Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and Steamy
I couldn't put it down. Jack and Liz are great characters, their scenes together are hot and I couldn't help but feel drawn into the decadence and passion. Bravo to the author for making me feel as though I was actually in The French Quarter. Would highly recommended this book!
Published 16 months ago by Elizabeth Reed

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SEX AND MORE SEX
Liz Marsh thinks something is up with her fiancé Todd, he's out every night . On a friends recommendation she goes to see private investigator Jack Wade. The minute she enters his office she is taken with this stunning man, tall and sexy doesn't do him justice.
He eventually agrees to take the job, he hasn't done this sort of case for a long time but he finds...
Published on 16 Sept. 2011 by L. Sims


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SEX AND MORE SEX, 16 Sept. 2011
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
Liz Marsh thinks something is up with her fiancé Todd, he's out every night . On a friends recommendation she goes to see private investigator Jack Wade. The minute she enters his office she is taken with this stunning man, tall and sexy doesn't do him justice.
He eventually agrees to take the job, he hasn't done this sort of case for a long time but he finds he cannot resist this sexy woman. Following Todd from his office building, it is not long before he enters a strip club. Jack secretly takes pictures with his camera. But they are not too clear and Liz doubts whether the man in the photos is Todd. She suggests to Jack that he accompany her to the strip club, so she can see for herself.
There is not much plot to this book, it's more or less sex every other page, and as much as l enjoy erotic romance as anyone else, this was a bit over the top. Liz went from little miss innocent, to little miss I'll do anything, in about five minutes flat. That included doing it with whom ever crossed her path. It could have been much better, and a touch of a storyline might have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A veritable sex-fest of a book...but didn't really like it., 20 Sept. 2011
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
I read book 2 in this series a couple of years ago (see my review), which was hot on an off-the-scale level, but I didn't like it, as the female lead seemed like she was in heat, was a complete b**** (even by her own admission), and the male lead seemed to be pandering to her every desire, and I couldn't believe in their HEA, so I put off reading any more.

I found about this one being a freebie from another amazon.co.uk reviewer, and of course I downloaded it immediately...and pretty much got a repeat of book 2. It was as if each of the sisters was trying to outdo each other on the 'anything goes' scale.

However, Liz is a touch likeable (her sister was awful to all), and the book actually had a tale. Liz has become convinced that her fiance is cheating on her, so she goes to a PI to have him followed, but doesn't believe the picture evidence that he brings back to her. So she then asks the PI to let her tag him, and he takes her on a night in the French quarter in New Orleans. And it's a night of sex, which then turn into several days of increasingly daring sexual antics.

Liz sheds her inhibitions and joins the party - sex with him, with other guy, with girls, and as I said, it's anything goes. That said, he's dominant, sexy and with a Cajun accent, so I can appreciate why she might be under his own personal form of voodoo...but it felt as if she had been let loose and was gorging herself.

IMHO, the author hasn't clocked that for the majority of female readers, the ROMANCE element of erotic romance needs to be right, and I feel that the romance was only vaguely there. Can there be too much sex in an erotic romance? YES!! Weird, but there was so much sex, most of it cold and unfeeling, though at the same time in terms of erotica, it was right on the money, that this was just a sex-fest and not a romance. But that's just IMHO.

Will I bother with book 3? No, because the synopsis confirms that it is more of the same, and for me, that's a not-worth-it. I need the romance element, not just the erotica for the sake of shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and Steamy, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put it down. Jack and Liz are great characters, their scenes together are hot and I couldn't help but feel drawn into the decadence and passion. Bravo to the author for making me feel as though I was actually in The French Quarter. Would highly recommended this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Quarter, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
This book was a great read, it wasn't a straight forward love story and i found myself shouting at the book a few times that they both needed to sort their feelings out since they both felt the same but wouldn't admit it, the ex added a weird element to the story but the story line wasn't like others I've read which wasn't a bad thing, i think everything listed in the book are things that need to be experienced by every person before they settle down with 'the one', i couldn't put the book down and it's in my top reads, i'd look out for more work by the author since this was my first read from them.

It starts with the MC looking to find out if her fiance is cheating on her, it ends with her being so crazy about a man she'd have sex with two men to see his fantasy through. The rest is hot lust, craziness and sex...go read it.

Story: 5
Characters: 5
Cover: 5

TJ x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hot & spicy, 3 April 2013
By 
Gazza (Yorkshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
just like N'Orleans. Hot, sexy, spicy. Don't know that it's very believable to start with - she's supposed to be innocent & naive & in love with her fiancee yet she jumps into bed with her sexy PI with no hesitation or inhibitions. Having said that I still liked it, couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for bedtime reading, 26 Dec. 2011
By 
libby_black (derbyshire, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
although this has a plot it is a little thin on the ground. this doesnt really matter as although it was one book, it covers a series of sexual subjects by a very inexperienced woman, each one i felt forming a short story, so it could be picked up and read from time to time.

i liked it a lot and came back to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sex and more sex, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Bookaholic (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
Had this book on the kindle quite a while before getting around to reading it. The plot was rather thin and mainly the story was about a shy woman blossoming into a sex goddess. Yes, there was a lot of sexual description with a lot of role playing and exhibishonism but it was not a bad read but for me this was a one time read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars erotica with romance, 23 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Quarter: Hot in the City (Kindle Edition)
there is a lot of sex in this book, but i disagree with other reviewers who say it has no storyline or romance. maybe they think it is a romance with too much sex, i think it is good quality erotica with more character development and romance then you usually get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Quarter: Hot in the City
£2.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews