Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

#1 HALL OF FAMEon 26 November 2001
I couldn't afford the £70 plus box set of Soft Cell's singles I saw in 1990; so it is nice that they are collected on this screaming good value boxset. The Cell made some epic classics- and to capture the full versions, on something that isn't worn vinyl is splendid...Disc one offers the fall- Daniel Miller produced trash fantasy 'Memorabilia'- and it's b-side 'Persuasion', which picks up where the Human League's 'Life Kills' left off. Do I need to mention 'Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go'? The extended 'Bedsitter'captures the existential joy of nightime pleasures and pains; remember, it was a bigger hit in Spain than 'Tainted Love'. Its flip 'Facility Girls' is not as good (where is 'A Man Could Get Lost'?). 'Say Hello, Wave Goodbye' is probably the best pop song of all time, here is the extended overhaul- a cinematic epic on a scale that feels like Fassbinder & Sirk fighting for control of 'A Star is Born'. Lovely. The b-side is the Marc & the Mambas track, 'Fun City' (originally released with 'Sleaze')and sounds like early The The ('Mental Healing Process'; 'Another Boy Drowning', 'Cold Spell Ahead'). Disc Two begins with the 8-min plus 'Torch'; one of the best pop songs of all time. 'Insecure Me' sounds a little throwaway now- this is the kind of song they perfected as 'The Art of Falling Apart'. Both 'Where the Heart Is' & 'Numbers' are under-rated singles, the latters b-side 'Barriers' is almost up there with 'Youth'. Disc Three begins with the industrial meltdown of 'Soul Inside'and continues with a reworking of 'Loving You Hating Me' (a lost single) and some Bond-covers (pre-dating Barry Adamson's foray into soundtracks). 'Her Imagination' is from a BBC session and captures Soft Cell in their messy deconstruction from pop to Suicide do R'n'B on the worst drugs. Disturbing...'Down in the Subway' was their last single (until 'Divided Souls', fingers crossed)and here we have an epic take not dissimilar to the Foetus-assisted 'A Million Manias' on 'Torment & Toreros'. Pity 'Surrender (to a Stranger) wasn't chosen! Still, the thrash thru Johnny Thunders 'Born to Lose' and the awesome Depeche Mode pre-dating 'Disease & Desire' show no drop in quality. The rest of the cd is taken up with Grid remixes & reworkings for the best of Marc Almond & soft Cell from 1991...So, a nice completist collection for those that want more than the upcoming 'Greatest Hits'. The only problem is the quality in the new Cell-songs ('D.Souls', 'Monoculture', 'Somebody sometime', the prequel to 'Say Hello'), which will add to the obligatory singles captured here. Give yourself a reminder!
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2001
This collection brings together every single from the greatest Electro-Pop band of the 80's, and everyone of them is the full, 12 inch Monty, available on CD for the first time in the UK. (Why the Americans and Germans got them is not explained!)
With the possible exception of Say Hello Wave Goodbye, every Soft Cell 12" comprises of two specially mixed for the format versions of great pop songs. Not for them the easy route their peers took of sellotaping the instrumental into the middle of the vocal version.
From the immortal Tainted Love right through to the poignant Barriers, here is a collection of Marc Almond's tales of loneliness and depravity all wrapped up in Dave Ball's silky electronic tracks, contrasting with some excellent Trumpet and Horn parts.
With the duo re-formed for forthcoming shows around the UK and Europe, there's never been a better time for 30 somethings to dig out the eye-liner, put on this album, and bop round your lounge pretending it's the bedsit you had when you were still young!!
And if you're new to Soft Cell, simply buy this compilation as the definitive 80's electonic dance collection.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2008
if your wondering - here is the track list with times (Discs 1,2 & 3)

1. Memrobilia (Extended) 7:39
2. Persuasion 7:35
3. Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go? (Extended) 8:57
4. Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go? 9:14
5. Bedsitter (Extended) 7:52
6. Facility Girls (12" Single Extended Version) 7:17
7. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye (Extended Version) 8:56
8. Fun City 7:33

1. Torch (Extended) 8:29
2. Insecure Me (Extended) 8:16
3. What! (Extended Version - Original 12" Edit) 6:10
4. So (Extended Version) 8:51
5. Where The Heart Is (12" Version) 9:46
6. It's A Mug's Game 8:11
7. Numbers (12" Version) 10:25
8. Barriers 7:10

1. Soul Inside (12" Mix) 11:59
2. Loving You Hating Me (12" Version) 6:40
3. You Only Live Twice (12" Version) 6:58
4. 007 Theme 3:35
5. Her Imagination 5:20
6. Down In The Subway (12" Version) 7:50
7. Disease And Desire 4:04
8. Born To Loose 2:56
9. Memrobilia ('91 Grid Remix) 6:51
10. Tainted Love (91' Mendelsohn Remix) 5:52
11. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye ('91 Mendelsohn Remix) 5:04
12. Where The Heart Is (The Grid Remix) 8:43
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
I just want to give this 3CD 12" compilation from Soft Cell a big thumbs up. Great to hear extended versions of so many quality songs and I really value this record. I would regard it as a must for the Soft Cell enthusiast. Attractive package but no booklet included. Often one of the best tracks are left off collections like this but all the favourites appear to have been included on here. I only usually review albums which have made a big impression on me so that says it all. Not cheap but you get what you pay for and this album is real class.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Soft Cell always put out twelve inch mixes of their singles and now you can get them all here re-issued from the original vinyl box set on two CD's, play, dance, enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Little disappointed. Say hello wave goodbye is one of my all time favs. Have heard a 12 inch version on radio but it wasn't on this cd Johnny get of old London town
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
Great album with all the remixes for such a short time together soft cell had some great tracks. Pure 80s sounds with some hidden treasures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2001
This is a fantastic re-release of a limited edition boxed set of their 12" singles. It includes the famous "Where Did Our Love Go? / Tainted Love" segued medley. It also features an immaculate clarinet solo on the "Say Hello, Wave Goodbye" 12" version. "Torch" too has a lovely melodic trumpet solo. All the classics are here, inc. "Bedsitter", "Where The Heart Is" and "Memorabilia".
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Birthday prize my mate was over the moon , well done good service..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
The best versions of these classic songs available today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)