Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating hobby!
Having completed the Sea King model to my own satisfaction, I am quite pleased with my very first attempt at model construction and would recommend the hobby to others who might like to have a go. Before starting, I noticed that one or two parts were missing, but, as they were not of major importance, I decided to carry on with the materials to hand. I purchased an...
Published 22 months ago by G. Wylie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sea King model kit.
Quite a nice once it's made up. There are parts to make different marks of the aircraft, but the instructions don't clearly indicate which parts should be used for any particular one.
Published 14 months ago by Martin Body


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating hobby!, 5 Sep 2012
By 
G. Wylie "george11171" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Having completed the Sea King model to my own satisfaction, I am quite pleased with my very first attempt at model construction and would recommend the hobby to others who might like to have a go. Before starting, I noticed that one or two parts were missing, but, as they were not of major importance, I decided to carry on with the materials to hand. I purchased an additional modelling kit comprising tweezers, a sharp knife, a file and pincers and these proved very helpful in completing the task. I also bought additional cement with a fine needle supplier which proved invaluable. While some parts were missing, I also found that several parts were duplicated while other additional bits were not referred to anywhere on the instruction sheet that came with the kit. Overall, the instructions were rather vague and left much to your own imagination. For all that, the finished item came together quite neatly and, after a little painting and the application of some of the included transfers, is now dangling from my study ceiling really looking the part.

With hindsight, I'm not certain that a helicopter is the best choice for a first go at model kit assembly. The experience was great fun, however, and I learned much during the construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sea King model kit., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Quite a nice once it's made up. There are parts to make different marks of the aircraft, but the instructions don't clearly indicate which parts should be used for any particular one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Loved the christmas present, The recipient was a great fan and really liked it very much
quick service well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent kit (Won prizes), 10 April 2013
By 
S. C. Price (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Bought this model for cadets to build as part of a yearly competition. We came second place over all, and are hoping to come first this year.
Parts fit together perfectly and paint adheres nicely.
Would definitely recommend A+++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sea King, 16 Feb 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Was looking for the SAR version, not being available at the time,took the next best version.
now that it is completed it looks good. will complete the diorama of a sea rescue.
Happy with it now.looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Diorama" is pushing it a bit., 7 Feb 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
The so-called diorama feature of this kit is a single piece of card, with a nice title block, a potted history, and a snowfiled to sit the model on.

Unfortunately, whilst the new HAR 5 (and AEW 2) parts are all nicely moulded, the basic tool is one I first built back in about 1970, as the USN machine which did the Apollo 11 capsule recovery. This shows in some of the mouldings, like the "Airfix rivetter" fuselage detail outside, the moulding pin divots inside, the "bottle glass" cabin windows and the bare cabin floor. I knew about these in advance though, and just really wanted to model an RN SAR bird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50113 Royal Navy Westland Sea King HAR.5 1:72 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Great item. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews