Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely novel to read
Where Earth Meets Sky by Annie Murray is lovely novel to read. The novel recaptures a historical phase. India was ruled by the British for many years, after the long existence of the moguls. Britain was the most powerful empire in the world, as unfolded in the novel. As a reader, you will learn a great deal about past events. The commonwealth represents an important...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...
I wondered if perhaps this book was a first for the writer, but no, it appears she has penned at least a dozen! I really found the characters irritating and the storyline rather repetitive. Despite the fact Lily has the strength of character to rise above her lowly station in life then travel, on her own, to India to start anew, her strength does not prevail - as she...
Published 22 months ago by G. Peel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely novel to read, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Paperback)
Where Earth Meets Sky by Annie Murray is lovely novel to read. The novel recaptures a historical phase. India was ruled by the British for many years, after the long existence of the moguls. Britain was the most powerful empire in the world, as unfolded in the novel. As a reader, you will learn a great deal about past events. The commonwealth represents an important chapter in British history. The British commonwealth is included in our education syllabus today. The wealthiest families owned huge mansions and staged traditional English tea parties in the most scenic areas of India including the enchanting beauty of the Himylas. The women were portrayed as domestic figures in the household, with the aid of native servants. The man held senior ranks in the army. The novel provides a real historical insight that is beautifully depicted.

The story focal point is about a young and beautiful lady Lily. She makes a fresh start, by leaving the land raised as an orphan and embarks on a long and daunting journey to the majestic land of India. She is acquainted with a charming captain and her snobbish wife to be employed as a nanny to an adorable child. She later joins the household as a housekeeper of a pocessive doctor and ill wife. The novel is a real journey of Lily's life not just in India, but includes episodes adventures in Britian. Her beauty and nice personality attracts huge amount of interest, but is an unwanted contributor of deception and betrayal. She ends up in situations unexpectly.

Where Earth Meets Sky is a great joy to read and lovely piece of historical fiction to read. It shifts between the industrial settings of Midlands and the the Raj period of India. If you express a deep interest in history, then I would recommend this particular novel to read. It is beautifully and vividily written and it feels though you are relieving events as it unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excels as usual, 17 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book although totally different to her other books which are normally stories woven around Birmingham. Ms Murray sent her central character to India. Therefore,there weren't so many references to B'ham. But,nevertheless the storyline made compelling reading. I have read all of her books and cann't wait for her next novel, which I have no doubt will be soon,as she has become a prolific writer.I hope though that she will return to base her books on and around B'ham as I relate to these better especially living in the B'ham area. More, more, more Ms Murray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Earth Meets Sky by Annie Murray, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Paula Heard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Paperback)
Like all the othe books I have read by Annie Murray this was a thoroughly good read and the pace of the story was kept up right to the end. Just when you think you know what the next part is going to be it changes and keeps you wanting to to read to the end. Every part of the books I have read so far by Annie Murray are exciting and not one part has a boring bit, the only sad part is when you come to the end of the book!

This book started off in Birmingham with the heroine seeming like Cinderella but eventually going to work in service in India. I loved the descriptions about India, it almost seemed real to me and that I was there! The story had a quick pace without leaving out any descriptions for me. I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 21 Sep 2012
By 
G. Peel (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Kindle Edition)
I wondered if perhaps this book was a first for the writer, but no, it appears she has penned at least a dozen! I really found the characters irritating and the storyline rather repetitive. Despite the fact Lily has the strength of character to rise above her lowly station in life then travel, on her own, to India to start anew, her strength does not prevail - as she appears to be hell bent on blundering into the same hopeless relationships throughout her career. The episode of her experiences at the hands of the Doctor (and his colleague) were so unconvincing and I thought, at times, quite laughable! Sorry to spoil the run of good reviews but I found the characters unconvincing, shallow and... it just didn't flow. Thankfully it only cost me 99p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Kindle Edition)
I have read nearly all Annie Murray books now and again have enjoyed from beginning to end.
Can't wait until the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where Earth Meets Sky, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Paperback)
A little different one for Annie Murray...but it was excellent, held your attention and just wanted to keep on reading !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Kindle Edition)
I have read Hopscotch Summer and soldier Girl, which follows the story when they grow up. I hadn't realised that Where earth meets sky was part of a trilogy until reading the reviews. Cannot put these books down once started, but please tell us when they are part of a series as I don't want to miss any out.Would love them listed as want to read them in the right order and not miss anything out. Keep on writing Annie Murray, your books are so interesting about the period and the characters so real. I will eventually have read them all - a real treat. Christine (Nottingham)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not a very believable story..., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Kindle Edition)
I love Annie Murray's books and usually cannot put them down, but this was mediocre. The character was an intelligent girl and made sensible decisions, yet let men take advantage of her. Wasn't consistent but was still an okay read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly glorious read, 15 July 2013
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent read. Frankly I had a job putting the book down
and didn't want it to finish. what a lovely storyline. So well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Earth Meets Sky (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent story from Annie Murray. Reading her whole collection as she is such a good writer. Keep up the good work Annie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where Earth Meets Sky
Where Earth Meets Sky by Annie Murray
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews