Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great short story
This is a relatively short book of only 162 pages but is well written in the dialogue of a 16yr old girl- Angel Favorite who has been brutally attacked.

Angel and her older brother Jason live with their grandmother who dislikes their unsucessful song writing rock-band father, blaming him for the disappearence five years earlier of Angel and Jasons mother Laura...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Mrs. Gail Brewster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy YA read that doesn't challenge the brain too much!
This is not a very long book with short chapters and that means you easily find yourself racing through to its conclusion; a couple of hours on an afternoon would soon see it finished! It is a YA read and I think the voice of Angie comes across well but I felt the second half of the book was too predictable for anyone who is used to crime/mystery books.
There are...
Published on 23 May 2011 by Arkgirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great short story, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. Gail Brewster (Doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a relatively short book of only 162 pages but is well written in the dialogue of a 16yr old girl- Angel Favorite who has been brutally attacked.

Angel and her older brother Jason live with their grandmother who dislikes their unsucessful song writing rock-band father, blaming him for the disappearence five years earlier of Angel and Jasons mother Laura who vanished without trace on Angels eleventh birthday.

The author cleverly draws you into Angels predicament and feelings of frustration and sadness of not knowing what happened to her mother. You want to find out what's going to happen next especially when Angel is invited to her attackers home by his mother; a rather sinister Mrs Bittner - What secrets is she hiding and why does she want to stop Angel from going home.

The only critisism I have is that the author could have padded the story out a bit more and the ending seemed to be a bit rushed. But all in all a very enjoyable and beliveable read well suited to teenage readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 7 April 2011
By 
D. Pearce "djarmhp" (rainham, kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a sense in which the storyline seems very familiar. A girl looking for her mother appears in many stories, as does the creepy house with the enigmatic owner. However, the elements here are put together with such verve that it is impossible not to get caught up in the enthusiasm of the writer. The story starts off quickly and doesn't let up. In fact, by the end you are turning the pages in a blur as every page brings a new danger or revelation. The hero, Angel, is totally sympathetic and you find yourself worrying for her as the end of the book gets closer. I loved it and recommend it to anyone who wants a quick, easy but ultimately satisfying read. Well done Amazon Encore for introducing me to Karen McQuestion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 Mar 2011
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although this is classed as a 'young adult' book (and I'm 46!), I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story is is about a girl, Angel Favourite, whose life was turned upside down five years ago, when her mother disappeared. She never stops hoping and praying that her Mum will be found, and life gets even worse when she is attacked by a man in a parking lot, who subsequently kills himself while awaiting trial. She feels that she has been cheated as he will go unpunished, and when his mother contacts her, Angel feels compelled to meet with her and see what she has to say.

The story from then on takes many surprising twists and turns, and really keeps the reader turning the pages. The story is original, the characters all believable, and (best of all) I didn't guess what was going on at all, so the finale is quite a shock/surprise.

Please don't just leave this one to the young adults - everyone can enjoy this enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 3 April 2011
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is for teenagers but I thoroughly enjoyed ( though I am quite far away from my teenage years).It tells the story of Angel favorite who's mother disappeared on her 11th birthday.5 years on she is getting on with her life, living with her grandmother and brother Jason, as her dad is always travelling away trying to become a rock star.

Angels life is 'bobbing' along nicely until one day she is attacked and the man responsible takes his own life whilst waiting for his trial. She is left physically and mentally traumatized but tries to move on with the help of her family until one day she receives a letter from her attackers mother and after much soul searching decides to visit her. She hope to get answers from her but it starts Angie on a journey which nobody could have predicted.

Well written, the ending of the story was not transparent so was a total surprise..

Well worth a read. (not just for young adults)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read for teens., 16 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. Bryony A. Shaw "joltek" (Ely, Cambs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to admit I really enjoyed this and I think it's a perfect read for kids in the 13-17 age bracket.

Laura Favourite's mum disappears without a trace on an ordinary school day and after 5 years most have given up hope of ever finding her. 16 year old Laura has never truly accepted her mum's absence and when a man tries to grab her on the street and tells her he has to show her, a chain of events is started that leads her to unexpected consequences.

As an adult reader there's not quite enough depth to the story and it feels a little corny with the spooky house and rich old lady but I think that the intended young adult reader will enjoy these themes and find it spooky without being too scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy YA read that doesn't challenge the brain too much!, 23 May 2011
By 
Arkgirl (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is not a very long book with short chapters and that means you easily find yourself racing through to its conclusion; a couple of hours on an afternoon would soon see it finished! It is a YA read and I think the voice of Angie comes across well but I felt the second half of the book was too predictable for anyone who is used to crime/mystery books.
There are parts of the book that do have an almost filmic quality and it is very easy to visualise the building tension if you have seen any teenage horror films. A good holiday read for a teen who likes horror/mystery and passed a pleasant afternoon but not challenging enough to have me racing to buy McQuestion's next books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a lazy summer afternoon, 23 May 2011
By 
Sue C. (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At 162 pages, this isn't the longest novel, nor is it the most challenging plot, but it does provide a good read for a lazy summer afternoon. It isn't hugely challenging - I had worked out the ending before I got there, but even so, did enjoy the book. Karen McQuestion sets the scene skillfully, with good characterisation, but the ending was just a little too 'neat'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for young adults, 20 May 2011
By 
Jax (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed this book, even though I chose it by mistake!! Written for young adults I think, but I couldn't put it down. It's well paced, well written and the characters are well crafted. Laura Favorite, Angie's mother goes missing and five years later Angie is attacked, seemingly a random event by a stranger. This attack, which isn't random, leads to a series of events that that become increasingly dark and there is at least one twist in the tail. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, 13 May 2011
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is Karen McQuestion's second novel, she originally was a very succesful self-published author and was given a deal by the Amazonencore programme. 'Favorite' is a short (just over 160 pages) novel aimed at the Young Adult market.

The premise for the story is great, the blurb is enticing and my expectations were high. I found it a very easy to read book, with a pretty straightforward plot line, but could have been much better developed. The story centres on Angie - a sixteen year old girl who is attacked randomly in the street. Angi's mother disappeared without a trace, five years ago, on Angi's 11th birthday and this has obviously affected her and her brother Jason very much.

So, there is a little background, then the attack and then Angi wakes up in hospital. We are gradually introduced to the other characters - brother Jason, wayward Dad and loving Grandma. Angi then receives a letter from her attacker's mother - and, quite strangly, she agrees to meet her.

From then on the story becomes pretty unbelieveable and the writing takes a turn for the worse. Angi and Jason and perfectly, perfect All-American kids who wander into the house of a perfectly weird All-American psycho - to be honest it reads much like the 'teen horror' films that were really popular in the late 80s.

Young adults will probably enjoy the story, but in my opinion there are far far better authors of YA literature out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing with plenty of twists., 8 May 2011
By 
S. J. Hughes "imcpu2" (Portsmouth England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favorite (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Angel Favorite is left bemused when aged 11 her mother mysteriously disappears, her life is changed forever. Angel and her brother go to live with her grandmother while her father a member of a rock band goes on the road
5 years later when she is attacked she ends up unconscious in hospital. The story unfolds as she tries to make a recovery. One morning a letter arrives in the post from Mrs Bittner the mother of her attacker. She reluctantly agrees to meet her. The uneasy feeling she has about this woman proves to be right when Mrs Bittners grandson warns her not to trust the old lady.
This story has lots of twists and turns, however they were not unexpected as I found myself one step ahead of the plot and was able to work out the ending. However this did not deter me from reading on as it was a very easy book to read and it has a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Favorite
Favorite by Karen McQuestion
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews