Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars104
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2010
When My Chemical Romance first announced a "Pop - Dance Album" back in September, many people's first reaction was "What the hell?!". It seemed unlikely that MCR, who since releasing the phenomenal "Black Parade" had been called "Emo Superstars" "emo fags", "A Death Cult", and been blamed as the reason for a teenager's suicide, would become the very thing they seeked to avoid - the "Popular Kids". The first listen of some of the tracks on Danger Days is interesting, to say the least. But of course, this is MCR, and there is some poisonous, and totally brilliant twist on the idea.

This "twist" is the concept of the album - a group of outlaws (The "Killjoys", played by the band) in a post-nuclear-war California fighting against the evil "Better Living Industries" (or BL/ind for short) who basically run the world. This is established in the video for "Na Na Na", featuring both parties driving around the desert firing laser guns at each other. Yes, it's a massive and ridiculous concept, which written on paper, doesn't work. However, MCR have a way of working stupidly massive concepts their way and making them awesome - and in a way, this album seems almost satirical of the world we live in today, one in which massive corporations (for example, Apple) run the world, and which those who want to break away from this are seen as "disturbing the peace", or "killing joy". In fact, think Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World" (Complete with happiness drugs, courtesy of BL/ind!) painted pastel colours, and thrown in the desert.

Concept aside, this album is still marvellous - opening songs "Look Alive Sunshine" and "Na Na Na" set out this alum for what it is - not pop-rock from 2010, but an 80s influenced work (think 80s Punk and David Bowie surviving a Nuclear Explosion). It's not the soul-deep sound of "The Black Parade" or "3 Cheers for Sweet Revenge", but still deals with issues of isolation and freedom ("Gravity don't mean too much to me, I'm who I've got to be, these pigs are after me" Sings Way on "Bulletproof Heart"). Whilst some of the songs, for example SING, S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W and the Kids From Yesterday are quite raw, others are synth-happy. For example, "Planetary (GO!)" is basically a Dance song. Before you throw this down screaming "WHAT!!!", it's also very cleverly done. "Fame is now injectable" yells Gerard, a stick at those who can simple gain popularity by being "Pretty" or "cool", or indeed writing a less ironic version of the very song. "The Only Hope For Me Is You" is another song using more electronic effects, this time more ballad like than the rest.

The rest of the album follows much the same... Party Poison and Save Yourself, I'll Hold Them Back are similar to the original sound established by "The Killers" but combined with the lyrical genius of MCR of old, whilst S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W (a song about both a nuclear explosion, and the overuse of CCTV on the public at the same time) and The Kids From Yesterday are both very Bowie-esque tracks (proof that, under the whole "American Rock Band, California 2019 etc. Persona, MCR still want to British). Dr Death Defying makes an appearance on "Traffic Report" and "Goodnight Dr Death", and "Vampire Money is an unashamed protest against bands selling into the "Twilight Fame" (since MCR's first album is about Vampires, Twilight has made the whole image very un-dangerous), so perhaps the only weak points of this album are "Summertime" and "DESTROYA", which, whilst not being necessarily "bad" tracks, feel a little rushed compared to the others. In conclusion, the mixture of amazing concepts and efficient (if not technical) musician work makes this not only a good album, but possibly the best album of this year. Don't just listen to the premier on youtube. Buy this in all due haste.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
Although in music and in personality they are quite different there are alot of similarities between MCR and Green Day which probably why they are currently my 2 favourite bands by a long way. Both started as raw, punk based bands, albeit with clear potential to develop into something far more substantial. With Green Day the metamorphosis began with the "concept album" that was American Idiot and went a stage further with 21st Centuary Breakdown. MCR came up with an even more OTT concept with the Black Parade and have now turned in a remarkable transformation with Danger Days moving from the Emo/Goth/Metal of the Black Parade to a Sci-Fi/Techno/Rock image.

The similarities do not end there, whilst Green Days rise to greatness has been through a concept routed in the vision of a disfunctional 21st Centuary combined with musical influences that are firmly routed in the 70s MCR have moved into a future dystopian world whilst harping back to 80s musical influences.

I don't think this album can be looked at as a series of single tracks, albeit there are some real crackers here and nothing resembling a filler, it is the way the whole thing hangs together that makes it so impressive. Musically it initially seems far removed from the BP and miles away from 3 Cheers but in reality, all the old energy and emotions are still there, albeit wrapped in a slickly produced techno jacket.

If you are already an MCR fan, approach this with an open mind and a realisation that the Black Parade really is dead and that a return to thrashy punk would not take the band forward. If you do that you will see what a masterpiece this album is. If you are new to MCR or have written them off as too overtly Emo (something they quite rightly deny) this could be just the introduction you need to this great band.

Overall 5 Stars, no duff tracks and a feeling great anticipation for the live shows and the inevitable festival billing that will follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
WARNING!! This music is seriously addictive. You'll start off with your shiny new CD, then you'll need to make a copy of it (well you don't want your original getting scratched now do you?), then you'll put it on your ipod...oh...and your phone...and you`ll need to make your own proper ring tones of course. You'll also need a daily fix of this music because the more you listen to it...the more you'll need to. In fact you might as well write off the rest of your music collection, you won't be needing that for a while as you'll have this music on a constant loop. If your mates haven't yet discovered the genius lyrics and the mesmerising sound of MCR then they soon will because you'll make sure you tell them (also on a constant loop). But then OMG!!...then you'll put your copy CD into your Ford Nightclub and you'll turn into one of THEM, you know, one of those music-blasting-idiot drivers that everyone hates. You have been warned!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Well, I put off buying this album at first as I listened to preveiws of some of the songs and, to be honest, was dissapointed. MCR seemed to have lost all that made them unique and the band seemed to have lost their angst.

HOWEVER! A year afterwards, (a few days ago) I decided to give the album a second chance and searched the songs on youtube. And, to my pleasant suprise, I loved them. I'm currently obsessed with Bulletproof Heart, Summertime, Destroya and The Kids from Yesterday, though that's not to say all the songs aren't highly addictive!

My Chem have changed angles on the music front but while I wouldn't say I liked this album any more than The Black Parade and Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge, I will say that I like it equally. The only reason it gets four stars instead of five is because I have to say I would have loved a few more angsty songs thrown in!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
Well what can i say this particular album has had so many mixed reviews due to the transfer of the genre of music. I admit this album is more fun and out there compared to MCR's past three albums 'I Brought You Bullets' 'Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge' and 'The Black Parade' however due to recent press reports MCR say they want to leave their "emo" tag behind but if read in context this album is just the follow on from the story told by their previous discography. The album includes the hit singles 'Na Na Na' 'Sing' 'The Only Hope For Me Is You' 'Planetary (Go!)' and the new release 'Bulletproof Heart' The album holds some extremely catchy and upbeat songs but in my opinion very good. Yes its very different from their old albums but definitely worth a listen, so give it a go and voice your own opinion. happy listening :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Track-by-track review!

1. 'Look Alive, Sunshine' 5/5

Here we are introduced to our setting, 'California 2019', by our guide and expert radio host, Dr. Death Defying. Speaking in an almost 'Clockwork Orange' language, the track is a perfect way to start off the album, and leads very well into the second song.

2. 'Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na etc..)' 5/5

If you've followed MCR in the past few months/years then you have no doubt heard this little punk rock gem. It's fast, it's crazy, and Gerards vocals are the best they've been for awhile. Also, his lyrics stick with the theme of the album very nicely, at times also decending into the 'Clockwork Orange-ness' that Dr.Death did on the first track. Put it into your cars CD player and drive, very very fast.

3. 'Bulletproof Heart' 5/5

Upon first listen this sounded like the only bad song on the album, but now I've come to love it. The euphoric chorus is headed by the lyric "Gravity, don't mean too much to me!". This is a much more 'pop' sounding MCR than usual, but that isn't an insult. MCR are just doing what they do best once again, 'genre-hopping'.

4. 'Sing' 4/5

The second single off the album is full of heavy, rythmic drums and booming bass. Gerards vocals zip between these two colliding instruments, forming some great verses. The chorus is also yet again another euphoric call to arms, with the lyrics being ; "Sing it from the heart
Sing it till you're nuts
Sing it out for the ones that'll hate your guts." It's still a great song, but just doesn't really seem to be as good as the others.

5. 'Planetary (GO!)' 5/5

If it wern't for the guitars then this could easily be declared a dance song. But with My Chem nothing is ever that simple. The air-horn/alarm booming it's way through the song, as well as the techno/sci-fi/futuristic synth really make it sound like something from the year 2019. As for the chorus, it's slightly like 'SING' in the way that it's big and strong, but 'Planetary's' chorus isn't just big; it's loud, it's a little bit crazy and it really makes you want too dive right into a mosh pit and dance. BRILLIANT!

6. 'The Only Hope For Me Is You' 5/5

The opening 30 seconds sum up the entire song for me. It's a beautiful, synth-heavy, more uplifting version of 'I Don't Love You'. Also, for those fans that have listened to all of the albums, then you may have heard a song on the first album called 'Skylines And Turnstiles', which deals with what Gerard Way saw on 9/11. Although it may be coincedence, the lyrics seem to suggest that this is almost like 'Skylines And Turnstiles Pt.2'.

"Where, where will we stand?
When all the lights go out
Across these city streets
Where were you when
All of the embers fell
I still remember them
Covered in ash,
Covered in glass
Covered in all my friends,
I still think of the bombs they build." Regardless of wether it is a more-uplifting sequel to that song, 'The Only Hope' is a superb song.

7. 'Jet-Star And The Kobra Kid/Traffic Report' 5/5

Dr.Death is checking in with us again, but this time he is the bearer of bad news. Two of our Killjoy heroes, Jet-Star and Kobra Kid have been ghosted/killed. Yet again the Dr. speaks in the style that you would expect a Radio Host of the future to speak in; plenty of cool sounding words and metaphors. The background music is also nice, sounding 8-Bit and almost Tron like at times. For an 'interlude', the song does very nicely.

8. 'Party Poison' 5/5

Picking up right after the last track, you may expect something a little more somber after the death of two of our heroes, but 'Party Poison' erupts into an even more crazy amped-up version of 'Na Na Na'. At several points we hear the shouting of a Japanese woman, and her increased anger seems to increase the tempo of the song. The drums are superb, the guitars are truly rock'n'roll and Gerards lyrics are pure sing-along material. Like 'Planetary (GO!)' it makes you want too dive right into a mosh-pit and dance until you die. It's also nice to just hear a rock song, without the added dance/sci-fi effects. As much as I love them, you'd need a break at some point. 'Party Poison' may be a break in that sense, but in all other senses of the word it certainly isn't. AWESOME!

9. 'Save Yourself, I'll Hold Them Back' 5/5

After the chaos of the last track, 'Save Yourself' creeps in slowly with some nice effects and a slowly building guitar riff. It soon proceeds to burst into something very remeniscent of 'old' MCR. Gerard's lyrics border on 'screamo' at times, and the lyrics have a much darker twist too them than the other songs. Within the concept of the album, it's basically the Killjoys (our heroes) deciding to carry on fighting Better Living Industries, despite the fact they've recently taken two casualtys. Regardless of wether MCR change or not, they'll never forget their roots, and this song is the perfect example of that.

10. 'S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W' 5/5

Oh my god. What a song. At first it sounds eerily similair too 'I Don't Love You', but quickly changes into something of it's own. The song sounds like MCR fused with The Beatles. The guitars are fitted with so much feedback you can barely hear Gerard at first. And speaking of Gerard, his 'phased-out' vocals and lyrics are purely and simply beautiful. The chorus is just absolutely brilliant. It's so easy to sing along too, yet so difficult to understand. It really is similair to The Beatles during their 'Sgt.Pepper/LSD Phase'. Whilst being creepy, beautiful and strange, 'S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W' still sounds very romantic.

"Blow a kiss at the methane skies
See the rust through your playground eyes
We're all in love tonight." Those lyrics show-case the romantic feel very nicely. All in all, this song is up their in MCR's all time top 10. It's the most 'different' sounding song on the album, yet it retains those classic MCR traits. Also, Ray gets a kick ass solo.

11. 'Summertime' 5/5

If you know the meaning behind the lyrics; "You can run away with me
Anytime you want", then this song will have already earned a spot in your heart. It's a truly sweet and beautiful track. If you know how Gerard Way was 6 years ago, then you'll know how he was dragged out of a very horrible depression by his fellow band members, family, friends, and of course the fans. Whilst the lyrics speak of Gerards love for his wife, they also seem like a thank you too everyone that helped him regain his true self from the brink of suicide. It's quite possibly even more of a beautiful song than the last track. Also, the synth that pops in after about 2 and a half minutes is like something that The Cure would use, and in many interviews Gerard has explained of his love for British music, so it's no doubt that little section of the song was inspired.

12. 'Destroya' 5/5

After a more 'sweet' approach from the last two tracks, MCR decided to throw in a track that would rip both of them too pieces... and quite possibly rip every song released this year too complete pieces. The riff is constant and never lets up on your ears, the vocals are aggressive and semi-screamo and the synth during the chorus really makes things feel insane. Although 'Save Yourself' in some ways returns to what MCR did on 'Three Cheers', it's easy too say that 'Destroya' returns too the style of the first album. This is one of those songs that you must see live during your lifetime. I can just imagine the rythm guitarist Frank Iero ripping up the stage and equipment now!

13. 'The Kids From Yesterday' 5/5

This song is just like something straight out of the 80's British Music Scene. Bouncing betwen inspirations from Joy Division too U2, the song is suitably epic. But I must say that the song is much better if you've grown up with My Chemical Romance, just as I have. This is their maturing anthem, showcasing just how much they've grown over the past 9 years. Throughout the song the style changes too how each of their earlier albums sounded. Starting like 'Danger Days', it then moves too the epicness of 'The Black Parade', too the hardcore-punk feel of 'Bullets', too the more pop-rock feel of 'Three Cheer's' and finally back to 'Danger Days'. After finishing, the song also comes back for another 20 seconds or so, paying tribute to one of their first ever songs, 'Drowning Lessons'. An absolute tune!

14. 'Goodnite, Dr.Death' 5/5

Our favourite Californian DJ finally signs off, with a nice little message for us. Then 'The Star Spangled Banner' comes in, sounding suitably muffled out, once again getting accross the feeling that we're listening to a year 2019 broadcast. Then it comes to the final 10 seconds, and something unbelievably scary/suprising and hilarious happens! Telling you what happens would no-doubt be a spoiler.

15. 'Vampire Money' 5/5

WHAT.A.WAY.TO.END.AN.ALBUM! This song is so unbelievably catchy that you will no doubt instantly jump up and go crazy, regardless of your age. If your in a car, you will instantly step on the gas until you hit 200mph, it's just great. Gerard Way in turn manages too mention David Bowie and Marc Bolan in the same song, whilst also continuosly mocking Twilight. All of a sudden our Killjoy heroes rip off their costumes and masks, re-emerge as My Chemical Romance, jump into their Trans-Am and screech off into the sunset. RESULT!

Closing Comments:

Choosing my favourite MCR album would be like choosing my favourite film of all time. It's a very, very very tough choice. 'Bullets' is an amazing debut, I grew up with 'Three Cheers' and 'The Black Parade' is easily one of the greatest albums of the last 10-20 years. So too choose one over the other would really be tough. For this reason I rank all of the albums as my favourite, with each one having a particular trait that I love. I am very happy to say that 'Danger Days' will join the other three albums. Whilst I won't say that it's better than any of the others, I will certainly say that it's the most consistent album alongside 'The Black Parade'. There isn't a single filler track on here and the mood is never let up. My favourite record of the year!
22 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
this is a great album which contains lots of new material but also lots that sounds like a throwback to three cheers for sweet revenge. Punchy exiting and electric are only some of the words i would use to describe this album. Delivery was great got here in 3 days despite the snow and that it was Christmas
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Look alive sunshine sunshine! This album shows how far MCR have developed over the years and is full of catchy (almost pop influenced) tunes but in my opinion this does not detract from what I find a worthy musical direction for them. A very easy album to get into and I found that most of the it worked for me from the very first listen. For me it's kind of The Black Parade 2. Granted, the songs do not match it's predecessor for quality but I find that as a whole I really love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
When My Chemical Romance first announced a "Pop - Dance Album" back in September, many people's first reaction was "What the hell?!". It seemed unlikely that MCR, who since releasing the phenomenal "Black Parade" had been called "Emo Superstars" "emo fags", "A Death Cult", and been blamed as the reason for a teenager's suicide, would become the very thing they seeked to avoid - the "Popular Kids". The first listen of some of the tracks on Danger Days is interesting, to say the least. But of course, this is MCR, and there is some poisonous, and totally brilliant twist on the idea.

This "twist" is the concept of the album - a group of outlaws (The "Killjoys", played by the band) in a post-nuclear-war California fighting against the evil "Better Living Industries" (or BL/ind for short) who basically run the world. This is established in the video for "Na Na Na", featuring both parties driving around the desert firing laser guns at each other. Yes, it's a massive and ridiculous concept, which written on paper, doesn't work. However, MCR have a way of working stupidly massive concepts their way and making them awesome - and in a way, this album seems almost satirical of the world we live in today, one in which massive corporations (for example, Apple) run the world, and which those who want to break away from this are seen as "disturbing the peace", or "killing joy". In fact, think Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World" (Complete with happiness drugs, courtesy of BL/ind!) painted pastel colours, and thrown in the desert.

Concept aside, this album is still marvellous - opening songs "Look Alive Sunshine" and "Na Na Na" set out this alum for what it is - not pop-rock from 2010, but an 80s influenced work (think 80s Punk and David Bowie surviving a Nuclear Explosion). It's not the soul-deep sound of "The Black Parade" or "3 Cheers for Sweet Revenge", but still deals with issues of isolation and freedom ("Gravity don't mean too much to me, I'm who I've got to be, these pigs are after me" Sings Way on "Bulletproof Heart"). Whilst some of the songs, for example SING, S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W and the Kids From Yesterday are quite raw, others are synth-happy. For example, "Planetary (GO!)" is basically a Dance song. Before you throw this down screaming "WHAT!!!", it's also very cleverly done. "Fame is now injectable" yells Gerard, a stick at those who can simple gain popularity by being "Pretty" or "cool", or indeed writing a less ironic version of the very song. "The Only Hope For Me Is You" is another song using more electronic effects, this time more ballad like than the rest.

The rest of the album follows much the same... Party Poison and Save Yourself, I'll Hold Them Back are similar to the original sound established by "The Killers" but combined with the lyrical genius of MCR of old, whilst S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W (a song about both a nuclear explosion, and the overuse of CCTV on the public at the same time) and The Kids From Yesterday are both very Bowie-esque tracks (proof that, under the whole "American Rock Band, California 2019 etc. Persona, MCR still want to British). Dr Death Defying makes an appearance on "Traffic Report" and "Goodnight Dr Death", and "Vampire Money" is an unashamed protest against bands selling into the "Twilight Fame" (since MCR's first album is about Vampires, Twilight has made the whole image very un-dangerous), so perhaps the only weak points of this album are "Summertime" and "DESTROYA", which, whilst not being necessarily "bad" tracks, feel a little rushed compared to the others. In conclusion, the mixture of amazing concepts and efficient (if not technical) musician work makes this not only a good album, but possibly the best album of this year.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Love this vinyl, the vinyl it self is really thick and the sound is amazing. It's like they are playing in you living room with this vinyl.
The songs are good and quality excellent.
Have to give this product 5 stars, because i did not find anything wrong with this one.

Great for all fans off MCR.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)