Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "Noir Noir" mystery..., 24 Oct. 2005
By 
J. C. Swanson (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book started like many others. I opened it, read two chapters and sat in my empty flat hoping the phone wouldn't ring. It didn't.
That's how I started out on the latest Meikle adventure, an adventure I'd been looking forward to for quite some time. You see, he'd already taken me on a disturbing journey to a remote Scottish Isle for a taste of Island Life and drawn me through the harrowing saga of two best friends. Two Watchers from 1745. So, I figured I was pretty sure I'd get a kick out of this trip too. I wasn't disappointed. The kick was swift, memorable and firmly delivered by a steel capped boot.
Dyed in the wool Scottish gumshoe Derek Adams takes on a new client. The client's a she and she's a knockout. His weakness for a pretty woman and the need for a pretty woman's money to provide cigarettes and whisky (his other weaknesses) lead him into taking on what could very well be his last case ever. The seemingly simple task of recovering a piece of stolen jewellery leads Privte Investigator Adams through the seedier side of the Glasgow streelife, bumping into some of the cities more colourful denizens on his way. On his way to a vivid history lesson and a close encounter of the worst kind. The paranormal kind. The angry paranormal kind. The kind that don't have no truck with the living. Does he recover the stolen rock? Does he get the dame? Does he live to work another case? Throw in your lot with the rest of the cast in this arresting volume of Horror Noir and see if you can solve the case, before...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Rebus?, 3 May 2006
By 
Gary Nicklin (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm a big fan of Willie Meikle's previous books and I was looking forward to this one. I'm glad to say I wasn't disappointed.

The book builds on a short story available in one of his earlier works and tells the story of a Glaswegian detective, one Derek Adams who is engaged on a case to find some missing jewellery by a beautiful woman. Pretty standard detective fare you might think. That is, until Meikle spins his own dark spell over it leaving you wondering This is apparently the first in a series of books featuring the Scottish private eye and I'm looking forward to his next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and gripping Crime Horror, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet (Kindle Edition)
Take a sharp, wry Private Investigator story that adds in the colour of some of Glasgow's seedier locales, some well crafted historical backdrops that set up the current events and add a final wollop of sanity-snapping Chthonic fiction. With me so far? Good, just don't give in to the chanting, it's your only hope.

When PI Derek Adams, a smart opportunist kept upright on a diet of Nicotine, Caffeine and Single Malts, gets a visit from the seductive Fiona Dunlop, what starts as a simple Treasure Hunt for an ugly but seemingly priceless Amulet gradually descends into a torturous nightmare that drags Adams to the Void beyond the World, where unspeakable horror awaits.

At no little cost to Adams and his friends, as well as Fiona and her husband Andrew - both adepts of the Arts themselves , Adams fights to overcome first his disbelief, and then his common sense (Flee!) in overcoming the mysterious group of hooded practitioners of the Dark Arts who are bent on using the Amulet to break the barrier between the World and the Outer Dimensions to free their Master. There's plenty of horridly hypnotic chanting whenever a summoning takes place - but you know to ignore that.

Featuring the summoned creature of the Amulet, a hideous implacable demon from beyond, whose full horror would take half a page to describe, the richer of Glasgow's Antique Dealers, a few criminal contacts, two thuggish police detectives who finish each other's sentences and have a particular dislike of Adams' methods of Investigating, a standing order of Nicotine from Jo the newspaper man downstairs, and plenty of cursing his useless choice of car, Adams rolls from one lead to the next, pulling himself inexorably towards the final precipice of sanity, all the while wishing himself away and safe again before the madness ever started.

Unputdownable (I do like that pretend word) - The Midnight Eye Files is a fantastic Lovecraftian journey that mixes terror (oh, yes, the Terror), with a witty and clever PI story. I can't wait to get stuck into the other Files to see what else Adams (un)wittingly gets himself into.

So enjoy, spread the word and remember: don't give in to the chanting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the midnight eyes files, the amulet, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
snowy (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
Another great author introduced to me by Amazon kindle face book page, the character who is looks for some missing jewellery of a beautiful woman. If you are thinking just another simple thriller, That is, until the author Meikle spins his own dark twist over it leaving you wondering what's next crimping on the side of your kindle wanting to click the turn page button, well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story well told, 14 April 2011
This review is from: The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet (Kindle Edition)
I seem to be downloading lots of great Scottish (or is that Scots?) authors at the moment.

I can not remember what pointed me to The Midnight Eye Files but I have not been disappointed - It's a great story, very nicely written.

There is a nice mix of private eye investigation and "other world" twists and turns.

Thank you Mr M. for some very happy hours reading - I look forward to wandering through your other shelves :) Regards, CW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drunken PI saves the world, 6 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet (Kindle Edition)
Derek Adams is such a stereotypical Private Investigator - he's got a colourful history, drinks too much and smokes. He's always getting on the wrong side of the local police, and he's actually a mess.

So, when Fiona steps into his office, looking for someone to find a missing piece of jewellery you wonder why, on earth, she chose him. It's like watching a crash in slow motion, you can see things coming, watch the body count mount up and still there are those slaps round the back of the head that shock.

If it were just a detective ramble this would still sort of work, but the added element of demonic Cthulu adds a dimension that will either have you riveted until the very last word, or it'll give you nightmares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Amulet, 6 Jun. 2011
By 
Mrs (Witham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet (Kindle Edition)
This book is set in Scotland, and tells the story of a Glasgow-based PI Derek Adams, and his client Fiona, who has had a very expensive piece of jewellery stolen, and asked him to find it. As a mystery, it was a good book, however I loved the supernatural twist which came to light as the book progressed. I loved the style in which this book is written,and very much look forward to reading more about Derek Adams in the Midnight Eye Files series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there are dark things in scotland, 29 Aug. 2013
another enjoyable read from mr william; a private dick is hired to get back an amulet after a burglary

but typical if it is not found it will bring around the end of the world

some nice character that you will care about as i said great read from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soaked in Whisky, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet (Kindle Edition)
Meikle's private detective series, The Midnight Eye Files, The Amulet, set in Glasgow, will leave you stinking of nicotine and soaked in whisky as Derek Adams tumbles around trying to find a stolen family heirloom, and gets into much more trouble than he bargained for when he set out on his mission. A highly entertaining tale that brings together the everyday with the supernatural in a very believable manner. A great start to a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected tale, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet (Kindle Edition)
I didn't know what to make of this book at first with its American spelling and its 'noir' style but I certainly found myself drawn in by both the characters and the plot. Not my usual sort of book but would I buy another book by the same author? Yes. Extremely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Midnight Eye Files: The Amulet
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews