Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet
Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet
I bought this for my daughter who is 9 & she likes the game because she can choose which ever hero she wants to be
Published 21 months ago by christine

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at Best - Definitely aimed at the Younger Gamers
This is a game that has taken the Lego template and applied the characters from the Marvel comics to it. Does it work? Well, yes - and no.
The game starts off with you in story mode and once you play through a level it unlocks in free play mode, allowing you to pick the characters you will need to complete the remaining puzzles. There is a wide selection of well...
Published on 9 Dec. 2010 by Mr. S. W. Steel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at Best - Definitely aimed at the Younger Gamers, 9 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
This is a game that has taken the Lego template and applied the characters from the Marvel comics to it. Does it work? Well, yes - and no.
The game starts off with you in story mode and once you play through a level it unlocks in free play mode, allowing you to pick the characters you will need to complete the remaining puzzles. There is a wide selection of well known characters to play with - Spiderman, Iron Man, Wolverine, Hulk, Invisible Woman, Black Widow, Reptil,She-Hulk, Nova, Thor, Scarlet Witch, Quicksilver and Falcon. All of these have different powers - elemental, tech, strength etc... and specific powers can only be used on certain puzzles. As you cycle through the available characters in free play you can see which character has which power necessary to solve the puzzle.
Each character has three heroic feats to complete which can vary from beating a certain number of enemies, to navigating a certain area without being hit and this certainly adds a bit more to the game in terms of things to do. There is also a challenge mode which adds more length to the game - you have to survive waves of enemies, win races, solve puzzles in tough time restrictions etc... These are a nice addition and gives you a feeling that you are getting your moneys' worth out of the game.
So there are good things in here to enjoy : plenty of characters to use, extra puzzles, variety through the story mode and the extra challenges.
But there are a few niggles too. Although the story mode has variety, it does feel very short and i found i didn't get into the game until i started playing it in freeplay mode and could start solving all the puzzles. But the weakest thing for me was the 'humour' and voice acting. The voices are very 'kiddified' and downright annoying after the first twenty minutes, and the humour is a bit childish. Admittedly this game is aimed at children, but all the Lego games did this so much better - there were no voices in those games, and the humour seemed to work so much better than this game. And i found the Lego games a bit more challenging than this one - more hidden things to find, and a bit more sneaky too!
But, maybe i am too old and cynical!
This game is definitely aimed at a younger audience and does what it does very well - without adding anything new or surprising. Parents can buy this for their children with a clear conscience. It has no swearing, and only cartoon violence, and you can play this co-operatively so you can keep an eye on what is going on on the screen.
I will be totally honest and say that i preferred all the Lego games to this one, and if i was to include this game and all the Lego games and rank them, this would be my least favourite - though i did love all the Lego games!
It is not worth paying the full price of this game (usually £40 for most games) but if you can pick this up between £20 and £25(or even less!)then that would be good value.
If you liked the Lego games, then this will be a fairly safe buy - you will know what to expect.

For those of you looking to get all the achievement points, this is not a particularly difficult thousand points to obtain - until the last couple of achievements, and then it may drive you crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet
I bought this for my daughter who is 9 & she likes the game because she can choose which ever hero she wants to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Kev Partner "Writer, geek, dad." (Alton, Hamshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
Not a patch on the lego series of games but some nice touches nonetheless. If your child is a Marvel fan, they'll enjoy it but the endless repeating of the cut sequences each time you lose to the Boss in a level is extremely annoying for all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Young ones and comic nerds, it great!, 19 Jun. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
Look I am a long way from my youth or even teens, but I am admittedly a comic book geek and this appealed to me instantly. After all the overload of intense dark, ultra grim violent macho shoot em up's and rpgs and games like that, this one-although arguably mostly aimed at kids-is a really fun, enjoyable, light bright game.
It has all your fave Marvel super heros and villians and is based on the recent funny kid focused cartoon of the same name-where all the classic Marvel characters were cutified, with often hilarious one liners and quotes.
It is reasonably easy after a while, but it is good fun, entertaining, engaging. Yes, they have just blatantly ripped off the Lego games, but in the Lego ones they don't have this funny dialogue and it is different enough. Lego didn't do this, so Marvel have and its great fun.
No huge serious epic, but a good enjoable fun break from the full on action serious games. Nuff said!

Funniest characters-Thor and Hulk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
The son hasn't really played this game much and has a lot more enjoyment out of the lego games! But if you've got all the lego games you may as well give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good item, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
This item was a gift at Christmas time, apparently it's brilliant which is coming from an eight year old. Works well, plays everytime and was a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shopping experience, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
Good service. The game arrived efficiently packed and in good time. It has been well used since it arrived. Happy with this shopping experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars From Hero to Zero, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
The `kids' computer game market is dominated by the Wii, but for every top title on Nintendo's dual GameCube, there are exactly 1099 pieces of shovelware. The 360 and PS3 have their fair share of poor games, but not as many of them are cheap cash-ins based on children's TV/books/films. This is about to be addressed with `Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet', based on a kids TV cartoon I have never seen. However, as a fan of Marvel and the LEGO games I thought I would chance this title. Like LEGO, `Marvel Super Hero Squad 2' is a co-op game that uses several characters with differing powers. Players can complete the story mode first, and then return to find secrets in the levels by using other character powers.

On a plus note, there is a decent amount of game here, a play through will take a few hours and finding all the bonuses will be a few hours more. I also liked the voice acting and script; naively funny for both adults and children. Although these elements of the game are good, there is a lot to be desired with the rest. A sequel to a Wii exclusive title `Marvel Super Hero Squad' is not graphically strong enough for a next gen console, using the kids game element is a poor excuse; children deserve decent graphics too. The level design is also quite bland with the initially run through being fun, but the secret elements being disappointingly lukewarm.

`Marvel Super Hero Squad 2' is a reasonable game if you can pick it up at a competitive price, but I am unable to forgive it for its lazy level design and poor graphics. The very similar LEGO games have proven that games aimed at a younger audience can look great and play well. Try harder next time team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Xbox games, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
Very good product I recommended paying it. After using it I have discovery how much it worth
Thanks for the selling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360) (Video Game)
Great game has lots of my grandsons favourite super heros he is enjoying playing it. Arrived on time exactly as promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel Super Hero Squad: The Infinity Gauntlet (Xbxo 360)
Used & New from: £23.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews