Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shelley Unbound
I can only assume that someone has taken note of the previous critical reviews and tidied up the e-text, as this now works very well: the poems read as poems with all the correct line-breaks and stanzas, and the prose is correct as well. It's a useful, full edition of Shelley's poetry, not based on the latest scholarship but what can you expect for 96p? There is a...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by Count Maddalo

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How not to format poetry for kindle
Shelley is a great poet and like all great poets he needs to be read aloud. To do this you need to know where the lines end and where the stresses and pauses go. This requires careful formatting. This book fails dreadfully.
It really looks like a TXT file with fixed line end markers has been dropped into a kindle formatter so that lines do not line up properly...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by G. A. D. Revill-taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How not to format poetry for kindle, 24 Oct 2010
By 
G. A. D. Revill-taylor "hyperswot" (Tunbridge Wells UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shelley is a great poet and like all great poets he needs to be read aloud. To do this you need to know where the lines end and where the stresses and pauses go. This requires careful formatting. This book fails dreadfully.
It really looks like a TXT file with fixed line end markers has been dropped into a kindle formatter so that lines do not line up properly.
But it's not just the poetry itself. The introduction is also miss-formatted and this is inexcusable for prose.
To add to everything, since this is a kindle book I can't throw it at the wall, rend it in pieces or burn it. Frustration on frustration.
Finally, why that hideous picture of Einstein saying Ah on the cover. Is this meant to be Ozymandias?
So, Amazon, please put an extract, say a stanza, on your web site to show how well the poetry is laid out. And choose better cover pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Editing, 22 April 2012
By 
Mr (West Bridgford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of P.B. Shelley (English poets Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is quite simply the most badly edited e-book I have bought since I got my Kindle 18 months ago. Indeed, many of the unpaid downloads I have had have been considerably better prepared than this. I am shocked and disgusted that Amazon is prepared to charge money for such a poorly finished product. They should be ashamed of themselves: Shelley's poetry (indeed anyone's work) deserves better than this. This version of the complete works should be withdrawn immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shelley Unbound, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Complete Works of P.B. Shelley (English poets Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I can only assume that someone has taken note of the previous critical reviews and tidied up the e-text, as this now works very well: the poems read as poems with all the correct line-breaks and stanzas, and the prose is correct as well. It's a useful, full edition of Shelley's poetry, not based on the latest scholarship but what can you expect for 96p? There is a comprehensive Index that takes you to all the individual poems though it is requires a bit of lateral thinking to get there: go to Cover and press to the next page; ignore the Table of Contents which takes you to the end of the book for some reason! I'm satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly formatted, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of P.B. Shelley (English poets Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
In every poem I have read so far there are disruptive typographical errors.

In Mont Blanc, for instance, there are several errors in each stanza, which disrupts the flow of reading. The errors are often spaces missing between words, so two or three words are often merged together, often missing out the vital puncutation which dictates the flow of the poem. Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shellet, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of P.B. Shelley (English poets Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Very pleased to have access to one of the most enticing and sometimes hard to decipher, English Poets. The complete poetic works enable us, not only to analyse but to compare. Delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews