Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still fun and it's still cool to like The Ting Tings
When The Tings Tings first appeared on the scene they were fun, they were hip, they had imagination and they had some catchy pop songs. They also have a good look. Everything was in their favour. So expectations for their second album comes pretty high.

If i was to listen to the reviews of this album then i would have missed out on a super sounding album...
Published on 4 Feb. 2013 by Crowy

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nosedive
'We started nothing', for me was great but the reviews suggest that The Ting Tings have got themselves a hate club?
Unlike the debut however, Sounds from Nowheresville, lives up to its name. Fantastic opening tracks have you thinking they've got an album full of catchy tracks that they have most definitely proved to be capable of. But no, after track 4 things fall...
Published on 23 Mar. 2012 by The usual suspect


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still fun and it's still cool to like The Ting Tings, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
Crowy (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
When The Tings Tings first appeared on the scene they were fun, they were hip, they had imagination and they had some catchy pop songs. They also have a good look. Everything was in their favour. So expectations for their second album comes pretty high.

If i was to listen to the reviews of this album then i would have missed out on a super sounding album. Admittedly it is a more polished version of their first one which is no bad thing. More importantly it is still fun, still fresh and it still provides you with a blast of catchy pop tunes. Also the more i listen to it the more i think it captures some of the energy that the band project during their live performances.

I just wish the band were more prolific and released more material. I hope we don't have to wait another 4 years before the next album.

Anybody who has listened to the poor reviews and didn't purchase the album are certainly missing out on a treat !

It's still cool to like The Ting Tings...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a love ting, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
If you liked the first album you should love this one.
Every track - yes, every one is just brilliant. It's got everything in the right quantities, like a perfect cake: great rhythms; catchy hooks; humour; the best white reggae i've heard since the Police; beautiful love songs; and a gorgeous cello solo too.
This has been my most listened-to CD this year and i am really looking forward to their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ting Tings - Sounds from Nowheresville, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
Excellent album - came on time as expected. Would definately buy more of their material. Also bought the same CD for a family member for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of remixes, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
A. M. Davies "Alixx" (Bangor/Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
Whilst not their best I felt it a shame that it was so low-priced on Amazon. I would have paid more than £2 (?) happily, but then I won't complain about saving money on the real thing! Plently of tunes, including half the CD filled with remixes which weren't simply a different back song but generally good. Stand out song for me is Soul killing with it's beat and happy context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ting Tings - Sounds From Nowheresville, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
Bought this to catch up on collection. So cheap that I had to buy something else to get free postage !

Not quite as good as We Started Nothing, but still a cracking CD. Tremendous value for around the same price of a pint.

Arrived ahead of schedule, as per usual.

Superb service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly less pop than debut, more varied, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ting Tings fans had a feast of musical ideas w instant appeal on their debut. Although it may take 3 or 4 plays to 'gel' with ".. Nowheresville", it has lots of new faves. Deluxe edition remixes are subjective, but still fun, & I'm v pleased with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nosedive, 23 Mar. 2012
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
'We started nothing', for me was great but the reviews suggest that The Ting Tings have got themselves a hate club?
Unlike the debut however, Sounds from Nowheresville, lives up to its name. Fantastic opening tracks have you thinking they've got an album full of catchy tracks that they have most definitely proved to be capable of. But no, after track 4 things fall apart for me. In 4 years unfortunately, The Tings Tings have only managed to come of with 33 mins of a mixed bag. Unfortunately, in 2012 this just isn't good enough to survive. Big shame.

Passive Me, Aggressive You

If you're looking for slightly similar style but way way better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Edition Tracks Are The Best Thing On This Album, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find Ting Tings' album Sounds From Nowheresville an odd one. With the exception of Standard track 'Hang It Up' the rest of the standard tracks lack much likability, some sound too shout-out-like. Its not untill you start to listen to the Deluxe Edition tracks that you start to forgive the albums sound. Usually remixes are rather poor on Deluxe edition album releases, but these are the first that actually work well.
Overall the main album fails to provide really any interesting tracks, the deluxe tracks provide some interesting mixes and demos but doesnt save the albums release as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 May 2015
By 
Mr. A. Knight - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't understand any negative reviews - as good as their first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, better and stronger, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sounds From Nowheresville (Audio CD)
It seems like a cliche to say that the Ting Tings have 'come of age', 'grown up' or 'matured', but 'Sounds from Nowheresville' certainly gives that impression. There is a good mix of modern styles on the album and a bigger sound than the debut 'We Started Nothing'.

What I thought was the teaser single 'Hands' does not feature on the album, which is a shame, but that said there's plenty of good tracks without it. There has been some comparison to the eclectic album 'Paul's Boutique' by The Beastie Boys, maybe because it marks a departure from the expected sound of the Ting Tings, but apart from that I don't see the relationship.

There's still some really catchy pop tunes on the album, but there's less lyrical repetition than on 'We Started Nothing' and there seems to be great big dollops of funk and soul loaded into the mix. Katie White is still mostly rapping out lyrics rather than singing what some people would call 'proper songs' but that's how the Ting Tings roll and it works brilliantly on tracks such as 'Hang It Up' and 'Soul Killing' (with a 'sub chorus' reminiscent of 'Another Brick in the Wall' by Pink Floyd and touches of Lily Allen) coupled with Jules de Martino's solid beats. That said there are some good electric guitars in 'Give it Back' which could go down well live if they really beef up the rock angle, parts of 'Guggenheim' are like something out of Grease, and the last track 'In Your Life' could be described as a haunting ballad with some serious classical sounding strings.

Some people who don't like change will describe this as a mish-mash, but I have listened to it now three times in a row and it is a serious grower, and so, despite the awful cover and the over-use of cowbells, I will give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sounds From Nowheresville
Sounds From Nowheresville by The Ting Tings (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews