Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
am happy with my trilogy and the price was really good!
if you get the same price then get it as it's worth it.
Published 6 months ago by lil-Iggs

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the let down
The begining and ong back are great. Ong back 3 is a total let down. No story line, subtitles did not work, action in film zero. This film was made with a 1 pound buget hense the big let down.
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by dezzy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the let down, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The begining and ong back are great. Ong back 3 is a total let down. No story line, subtitles did not work, action in film zero. This film was made with a 1 pound buget hense the big let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best, 4 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. S. Bachra (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
it is a good dvd set but not the best due to parts 2 and 3 not as good as the first but still a good part of a collection for fans of martial arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing trilogy, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Ong-Bak was one of the great action movies of this decade. As a devout follower of Asian Cinema, Tony Jaa managed to reach and even possibly surpass the heights of martial arts action set by Jackie Chan / Sammo Hung / Yuen Biao in the 80's. Both the original Ong-Bak and Warrior King are excellent films which put Tony Jaa at the top of the martial arts movie star ladder.

I saw the second Ong-Bak (The beginning) in mid-2009 and was reasonably entertained but it was still a let down from the original. I approached the third entry in the trilogy and it is a real stinker. I hate to say this, but I hoped for so much more. The action is slow and sporadic and the storyline is so dull that I was continually straining for the FFW button on my remote. I know Tony Jaa had plenty of problems filming the 2nd and 3rd films (triad involvment, near nervous breakdown), but this film really shows he should remain at the front of the camera. As a director he loses perspective and momentum in the film. There is also a tiresome 'tai-chi' vibe going through the movie which has been done a hundred times before (see Tai-Chi Master for a much better example). The end fight is a complete let down, which was the one thing I thought I could bank on as being excellent!

Gutted, and disappointed are the only words I can use for a trilogy which fizzled out rather than climaxed!!!

Please improve your next work Tony!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty decent. First one's good, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty decent. First one's good, then they kinda tail off. But worth it for the price if you like martail arts films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A curates egg of a trilogy, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The Ong Bak trilogy follows the story of a Buddha-esque statue of Ong-Bak. In the first film the story follows Ting, a young martial artist, who is sent to return the statues head to its village after it is stolen by a street thug. The film is sent in modern times and mostly in Bangkok where Ting battles street gangs, his dishonest cousin and a coterie of the standard martial arts villains, including the obligatory monstery Westerners. The story line is a little weak and some of the acting a bit odd (but that could be cultural) but that is par for the course for many films, not just martial arts films. This is a good action film with lots & lost of action, much of which is repeated in slo-mo, and has to be seen to be believed. 5 stars no question.

Ong-Bak: The Beginning is the first part of a two part history of the statue and how and why it was made. Set in ancient Thailand it follows Tien as he looks for vengeance for the death of his parents. We see Tien progress from little rich boy to leader of a gang of outlaws. Again the story is a little weak and Ong-Bak doesn't get much of a mention, but the fighting is full on and a little brutal. 4 stars.

Ong-Bak 3 is the conclusion of the 15th Century saga started in the second film. Tien has been captured and sentenced to death, by sticks it seems. But he escapes as part of the baddy's dastardly plan and returns to settle old scores. This was all a bit too mystical for me and is rather lacking in fight scenes compared with the other two. The end fight is odd and, to start with a bit sadistic, but ends in a sort of tai-chi off between Tien and the baddy. It's odd and a bit daft. 2 Stars.

In all three films Tony Jaa is a welcome revelation and his Muay Thai is mighty indeed. Some of the fights are superb and Jaa is a master par excellence.

All in all well worth the purchase and films 1&2 are worth watching over and over (NB spot the Luc Besson jibe). I doubt I'll watch Ong-Bak 3 again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
am happy with my trilogy and the price was really good!
if you get the same price then get it as it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
great product would recommend, i was and am very pleased with my purchase and the arrival time.Good value for your money.And arrived well within stated timescale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good films!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Never seen the first one so decided to get the box set for them all. Tony jaa has some amazing skills. performing most of his breathtaking stunts he keeps you engaged in the film at all times. Even though i enjoyed it at times it feels like your watching the same clip over and over again.. for example you see one amazing move performed then again three more times from different angles. Would recommend for all that enjoy martial arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unsung!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love these films,totally unique,brilliant. The sort of films that can be watched time & again,highly recommend them. : ))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars first film is a bit rubbish, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
the first Ong Bak is a bit rubbish, but the fight sequences are great - and that's what you watch this stuff for. The second and third are much better - more budget, even better staging of fight scenes - and performing elephants - who could ask for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD]
Ong Bak Trilogy [DVD] by Tony Jaa (DVD - 2010)
£18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews