Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film that started an epic tv and movie universe.
At the time of writing this Marvel has created an intertwining set of media that spans 10 movies and a spin off tv series with many more announced. They have acomplished something no one thought possible by bringing the overlapping comic book universe to the big screen, not only suceeding but doing it seemingly effortlessly and it all started in 2008 with the release of...
Published 9 months ago by FallenGrace

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing how many people are rating the transfer on this one! Should be better!
I'm not going to comment on the actual film, as if you are looking at buying it then chances are you have already seen it! My comments relate to the transfer and picture quality.

I was really looking forward to this movie on Blu-Ray but now I have it I really am amazed at the amount of people saying how awesome the transfer is! As someone else already said,...
Published on 8 May 2010 by Paul F.


‹ Previous | 1 2 352 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be the reference for all other marvel films, 16 July 2009
THE FILM
This is one of the best of the marvel adaptations, from one of the more neglected characters in the marvel universe. I was pleasantly surprised to see all parts of the film cohesively made. Where as spider man had excellent peter parker scenes but dire Spiderman action scenes, and where Xmen and hulk had great action scenes but fairly dry `normal people' scenes, Iron man I felt introduced the right balance, with comedy, serious moments, and actions scenes with real punch.

Robert Downey Jr is perfect in the role, always seemingly smarter and riskier in every single way than the other characters in the movie, and spares the time to crack some spot on jokes. He is convincing as a scientist as well as a playboy and manages to take on both roles convincingly. Gwyneth Paltrow's role was not an amazing one and too be honest many actresses of similar physical build and spoken class could have filled the role. Jeff Bridges was very effective and quite an unreadable character for much of the film.

Plot wise it was all good up until the battle with the final villain who transitioned from a real life kind of bad guy, to the straight up insane comic book bad guy a little too quickly. But arguably this film is about its action scenes and it does not disappoint, the special effects are great in that they might not seem like special effects, just complicated real life shots. The suit of armour is everything it should be, looks wise and equipment wise, featuring all the sorts of gaudy weaponry that it deserves. The only parts of the film where I thought the use of CGI, particularly the animation, weren't up to scratch were the mechanical fitting of his armour which just felt too fake, and the final boss battle which just edged itself out of a realistic presentation.

PRESENTATION
Iron man really is one of those show off films for a Bluray home theatre, it is wonderfully sharp and the facial textures and pores are extremely vivid, made more so by artificially enhancing your TVs sharpness, although this may make the background picture look slightly more grainy. Particular highlights are the desert scenes in the beginning and any of the daytime Iron man scenes, where the metal grain of the suit can look like brushed aluminium, which would never really come across as effectively on Standard Definition. The CGI is superbly believable and immersive, possibly with the exception of the end battle which was probably the weaker part of the film anyway.

The sound is excellent, with your home cinema system booted up there are plenty of ear candy moments, from the test firing of the missile system to the time he takes out the enemies version of it, but the whole movie is generally spot on. The music sound track is also extra well done, with the guitar used to back up many scenes giving the impression that Tony Stark really is a rock star in his field.

CONCLUSION
Overall this is a great film even for those who struggle to like such non real life style films, as this one is mostly done with a maintained realism and effects base. The action is coruscating and boldly impressive, and the viewing experience is further intensified by the almost immaculate presentation of the picture and sound on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MY NAME IS 'TONY STARK' - I AM IRON-MAN', 4 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
I had read glowing reviews for this film when 'cinema' release occurred
I wasn't sure that there was a space for another super-hero movie at
the time, however, I was wrong the reviews were right.
The film shows an arrogant / playboy tycoon realize, during capture that his 'weapons' company only caused death and misery and not the deterrent he'd always believed it to be, a genius of design and engineering builds an 'iron' electronic and weapon bound outfit to escape.
Good idea ? When back in his own environment he perfects the outfit and becomes the super-hero 'Iron Man'
This film has it's dark side, which seems to be the trend, great hi-tech movies and superb special-effects.
It's a brilliant film which is obviously more enjoyable on this H-D format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where the Marvel Cinematic Universe began and though Iron Man 3 is much better this is classic Marvel,contains spoilers., 29 April 2015
We are now on Avengers:Age Of Ultron and have the likes of Ant Man,Doctor Strange and Captain America:Civil War on the way and they all as well as many other superb movies have Iron Man to thank for such a strong cinematic universe.This first movie in the MCU is a breath of fresh air with a actor becoming a superstar in the leading role as well as having a terrific supporting cast,awesome action,enjoyable fun filled tone and the genuine feel of a comic book come to life and a little known character becoming the main player in the Avengers team.

Playboy billionaire,inventor and owner of Stark Industries Tony Stark(just near perfect Robert Downey Jr)son of fellow genius Howard Stark gets ambushed in Afghanistan by a terrorist group known as The Ten Rings(who are employed by a famous villain) when coming back from a demonstration for a missile test.As he is held captive along with Yinsen who helps him by putting a electromagnet in his chest which saves his life from shrapnel,the terrorists are trying to get them to build one of the missiles that Tony was demonstrating but instead secretly build a suit of armor with which Stark will use against the villains along with a reactor to power the magnet but after finding out whats going on the terrorists attack them both but Yinsen helps Tony get in the suit and Stark takes out the bad guys though Yinsen sacrifices himself to help Tony.
After his experience Tony decides to rebuild the suit and use it to help others and stop other villains from hurting people but after shutting down other plans to manufacture weapons his business manager Obadiah Stane(big name star Jeff Bridges)thinks this is a bad idea and starts plotting Stark's downfall and plans to get power of the company in his favor and wants a suit of his own.
With Stane wanting to take over and destroy Stark in his own suit the Iron Monger can Tony with the help of loyal assistant and love interest Pepper Potts(stunning Gwyneth Paltrow),friend and army colonel James 'Rhodey' Rhodes(Terrence Howard)and AI system J.A.R.V.I.S.(Paul Bettany)bring down Stane's Monger before he destroys his life and business.

This is a origin story and a bit like Batman Begins it takes a bit to get going but once out of the cave this becomes a action packed experience with Tony soon flying round in his newly updated red and gold suit and when he is getting first into it there are some very funny scenes and his prized cars get the brunt of the damage before he goes on his first mission to bring down more bad guys and saves a small village close to where he was captive.This is Downey Jr's show and without this movie who knows where he would be and we have a confident but very lovable hero who is always cracking a joke and enjoying himself.I like how after what happened to him he changes his way of thinking using his money to help those and though still stuck up to some is a rich guy trying to do good.Robert is the perfect choice for Stark as he himself had a hard time in the limelight and like Tony managed to change his ways and do good with his life,he is wonderful in this and always has a quip to help him along and a smile on his face which often irritates Potts and Rhodes as he puts himself in danger a bit too much,i just love how he just wants a cheeseburger after his ordeal and its that tone that makes this film zip along even though it not once is camp it does it without being over the top.Downey Jr's Stark may come across as cocky at times but is a hero of the super kind even if he isn't a superhero till he puts the suit on,he is already one of my favorite actors and i cannot imagine Iron Man or The Avengers with Downey Jr as its one of the finest casting choices ever.

The rest of the cast though excellent can be wasted at times none so more than Jeff Bridges who like other IM bad guys are not given enough time to showcase themselves and feel like Whiplash from IM2 he isn't the most interesting villain Marvel has produced,thats not to say Bridges isn't good as he is a powerful actor but feel is wasted in this,i also feel he verges on a over the top take over the world type villain and this film needs a more grounded bad guy,leave this type of villain for the Avenger or Thor movies,a top actor with a real presence and says his lines with real authority but wasted for me and the Iron Monger finale is a bit silly.
Gwyneth Paltrow on the other hand is quite possibly the best superhero love interest to date and she truly is a stunning woman who looks incredible and the best scenes in the film are with her Potts and Downey's Stark and their will they won't they vibe is lovely and just love how she tries to stay normal even when Tony is doing something dangerous and outrageous,its also nice to see her cracking a smile and jokes after many of her straight roles and after being wasted in future IM movies she just excels in this first movie.
Terrence Howard is a bit hit and miss and like Bridges can be wasted as Rhodey but makes his scenes count but do believe actor Don Cheadle was better suited to the role as i could never see Howard as War Machine and wonder if the plan was to replace him future films.
Other actors make their mark like the films maker Jon Favreau as Stark's bodyguard Happy Hogan who like any Favreau character is always funny and lights up any scene.We also have Paul Bettany as Alfred in a AI J.A.R.V.I.S who though is only heard is excellent and gets Stark out of many a sticky situation(check him out as The Vision in Age Of Ultron).Finally we have movie icon Samuel L Jackson as S.H.I.E.L.D. director Nick Fury in a post credits scene and Clark Gregg as a agent of the same company and though they have very small roles(Jackson especially)they really do make an impact and sets up future movies and makes any fan of the Marvel universe like myself very happy to see the wheels in motion.Just want to say check out head honcho Stan Lee's Hugh Hefner type cameo moment.

The action and set pieces though slow in coming zip along when they arrive and we have a top moment to start the film as Stark is ambushed by the bad guys when the cars are blown in the air.Other memorable things are when Stark is flying round for the first time and makes a mess of his house and quips'yeah i can fly',or scenes with Pepper where humor is coming think and fast and she has a quip too saying he has a heart when she sends him a arc reactor,the scenes in the cave with the first suit and then the suit we all know in the desert later on are brilliant and action packed as Tony makes quick work of bad guys even throwing one to the villagers to get their own back,the scenes too with Iron Man flying through the skies and by planes are great on the eye.The finale though spectacular is a bit of a let down after some of the other thrilling moments as strangely it seems to drag but at the same time be over without much happening and just wasn't a fan of Iron Monger as i felt him a fat version of Iron Man and beaten too easily,its the weakest finale of the trilogy.I would of loved to see Rhodey become War Machine too but like i said i reckon they were replacing Howard after this for the more action suited Cheadle.

I don't have many negatives but here is a few like Bridges was wasted and not the best baddie,Howard good but not great,the finale was a bit plodding after some epic action before hand,the origin was a bit slow to start with and would of loved to see more J.A.R.V.I.S..

This though is the perfect way to introduce this awesome character and start this incredible cinematic journey that has brought so many superb characters and films to audiences and as a solo movie its up there with the best with a actor simply born to play Tony Stark in Robert Downey Jr and a beautiful and brilliant lady in Paltrow by his side with a director at the top of his game bringing a little known comic book to life and making Iron Man a superstar creation with some outstanding action,sound and special effects.Its hard to imagine early choices for Stark were Tom Cruise and Nicolas Cage,though great talents i can't see them playing Tony like Robert does,not many actors were born for their roles but he is for damn sure.

He is Tony Stark,he is Iron Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Movie that Kicked Off the MCU! It's a Good One!, 16 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
Tony Stark has it all: money, women, fame, and little regard for anyone else but himself, but when he’s kidnapped by a terrorist group known as the Ten Rings, everything changes and he soon finds himself with a car battery connected to a magnet in his chest. Tiny bits of shrapnel from the blast that led to his capture are slowly making their way to his heart and the magnet is keeping them at bay.

The Ten Rings want him to build them a weapon and Tony knows that if he does, the world will fall into the terrorists’ hands. He needs to find a way to escape and to do so he must create something more than just the weapon the Ten Rings wanted him to.

After inventing a metal suit with some crude weaponry, he manages to escape the Ten Rings’ lair and return to the world as a new man. Taking his iron suit discovery to a whole new level, he becomes Iron Man and sets to right the wrongs of his past and ensure that the terrorists who tried to enslave him won’t do so to anyone else.

Iron Man is a thrill ride you don’t want to miss!

There’s something about origin stories that I have an extreme soft spot for and Iron Man is near perfect in that regard. Given that Iron Man is a “human hero with no powers” ala Batman and it’s his suit which gives him his abilities, he becomes instantly relatable (well, okay, maybe not one hundred percent as I’m not a billionaire, playboy, philanthropist like him), but I’m on the journey of life like Tony with my own share of pain and turning points. The movie’s pacing is bang on and progresses “as if this really happened,” which is a huge plus for a superhero movie. (I’m a fan of super flicks that come from the angle, “If this happened tomorrow, this is how it’d most likely play out.” My own superhero series, The Axiom-man Saga, is based on that premise.)

The Iron Man armor looks amazing and real, which is a big deal because most of it is CGI. I’m glad they were able to create real-looking metal armor that didn’t look totally fake. Likewise, to see the progression from the oh-so-crude Mark One armor all the way up the Mark Three was cool.

The rest of the special effects were out-of-sight, especially the ultrasonic flying sequences. Looking at the world from Tony’s perspective inside the suit put you in his shoes—in his armor—and made you feel like you were Iron Man along with him.

This flick also boasts a killer soundtrack and score that gets you pumped.

Let’s see . . .

Robert Downey Jr. is Tony Stark. Right from the first scene he lets you know who he is and what he believes in: himself. This carries throughout the rest of the film, but he also does a good job of becoming a changed man as the story goes on and the Tony we meet in the beginning of the movie is different from the one at the end. A lot of actors who are on supposed journeys during a story don’t pull that off and usually come across as the same guy from start to finish.

Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts is dynamite. She’s strong, witty and is one of the few people who can go toe-to-toe with Tony’s narcissistic personality. Excellent casting for this role.

Iron Man was the stepping off point for Marvel’s Phase One, which would later culminate in The Avengers. I don’t think at the time anyone knew that Iron Man—who back then wasn’t really known outside of the comic book community—would become such the massive hit it was, the franchise growing bigger and bigger with each outing.

But I can see why. This movie is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not very super, but quite heroic!, 9 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
‘Iron Man’ is the surprise superhero hit from Marvel Studios which charts the tale of billionaire weapons manufacturer, Tony Stark, to the flying metal superhero ‘Iron Man.’ It seemed that, despite its impressive budget, no one quite imagined this lesser (when compared with the more famous – and bankable – superheroes such as Spiderman, Batman and Superman) hero to become quite as bigger box office draw as it turned out. And it definitely isn’t ‘wall-to-wall action’ which drew the crowds in.

To be honest, there isn’t an awful lot of ‘Iron Man’ in Iron Man the movie. Our hero, Tony Stark (expertly played by Robert Downey Jr) only gets inside his costume about three times in a two hour movie. Therefore, don’t expect a load of ‘Michael Bay-style’ explosions every few minutes.

You have to get the ‘origins’ side of Iron Man out of the way here, showing how he transgresses from playboy billionaire to concerned citizen, prepared to put his life on the limb to save the world. So a lot of the story is taken up with HOW he becomes the titular character.

However, don’t let any lack of action fool you into thinking this isn’t going to be one hell of a ride. Somehow, everything just works and the two hours fly by faster than Iron Man outrunning some jet fighters.

You don’t have to love comic books or superheroes to appreciate that this is a really fun film. It’s nowhere near as dark as Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy and sticks to its upbeat and colourful comic book roots. It’s a great popcorn film for all the family and even having Gwyneth Paltrow in it doesn’t detract from the fun element *miaow!*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Clad Brilliance, 7 Oct. 2012
I had not been overally impressed with comic book movies up till this point. With the exception of the re started Batman franchise which is teriffic I hadn't really seen anything that had impressed me too much. Spiderman was ok and the Fantastic Four was watchable but at this point I would have gone by Xmen or Dare Devil as the best of the bunch.
After the end of the Incredible Hulk we were briefly introduced to Tony Starke brilliantly played by the amazing Rober Downey Jnr. and from that point I was looking forward to Iron Man. The movie itself tells the the tale of a weapons manufacturer who is basically kidnapped and forced to create a weopon for his capture's. Obviously he does not and escapes with the aid of the armour he creates from the spare parts.
Once back home he refines his prototype and the iconic Iron Man is created to amazing effect. Special effects are amazing and raise the bar as for what can be done in movies. The flight scenes are awsome and partly done by George Lucas's ILM company one thing they do very well. The battle scenes are brilliant and through all the effcts and franetic pace one thing remains constant the cast.
Robert Downey Jnr. is Tony Starke/Iron Man he is truly a brilliant character actor and cover all sides of the complex Starke. From anger to wise cracks he truly is great. The supporting cast of Gwyneth Paltrow and Jeff Bridges are also on point and the movie is practically faultless. Better still is that this is the beginning of something bigger as the after credits introduce another Marvel charcter Samuel L Jackson's Nick Fury and the journey to the Avenger's begins.
In closing this was the movie that turned the tide for marvel studios. With Spiderman and Xmen liscensed out to other studios Marvel and Disney needed something big and Iron Man is it. Watch it and you wont be dissapointed and at the end you will want to be Iron Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Blu Ray, 4 Sept. 2010
This is probably the best superhero film if not the best film I have ever seen, and that's saying something as I'm a huge superhero and film fan. I was excited about this film before I even saw the trailers and despite it looking amazing I had my doubts it would be able to surpass the Spidey movies... I was wrong.
The plot is a perfect modernised origin story for Iron Man, with perfect pacing, brilliant set pieces and believable characters. The action scenes are brilliant and I liked the way the "supervillain" was slowly and gradually developed before the big payoff in the final fight. The scenes of Stark creating his first set of armour and then developing upgraded versions were interesting and humourous.
The acting is perfect with Robert Downey Jr cast perfectly as Tony Stark, having never seen him in anything before I wasn't sure what to expect but whatever expectations I may have had, he exceeded them by miles. He carries off the cocky but very likeable Tony Stark naturally and shows great chemistry with the rest of the cast, with Jeff Bridges playing the bad guy really well, seeming to be chummy to Stark at the beginning and gradually throughout the course of the film becoming more sinister.
The picture quality from the blu ray makes this the perfect film to show off your system with and even some of the features are in HD which is a very nice touch. Watching it in 1080p really shows off the effects and makes the scenes in which Iron Man is either fighting or flying even better and more immersive and strong competition for Transformers. The special features on hand are also impressive, featuring interesting features about the development of the character and the film as well as "The Hall Of Armour" which was a nice addition allowing you to pan around a 3d model of each of the sets of armour used in the film and give details about different parts of them.
All in all it's a very impressive blu ray which everyone should have, with above top quality picture and audio and hours of really interesting features that are all worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant movie!, 3 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic adaptation of the original comic book character, given a very well executed updating. Here we have a character, Tony Stark, that at the start of the movie, lives and works in the shady and sometimes morally questionable world of arms development and supply; and he has reaped the benefits, being an extremely wealthy, playboy type of man.
Then he has, literally, a life changing experience both physically and mentally and in the process learns of the 'dark side' of his own companys' products, he discovers that his weapons are being used against american soldiers. He literally has an epiphany and is disgusted at what he's learnt. He has been captured by enemy forces and is being forced to re-create one of his companys' latest missiles, so with the help of another captive he constructs an exoskeleton 'battle suit'; by using this he is able to fight his way out of the prison caves and camp, destroying stockpiles of weapons his company has created and then escaping into the desert where he is found by an american search party.
On his return home he shocks everyone by announcing that his company will no longer be producing weapons; this causes anger and resentment from someone close to him in the company. Stark secretly begins to construct a new 'battle suit', hugely technologically advanced, with various types of weapons and supersonic flying capability. He wants to hunt down and destroy all Stark weapons in enemy hands, wherever they are, he wants revenge!
Without giving anything further away, I just want to say that this is a BRILLIANT film! Jon Favreau has done a fantastic job with the casting and direction, Robert Downey Jr is simply awesome as Stark, as usual Jeff Bridges is excellent and the usually irritating Gwyneth Paltrow is actually very good.
The Special Effects are amazing, as usual ILM prove they are THE best!
Oh yes, try to keep watching the film after the final credits, I won't say why but it coincides with the end of The Incredible Hulk!
I can't wait for Iron Man 2 next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 19 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film at the cinema after seeing a few trailers that made the film look worth watching. I do not know anything about comic books and to be honest did not realise that this was a Marvel film (I had just assumed it was a regular sci-fi/action film). My first clue to this was when the man serving my popcorn asked me what film I was seeing and went on to tell me how he didn't like Marvel films very much. I think I spent most of the adverts/trailers before the film moaning about how I didn't want to see the film any more, and I certainly would not have considered going to see this had I realised this before buying my ticket!
I am extremely glad that I did not find this out before seeing the film as I enjoyed it so much so that I bought the DVD and have since watched it several times. It is hard to put my finger on what I like so much about this film, perhaps it is the good balance between the action and the story - there is enough action to keep you interested but not so much that it becomes boring at any point.
Whether or not somebody who was already a fan would enjoy it as much I don't know, but as a newcomer to this type of film it is excellent, I have since watched the sequel and the two recent Batman films, none of which I would have ever considered if my preconceptions had got the better of me before I saw this. I would like to be able to go back and tell the man selling popcorn that you don't need to be a Marvel fan to enjoy films like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man, 20 April 2013
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
You know you're going to get a different kind of superhero when you cast Robert Downey Jr. in the lead role. And Iron Man is different, in welcome ways. Cleverly updated from Marvel Comics' longstanding series, Iron Man puts billionaire industrialist Tony Stark (that's Downey) in the path of some Middle Eastern terrorists; in a brilliantly paced section, Stark invents an indestructible suit that allows him to escape. If the rest of the movie never quite hits that precise rhythm again, it nevertheless offers plenty of pleasure, as the renewed Stark swears off his past as a weapons manufacturer, develops his new Iron Man suit, and puzzles both his business partner (Jeff Bridges in great form) and executive assistant (Gwyneth Paltrow). Director Jon Favreau geeks out in fun ways with the hardware, but never lets it overpower the movie, and there's always a goofy one-liner or a slapstick pratfall around to break the tension. As for Downey, he doesn't get to jitterbug around too much in his improv way, but he brings enough of his unpredictable personality to keep the thing fresh. And listen up, hardcore Marvel mavens: even if you know the Stan Lee cameo is coming, you won't be able to guess it until it's on the screen. It all builds to a splendid final scene, with a concluding line delivery by Downey that just feels absolutely right. --Robert Horton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 352 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man [Blu-ray] [2008]
Iron Man [Blu-ray] [2008] by Jon Favreau (Blu-ray - 2010)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews