Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** book, 12 Aug 2003
By 
Lydia Gray (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
I havnt enjoyed a book like this in a long time! A thoroughly gripping book about love, family and of course hidden secrets!Eveleen is such a strong character who is determined to succeed Magaret Dickinson made an excellent job. I would reccomend this book to anyone who loves a can't-put-it-down book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The museum; the heroine., 17 Nov 2009
By 
K. Newman "Griswold" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
The heroine of this soothing and soothingly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their journey, first to work for a hypocrite Christian Uncle and thence to the Dark Satanic Mills of Victorian and Edwardian Nottingham. The mother, Mary is driven temporarily witless by her husband's death and the consequent removal of the family from their tied holding and she becomes a greater burden for the youthful heroine. By pure chance, Eveleen finds work in a factory which turns out to be owned by the handsome (of course) old flame of her mother's, who might have been her (illegitimate) father. Fortunately for Eveleen and the story line, it turns out not to be so, because the old flame's son, Mr Richard, is equally handsome, dark, and presumably, heir to his father's successful business, and naturally, he falls in love, on sight, with Eveleen. He becomes her knight in shining armour and moves tactfully but inevitably to protect and save her from her several tribulations. Despite her brother James getting her cousin Rebecca pregnant and running away to sea, at last, everything ends with prospects of happiness all round, except for poor old Dad, who died early in the saga, and Rebecca who dies in childbirth leaving Eveleen with the baby. I found the author's ploy of keeping Eveleen ever pure, yet making her a mother by proxy at once ingenious, and amusing, yet touchingly realistic for the times portrayed.
What takes this novel out of the run-of -the-mill is the extraordinarily well-researched detail of the small world the characters lived and worked in. The second hero#ine) is the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum, on which Eveleen's Uncle's framework shops and home are precisely based. This real background lifted the whole saga into vivid reality, and after the formulaic early pages, I was enthralled. There are echoes of Pride and Prejudice, but set in a lower stratum of society and with a less cerebral, but equally complex and fascinating set of characters.

Margaret Dickinson is a very experienced and popular writer and is generally very readable and enjoyable. Particularly so in this case. The amount of research that went into this book is evident, but not gratingly obvious; knitted into the pattern of the story faultlessly.

Tangled Threads will contrast and complement nicely the stock of more weighty academic and factual publications sold by the Museum. Margaret Dickinson's imagination has populated the Museum site with lively and romantic characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spell binding read, 10 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
This is not the kind of book I would normally read, but been stuck in a quiet period at work there was nothing else to do so I started to read the first few pages.

My typical book choice would be a fantasty or a Crime Thriller so I really didn't expect much, how wrong could I be?

Within the first few pages I was hooked, the book is so well written and very engaging. I truely cared about the characters, laughing, crying and shouting along with them.

I finished the book in two days and am now going to buy the sequal, a wholely unexpected but gratefully welcomed addition to my reading list!

Whatever your taste I reccommend you read this book and get in touch with true humanity. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Heroines, 10 Dec 2006
By 
T. C. Astill "Tom Astill" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
Book Review: " Tangled Threads" by Margaret Dickinson.

The heroine of this soothing and mainly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their journey, first to work for a hypocrite of a "Christian" Uncle and thence to the Dark Satanic Mills of Victorian and Edwardian Nottingham. The mother, Mary is driven temporarily witless by her husband's death and the consequent removal of the family from their tied holding and becomes yet another burden for the youthful heroine. By pure chance, Eveleen finds work in a factory which turns out to be owned by the handsome (of course) old flame of her mother's, who might have been her (illegitimate) father. Fortunately for Eveleen and the story line, it turns out not to be so, because the old flame's son, Mr Richard, is equally handsome, dark, and presumably, heir to his father's successful business, and naturally, he falls in love, on sight, with Eveleen. He becomes her knight in shining armour and moves tactfully but inevitably to protect and save her from her several tribulations. Despite her brother James getting her cousin Rebecca pregnant and running away to sea, at last, everything ends with prospects of happiness all round, except for poor old Dad, who died early in the saga, and Rebecca who dies in childbirth leaving Eveleen with the baby. I found the author's ploy of keeping Eveleen pure, yet making her a mother by proxy, ingenious, amusing, but touchingly realistic for the times portrayed.

What takes this novel out of the run-of -the-mill is the extraordinarily well-researched detail of the small world the characters lived and worked in. The second hero(ine) is the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum,on which Eveleen's Uncle's framework shops and home are precisely based. This real background lifted the whole saga into vivid reality, and after the formulaic early pages, I was enthralled. There are echoes of Pride and Prejudice, but set in a lower stratum of society and with a less cerebral, but equally complex and fascinating set of characters.

Margaret Dickinson is a very experienced and popular writer and is generally very readable and enjoyable; particularly so in this case. The amount of research that went into this book is evident, but not gratingly obvious; knitted into the pattern of the story faultlessly.

Tangled Threads will contrast and complement nicely the stock of more weighty academic and factual publications held by the Museum. Margaret Dickinson's imagination has populated the Museum site with lively and romantic characters. Eveleen promises to become a local heroine of some note in the book's sequel, "Twisted Strands".

Despite an ingrained aversion to the genre, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and can recommend it to anyone even slightly interested in the cottage industry era, the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum in its hey-day, or a very satisfying novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant book, couldn't put it down. A good depiction of life in the workhouse. A very good author. Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tangled Threads, 17 Nov 2013
By 
J. Draisey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
A good read from Margaret Dickinson as always. Good background research of the way ordinary people lived through difficult times. Fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tangled threads, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
Margaret Dickinson knows how to put a good story together and I feel she does her research well. Her trilogies are good and you just want to read the next book. I would recommend this author to anyone who likes family saga's set in and around war time .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
delivered promptly, and i thoroughly enjoyed reading it,find that Margaret Dickinsons books are all good. if you like this kind of read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic novel, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
I would really love to meet Margaret and ask her so many questions, her novels bring real life into perspective and thanks to her my sleepless nights have brought me great comfort. I am a true devotee to her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
Ordered this book when taking my kindle on holiday. Good well written story, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading. Would choose this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8cdda98)

This product

Tangled Threads
Tangled Threads by Margaret Dickinson
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews