Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute to a Legend - but get the DVD instead of the CD
Just finished watching this and, having hearing some of the many bootlegs from the Devil You Tour, it is a welcome official release...and a fitting tribute to the legendary RJD.
Some nice camera work - especially the overhead shots of Vinny - and shots from left, front and centre gives the whole band an equal presence on stage...it is incredible to actually see what...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by Mr. Ian T. Taylor

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
Just trying to cut through the sentimental hoo-hah that surrounds this product - that Dio, Iommi, Appice & Butler reunited was A1 (only to be surpassed if Tony Martin was brought on board) - my gripe/cause for stars to be deducted is, to my ears, the painfully obvious distraction that Iommi is not the only guitarist playing (either live or in post-production). Either...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Reg Dawson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute to a Legend - but get the DVD instead of the CD, 20 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Just finished watching this and, having hearing some of the many bootlegs from the Devil You Tour, it is a welcome official release...and a fitting tribute to the legendary RJD.
Some nice camera work - especially the overhead shots of Vinny - and shots from left, front and centre gives the whole band an equal presence on stage...it is incredible to actually see what a 'busy' bass guitarist Geezer actually is and the relaxed way Tony Iommi grinds the riffs out...and it seemed that Ronnie even owned that piece of Wacken that night...the 19 minute Heaven and Hell actually had me spellbound.
The whole concert runs for 87 mins...hence my reason for buying the DVD and not the CD & I would not normally have done this (I don't get the time to watch DVDs) but, being a bit of a completist, I had to have the whole set...so I could decide what 7 mins to edit off to get it onto one CD (there is at least 7 minutes worth of crowd noise & drum solo to edit out so the CD can have had all of the music)
I have not heard the CD but from the track listings they seemed to have missed off Country Girl which is a minute or so prelude into Neon Nights which, when first heard, was a superb combination.
Apart from the complete concert...the DVD has each band member being interviewed (on their own) talking candidly about how it all happened, their favourite tracks, the break ups, the getting back togethers...and the feeling that this time - under the name of Heaven & Hell(probably without the weight and expectations of the Black Sabbath name)it felt better good again.....Vinny even goes onto hint that there is an even better album to come out of them...but sadly that was not to happen.
Where do they go from here???...according to his website Tony Iommi is demoing some material and I do hope that they continue - with Jorn Lande maybe? I'm sure Ronnie would have wanted it to continue and not leave the Heaven & Hell story here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Astonishing Performance, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Dr. Lyndon Smith (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD provides about 90 minutes of top of the range hard rock, from the masters who invented the `heavy metal' genre. Ronnie James Dio - the greatest voice in rock and possibly any kind of music - a talent that will be sadly missed. Tony Iommi - a highly innovative guitarist who has produced some of the heaviest riffs of all time. Geezer Butler - a truly great bass player. Vinny Appice - prefect drumming - although different in style, as good as Bill Ward. The only track I wish they had included is `Lonely is The Word'; since Iommi is able to play this live in a very impressive and heavy fashion - an improvement on the studio version (if such a thing were possible). Students of rock guitar should study Iommi's introduction to `Die Young' on this DVD. Regarding the fast section of `Heaven and Hell', this starts with a perfect drum beat from Vinny, followed by a great bass guitar from Geezer; and then Iommi comes in with a truly incredible lead guitar part. The DVD illustrates well how impressive a strong hard rock performance can be; and is a fitting tribute to the late, great Dio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Way To Leave A Legacy, 13 Nov 2010
By 
S. Thomas "ski3n" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Just finished watching this dvd and got to say it,s bloody awesome. Everything about this dvd is top draw, the picture,sound and the total running time is just a mere 150 mins long and what an awesome fitting legacy to leave for the LEGEND who is and always will be Ronnie James Dio!

Only an handful of singers get the honor to play in a top band but Ronnie played in Rainbow,Sabbath,Dio and Heaven & Hell!

RJD may be gone but he will NEVER BE FORGOTTEN!

!Rainbow In The Dark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heaven and hell:neon nights live at wacken 2009., 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
with so many rip off review dvds of sabbath around,its good to have a live performance of one of the greatest rock bands of all time.in front of a massive audiance,the power of this band shines through.god rest you ronnie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath Bloody Sabbath!!, 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I saw the lineup of Black Sabbath with the late and lamented Ronnie James DiO in 1981. I didn't think they would achive the same greatness so many years later. Their Dehumaniser album was a disappointment in the 1990s but this comeback tour works because of the great atmopshere on the stage and in the audience. The band are older and they look it,, but the music is still young. This is powerful and good fun. If you saw Black Sabbath in their day you will still enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wacken and Hell - the farewell of a legend, 29 Jan 2011
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
As many have noted, this dvd is the swansong of the band Heaven and Hell, and with it, one of the last performances of a much beloved metal god - the one and only Ronnie James Dio.

Recorded at the prestigious Wacken open air festival, Heaven and Hell (Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Ronnie James Dio, Vinny Appice and guest keyboardist Scott Warren), play to a very vocal crowd, playing songs from their time together.

Ronnie himself is in fine form vocally - and he just seems to miraculously improve with age. Iommi's guitars bristle with power, and Appice and Butler are ever the impressive rhythm section.

There are the classics - Mob Rules, Children of the Sea, Die Young, Heaven and Hell, the relatively unknown - I, Time Machine, and the new - Bible Black, Fear, Follow the Tears.

Does this make up a perfect set?

The short answer is - no, it doesn't.

The songs by and large are powerful and sound great - but the newer songs off The Devil You Know can't match the power of the old - Bible Black is a brilliant cut in the studio - but all those guitar parts in the song on studio bring down the quality of the song live - though the song is powerful, a case of less is more isn't true here - and Warren's keyboards pop up in parts where they're not required and spoil the power of the song.

Fear is the best of the new songs played live, but it was a song I wasn't really a fan of on the album to start with, and would have probably preferred Atom and Evil or Breaking into Heaven in it's stead.

Follow the Tears is abominably powerful live - excellent choice of song for the set - but why the effect on Ronnie's vocals in the chorus? I want to hear Ronnie James Dio singing, not Ronnie and a bloody chipmunk!

And although Country Girl is represented, it is not the full song - just a few bars and then into Neon Knights - and given Country Girl is one of my favourite Mob Rules songs, I find that criminal, as it is a rarely played live cut, whereas Neon Knights has been a staple for years.

I am also disappointed that there is less of Dehumanizer (where's Letters from Earth and Computer God?)and that Shadows of the Wind wasn't played as well, but overall, it is a solid retrospective of the Ronnie James Dio years with Black Sabbath/Heaven and Hell, and his loss will only make his vital contribution to the world of music all the more thanked for.

Extras include a short farewell from Ronnie's bandmates (sadly minus Scott Warren who although not an official member of Heaven and Hell, was an official member of Dio), and interviews of the four main members of H&H, about the 30 year history of the band and the highs and lows.

(Ronnie and Tony's interviews in particular are a delight to listen to - don't miss them).

This is a great DVD to get, but even though it has new live songs on it, the previous Heaven and Hell dvd - Live at Radio City Music Hall is better, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mob Rules One Last Time, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Bought the DVD as it has the entire concert (the cd doesn't). It is worth every penny. This really blows away the Radio City DVD. This is a band going for it at a Festival, hard, fast and raw about the edges. Amazing to think of when three of the band are over sixty. There is a lot more interaction evident than on the Radio City DVD. Tony Iommi, post his arm operation really goes for it, watch Die Young, and Heaven and Hell for a lesson in rock guitar. The mix allows you to see Geezer and Vinnie working like trojans to deliver that awesome rythmn section. Any bass guitarist should watch this as a masterclass, any lead guitarist should watch, this is what a REAL bass guitar is about.
Ronnie is in great form, the audience are in his hand though he messes up a few lines and seems a bit breathless. Hindsight makes you wonder what he or the band knew about his state of health with Tony following him about the stage more than I can recall from other live gigs. As ever Heaven and Hell is the centrepiece and this is a longer version than Radio City, (though Birmingham UK tops this at about 32 minutes long)and more like Wicked World with Geezer following the entire solo. Ronnie suddenly throws in 'It's all crap!' toward the end of the song, which just makes you wonder....
Buy it, it's worth every penny and should be 'Live DVD of 2009'
A fitting tribute to Mr Dio.
It's Heaven and Hell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Metal Masters, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
What can i say...The metal Masters at their Best.

Believe me when i say, i am a music nut since the age of ten...Sir Iommi has always been an idol of mine and when he teamed up with Sir Dio in the Sabbath days my life was complete.

This dvd is an absolute must for any rock music fan, this is true musicionship at its best.

I cannot put into words how good this dvd is..you must buy it enjoy it and cherish it for we will never see the likes of the incredible Ronnie James Dio again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dio is superb and Iommie and Butler are at their best as is Appich on drums, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Here is Black Sabbath (later to be known as Heaven and Hell) Mk 2 line up at their headlining appearance at the Wacken music festival. Dio is superb and Iommie and Butler are at their best as is Appich on drums. If you were lucky enough to see them live this will bring back fond memories of one of the greatest line ups a band ever had. There is something from all 3 albums they recorded together and the reaction from the crowd shows they knew they were seeing something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful epithaph for metal lovers., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Any serious metal lover should buy this important ephitaph which has inside the essence of metal, played from 3 enormous rock masters. The power, the fluidity of sound and the simple but great rappresentation on stage makes this video a must to have.
Definitive.
Dio rip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neon Nights - Live At Wacken [DVD] [2010] [NTSC]
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews