Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of one of the greatest bands ever!
I couldn't afford the £70 plus box set of Soft Cell's singles I saw in 1990; so it is nice that they are collected on this screaming good value boxset. The Cell made some epic classics- and to capture the full versions, on something that isn't worn vinyl is splendid...Disc one offers the fall- Daniel Miller produced trash fantasy 'Memorabilia'- and it's b-side...
Published on 26 Nov. 2001 by Jason Parkes

versus
3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bored! skip it!
A great band? absolutely, great music? definatly, but most of these tracks are tedious, boring, and repetative, dont get me wrong, I love Soft Cell they created some of the best music of the 80s, songs that still sound fresh today but some of these mixes just go on...& on...& on! hit the skip button past the big hits, the rest will bore you into a coma....even if you are...
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by phillip stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of one of the greatest bands ever!, 26 Nov. 2001
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
I couldn't afford the £70 plus box set of Soft Cell's singles I saw in 1990; so it is nice that they are collected on this screaming good value boxset. The Cell made some epic classics- and to capture the full versions, on something that isn't worn vinyl is splendid...Disc one offers the fall- Daniel Miller produced trash fantasy 'Memorabilia'- and it's b-side 'Persuasion', which picks up where the Human League's 'Life Kills' left off. Do I need to mention 'Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go'? The extended 'Bedsitter'captures the existential joy of nightime pleasures and pains; remember, it was a bigger hit in Spain than 'Tainted Love'. Its flip 'Facility Girls' is not as good (where is 'A Man Could Get Lost'?). 'Say Hello, Wave Goodbye' is probably the best pop song of all time, here is the extended overhaul- a cinematic epic on a scale that feels like Fassbinder & Sirk fighting for control of 'A Star is Born'. Lovely. The b-side is the Marc & the Mambas track, 'Fun City' (originally released with 'Sleaze')and sounds like early The The ('Mental Healing Process'; 'Another Boy Drowning', 'Cold Spell Ahead'). Disc Two begins with the 8-min plus 'Torch'; one of the best pop songs of all time. 'Insecure Me' sounds a little throwaway now- this is the kind of song they perfected as 'The Art of Falling Apart'. Both 'Where the Heart Is' & 'Numbers' are under-rated singles, the latters b-side 'Barriers' is almost up there with 'Youth'. Disc Three begins with the industrial meltdown of 'Soul Inside'and continues with a reworking of 'Loving You Hating Me' (a lost single) and some Bond-covers (pre-dating Barry Adamson's foray into soundtracks). 'Her Imagination' is from a BBC session and captures Soft Cell in their messy deconstruction from pop to Suicide do R'n'B on the worst drugs. Disturbing...'Down in the Subway' was their last single (until 'Divided Souls', fingers crossed)and here we have an epic take not dissimilar to the Foetus-assisted 'A Million Manias' on 'Torment & Toreros'. Pity 'Surrender (to a Stranger) wasn't chosen! Still, the thrash thru Johnny Thunders 'Born to Lose' and the awesome Depeche Mode pre-dating 'Disease & Desire' show no drop in quality. The rest of the cd is taken up with Grid remixes & reworkings for the best of Marc Almond & soft Cell from 1991...So, a nice completist collection for those that want more than the upcoming 'Greatest Hits'. The only problem is the quality in the new Cell-songs ('D.Souls', 'Monoculture', 'Somebody sometime', the prequel to 'Say Hello'), which will add to the obligatory singles captured here. Give yourself a reminder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of 80's Synth Pop, 28 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
This collection brings together every single from the greatest Electro-Pop band of the 80's, and everyone of them is the full, 12 inch Monty, available on CD for the first time in the UK. (Why the Americans and Germans got them is not explained!)
With the possible exception of Say Hello Wave Goodbye, every Soft Cell 12" comprises of two specially mixed for the format versions of great pop songs. Not for them the easy route their peers took of sellotaping the instrumental into the middle of the vocal version.
From the immortal Tainted Love right through to the poignant Barriers, here is a collection of Marc Almond's tales of loneliness and depravity all wrapped up in Dave Ball's silky electronic tracks, contrasting with some excellent Trumpet and Horn parts.
With the duo re-formed for forthcoming shows around the UK and Europe, there's never been a better time for 30 somethings to dig out the eye-liner, put on this album, and bop round your lounge pretending it's the bedsit you had when you were still young!!
And if you're new to Soft Cell, simply buy this compilation as the definitive 80's electonic dance collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Track Listing, 7 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
if your wondering - here is the track list with times (Discs 1,2 & 3)

1. Memrobilia (Extended) 7:39
2. Persuasion 7:35
3. Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go? (Extended) 8:57
4. Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go? 9:14
5. Bedsitter (Extended) 7:52
6. Facility Girls (12" Single Extended Version) 7:17
7. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye (Extended Version) 8:56
8. Fun City 7:33

1. Torch (Extended) 8:29
2. Insecure Me (Extended) 8:16
3. What! (Extended Version - Original 12" Edit) 6:10
4. So (Extended Version) 8:51
5. Where The Heart Is (12" Version) 9:46
6. It's A Mug's Game 8:11
7. Numbers (12" Version) 10:25
8. Barriers 7:10

1. Soul Inside (12" Mix) 11:59
2. Loving You Hating Me (12" Version) 6:40
3. You Only Live Twice (12" Version) 6:58
4. 007 Theme 3:35
5. Her Imagination 5:20
6. Down In The Subway (12" Version) 7:50
7. Disease And Desire 4:04
8. Born To Loose 2:56
9. Memrobilia ('91 Grid Remix) 6:51
10. Tainted Love (91' Mendelsohn Remix) 5:52
11. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye ('91 Mendelsohn Remix) 5:04
12. Where The Heart Is (The Grid Remix) 8:43
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definitive, 26 April 2012
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
despite being sick to the teeth of tainted love this is the dogs wotsits captures the full versions of the early classics all excellent versions 12inch improvements on the 7 inch great value definitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft cell, 23 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
By far the best soft cell album to own. Contains all the original 12" mixes that were part of the vinyl collection plus a few extras as well. The 12" version of say hello wave goodbye is just fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Album To Treasure, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
GARY (Preston Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
I just want to give this 3CD 12" compilation from Soft Cell a big thumbs up. Great to hear extended versions of so many quality songs and I really value this record. I would regard it as a must for the Soft Cell enthusiast. Attractive package but no booklet included. Often one of the best tracks are left off collections like this but all the favourites appear to have been included on here. I only usually review albums which have made a big impression on me so that says it all. Not cheap but you get what you pay for and this album is real class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just Memorabilia, 24 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic re-release of a limited edition boxed set of their 12" singles. It includes the famous "Where Did Our Love Go? / Tainted Love" segued medley. It also features an immaculate clarinet solo on the "Say Hello, Wave Goodbye" 12" version. "Torch" too has a lovely melodic trumpet solo. All the classics are here, inc. "Bedsitter", "Where The Heart Is" and "Memorabilia".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 80's hits soft cell, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
THIS IS A GREAT COLLECTION OF SOFT CELL AND LOTS OF VERSIONS OF HITS MADE FOR NIGHTCLUBS ,GREAT VALUE AND SEALED BRAND NEW AND FAST DELIVERED,BRINGS BACK MEMORIES OF YOUTH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dance-tastic, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
Soft Cell always put out twelve inch mixes of their singles and now you can get them all here re-issued from the original vinyl box set on two CD's, play, dance, enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars where did the time go, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Inch Singles (Audio CD)
Great album with all the remixes for such a short time together soft cell had some great tracks. Pure 80s sounds with some hidden treasures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twelve Inch Singles
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews