Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pauper's Gold
Hannah Francis and her mother are forced to move in to the workhouse. Even though it is a bleak existence for Hannah and her mother, Hannah cheers everyone up with her beautiful singing voice. Hannah has always tried to see the best in everything, and in everyone. When Hannah is 12 years old, she is sent to work in the nearby mill with three other children. The hours are...
Published on 10 Jan 2009 by Linda Cowan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable
The book was an enjoyable read without having any extra features which would make it a classic or a memorable book.
Published 2 months ago by jnp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pauper's Gold, 10 Jan 2009
By 
Linda Cowan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Paperback)
Hannah Francis and her mother are forced to move in to the workhouse. Even though it is a bleak existence for Hannah and her mother, Hannah cheers everyone up with her beautiful singing voice. Hannah has always tried to see the best in everything, and in everyone. When Hannah is 12 years old, she is sent to work in the nearby mill with three other children. The hours are long, and the work is extremely dangerous. The owner of the Mill is a tyrant, and has an eye for the young lasses. This is a story of triumph and determination. Hannah was not born in the lap of luxury, and has had to struggle everyday of her young life. But Hannah will not let that stop her from making something of her life, and helping those around her also succeed in life. This is a wonderful heartwarming story of the struggles and accomplishments of those who are determined to make something of their lives. This is Margaret Dickinson at her best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great read from a great author., 21 Nov 2007
By 
Ket (Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Paperback)
After reading my first Margaret Dickinson book a few years ago I caught the bug & had to buy them all. This is another great addition to her list of titles & as she produces more books they get ever better. I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complelling read, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. K. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
Set in the hey day of the cotton weaving industry where workers worked long hours for their bosses for little pay. It's the story of a girl born in hard times and her struggle to rise above her situation and reap revenge on her cruel and philandering boss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant story, reading this story makes you feel glad that you weren't a child in those days. It was a fantastic ending to a very sad story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hannah, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
When I ordered this book I hadn't realized that I had read it once before some time ago. I enjoyed reading it again and as always the author has highlighted the difficulties and cruelty that existed between the masters and the working class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paupers Gold, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
another one of Margaret Dickinsons brilliant stories kept me enthralled from beginning to end .Cant wait to read another one of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pauper's Gold, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
This was a fantastic book which I found hard to put down. I love Margaret Dickinson and have not read one book of hers which I would not recommend to someone looking for a really decent story.

This is about a young girl who is in the workhouse and is sent out to work in the mills where the conditons are deplorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant reading, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
I cant read enough of margarets books they are so enjoyable and very warming, This book is no exception she has a wonderful way of holding ones attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book and couldn't put it down once I had started reading it I will recommend it yo anyone who likes a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pauper's Gold (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It was interesting as well as being a good read, I would certainly read more by Margaret Dickinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pauper's Gold
Pauper's Gold by Margaret Dickinson
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews