I wouldn't like it. How wrong I was...
This fantastic first season is filled with an excellent cast who play some fantastic characters in a deep and encapsulating story that deals with booze, money, politics, sex, lies, family histories and everything else in between! I recommend Boardwalk Empire Season 1 as it is a fantastic demonstration of what the Film/TV industry still has to offer! I also recommend buying Season 2 as it is equally as good as (if not better) Season 1 and definitely worth the money and time that will be spent watching this sublime television series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Boardwalk Empire is a breath-taking series. Over the years, I have tended to avoid the vast majority of US tv series. However, when I read the provenance of this one I was intrigued - and when I commenced watching, hooked. The period detail is sumptuous, the casting phenomenal - but it is the story structure, how the protagonists relate to each other, that is 'four dimensional'. This series is so Shakespearean; I keep referring, in my mind, to Shakespeare's plays as I watch it, as I see the inclusion of so many characterisations and plots from them...
This is a superlative series. Undoubtedly, for adults to watch - unreserved recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Roaring Twenties, 11 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Prohibition and votes for women. I never linked the two before I saw this absorbing, clever show. It is suggested that women brought about Prohibition through Temperance Leagues for various reasons including ending poverty, hunger, domestic violence and gaining the vote.
There is much to be learnt here. We in the UK don't really here much about American involvement in World War One. Yet there are men shockingly disfigured and traumatised by their experience. Men that could never fit back into society, much like Vietnam vets. Some find a place in the underworld which blossomed with Prohibition.
Religion and race are examined and, of course, politics. It is a corrupt man's world with fat cats scratching each others backs.
So the breadth and depth of this series is what makes similar TV series more rewarding than a movie ever can be. With 12 hours you can build characters and plots to immersive and absorbing levels. I believe that we are seeing a phenomenon arising where people form such attachments to characters in movies that the sequel and part III are not enough. HBO recognizes this and is at the forefront of providing the remedy with 5 seasons of The Wire for example. Five seasons of The Wire AND IT WAS STILL NOT ENOUGH!
The most expensive TV ever does not actually guarantee quality, but, trust me - here it works. The Boardwalk of Atlantic City is resurrected with CGI and glorious sets and costumes. Steve Buscemi is delightful as a damaged but clever and generous man who sees life for what it is. Or is he a cold calculating murderer? You decide.
So, I would humbly suggest that you get on board this elevator at ground level and see where it takes you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jersey Coast, 17 Sep 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
'Boardwalk Empire' was created by Terence Winter. The star of the series is Steve Buscemi, who played Tony Soprano’s cousin, and he directed several episodes of 'The Sopranos'. Martin Scorsese, is the show’s co-executive producer. Steve Buscemi comes alive as Nucky, a larger-than-life, con man, who controls Atlantic City like a Mafia boss, with his sorted array of henchmen. Mucky does some good but it is all funded by corruption.

Atlantic City, at the beginning of Prohibition, and women are about to gain the right to vote. Mucky is the crime boss in his city, and it is his job to keep it safe from the rest of the mobsters. Jimmy Darmody, played by Michael Pitt is a protégé of Nucky's, and Al Capone, played by Stephen Graham, is an up and coming mobster. Alcohol and gunfights a plenty, women of all kinds flock to Atlantic City and Nucky.

The settings are glorious, the clothes and cars authentic, and it all adds up to one of the best shows on the air.

Recommended. prisrob 09-16-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addictive and brilliant, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is a great DVD, everything about Boardwalk Empire is brilliant, the twisty plot development, the characters, the style, and the acting (Buscemi is great) highly recomended and can't wait for season 2 on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boardwalk Empire - box set, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Couldn't get this series on my TV so the wait for this DVD set was well worth it.
Excellent in every way, casting, settings, directing, costuming, etc., etc. Some might say the dialogue was a bit too ************* but those were days of prohibition.
Right, now to have another browse through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boardwall empire, 8 July 2012
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Very watchable HBO series set in the prohibition era of Atlantic city. It is stopped on organised crime, with the main Irish American characters playing out there story alongside the forerunners of the Italian mafia from Chicago (an early Al Copone) and New Work.

Expect politicsl corruption, violence and sexual references and scenes, but also the human side to complex relationships and a reference to adjusting to life post WW1. Allthough the series can be seen to be fairly slow going at timed this reflects consistent character development akin to that of the sopranos (expect characters that you learn to love to hate)

In summary a thoroughly enjoyable series that both myself and partner enjoyed, who doesn't normally like these types of films. I would recommend watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series., 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I am mid-way through the second series and still loving it. Some parts can appear a little slow, but the story is well thought out and structured and the characters are strongly played, Stevce Buscemi is incredible but is supported by an excellent cast. I look forward to the next episode each week, immersive and realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 6 Feb 2012
Attention to detail, gradual character development, quality actors, subtle direction, sex and violence only when it is essential for the plot/sub-plot, historical accuracy, magnificent suspense - phrases which all in equal measure accurately describe this masterpiece from the writers [and some actors] from The Sopranos, skillfully directed by Martin Scorcese. Quite simply, the very best television is being made, censorship-free, on HBO these days and this is right up there with The Wire, The Sopranos and.....Spartacus! Just buy this Blu-Ray box set and prepare for 12 eposodes of sheer brilliance. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cc24d4)

This product

Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012]
Boardwalk Empire - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] by Terence Winter (DVD - 2012)
11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews