Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A PIECE OF HISTORY....
Back in the day,i taped both of these sets off Radio 1,unbelievably managed to tape over the 1983 set,thankfully its now officially available,a moment in time captured forever.

Disc 1 : the 1983 performance from a band(and a man) determined to to prove themselves once again,having already been on two classic discs, namely Rainbow Rising & Heaven and Hell',Dio...
Published on 13 Nov. 2010 by Mr Blackwell

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dio live at donnington
ovrall not a bad cd should realy been marketed as two sererarte ones mainly for the reason that althogh the performances are four years apart they are to similar (the set list 4 tracks are repeated } my only other dissapointment was stargazer i was expecting the whole track not just the opening lines as this was the main reason for buying this cd
Published on 5 Feb. 2011 by mcc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A PIECE OF HISTORY...., 13 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
Back in the day,i taped both of these sets off Radio 1,unbelievably managed to tape over the 1983 set,thankfully its now officially available,a moment in time captured forever.

Disc 1 : the 1983 performance from a band(and a man) determined to to prove themselves once again,having already been on two classic discs, namely Rainbow Rising & Heaven and Hell',Dio was already a legend,still it doesnt do any harm to have that fire in the belly.

The 1983 set contains several classics from all era's,new tracks such as 'Holy Diver/Stand Up and Shout & 'Rainbow In The Dark' standing shoulder to shoulder with the likes of 'Children of the Sea/Man On The Silver Mountain',a snippet of 'Stargazer' certainly the drum/guitar solo you could live without but its a superb performance which cemented his reputation.

Disc 2:the 1987 performance not quite as good,although nothing would really stand up to his debut at Donington.With a band comprising lesser musicians and the music becoming formulaic/Tired(Dream Evil never really did it for me),alongside the tendency to start performing the old standards in medley form certainly dilutes the performance some what,still magic moments include 'Neon Knights/All The Fools Sailed Away & the 'Last in Line' with its 'Temple of the King' excerpt .

Sound Quality/Performance: Disc 1 has the superior performance,higher energy level with decent sound quality,Disc 2 not quite a good performance but superior sound, so 5 stars for disc 1 ,3 stars disc 2.

Packaging : decent digi pak with a couple of tour laminates,although Dante Bonutto's liner notes are very poor,dull and bland would be a perfect description,could have done them in his sleep.

All in all,for a Dio fan this is a must have,a timely reminder(as if we needed one)_ that the rock world lost a legend when he sadly passed .

Ronnie James Dio,the VOICE of Rock ,Rest In Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The late Voice Of Rock captured live, in his prime., 12 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that six months have passed since the legendary Ronnie James Dio passed away. The one time Elf, Rainbow and Black Sabbath singer had been working on this release prior to his death, and now it's finally appeared in all its double disc glory.

Now I'm so old that I was actually at both of these festival dates, back in the heady eighties when the Castle Donington Monsters of Rock Festival was the only place for a young headbanger to strut his stuff. I've also (and I'd appreciate it if you'd keep this bit quiet) had copies of both shows since not long after the respective events took place. Both on cassette and, latterly, CD. So I can vouch for the fact that these cleaned up, official versions sound an awful lot better than their bootleg counterparts, even if the 1983 set still has a muddy drum sound.

The first show was their debut on British soil, and it was strange to see Dio opening the show. But ably supported by former Rainbow sparring partner Jimmy Bain and Black Sabbath colleague Vinny Appice, he took things in his stride. Something that was no surprise, considering his pedigree. The real surprise was former Sweet Savage / future Def Leppard man Vivian Campbell, a relatively unknown guitarist then, but one who was obviously destined for the top flight.

Dio was up for the fight, opening with two tunes from the then new Holy Diver album in the shape of "Stand Up and Shout" and "Straight Through The Heart" before churning out some old classics in the shape of "Children Of The Sea" and "Stargazer" amongst others. This was when he felt he had to prove a point - that he was his own man, and could take on the best and win. Well he could, and it really did bring memories of my youth flooding back, and caused a bit of a back spasm as I tried in vain to replicate the shapes I threw back in the day.

Fast forward four years and Dio had moved up the bill to the special guest slot (and how we laughed at headliners Bon Jovi and their banner which misspelled Donnington). By this time, the guitar slot had passed to Craig Goldy, and with the Dream Evil album to support the title track, "Naked In The Rain" and "All The Fools Sailed Away" get an airing, with the latter tucked away in the middle of a medley, the likes of which I never really enjoy, so don't go thinking you're getting full versions of "Children Of The Sea" and "Heaven And Hell". The more radio friendly fare like "Rock and Roll Children" hasn't aged very well, but there is still room for plenty Black Sabbath and Rainbow tunes to keep the faithful happy.

It's not as enjoyable as the first set, but as it's out as a mid priced digipak, complete with replicas of the all access laminates from both shows, and some dull liner notes from Dante Bonutto, it's certainly worth the price of admission, even if most of the faithful will have had copies of the shows for a couple of decades now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a decent live record of Dio in their prime!, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
It was about time that these shows got an official release. While they aren't the complete recordings of either concert (about 2 songs from each are omitted) they are fine records of two outstanding performances. The sound is good and clean on both discs but not so much that they loose the feel of a live recording from an outdoor festival. The crowd atmosphere is kept intact without infringing - and it should be noted how well received Dio were on both occasions, especially as these were large crowds with mixed tastes (Bon Jovi, through ZZ Top to Metallica were on these bills). And as was the norm for Dio shows, there is some wonderful crowd participation - and it's impossible not to join in!!

There is clearly a split between peoples preferences of the two performances (I narrowly prefer the 87 show as that was when I discovered Dio's music as a teen) but there is no doubt that whether you prefer the freshness and energy of '83 or the pace and medleys of '87, it's worth the money for either disc alone.

With the music comes a couple of access all area passes for the events - which are ok but I'm not sure if they will excite many of Dio's fans given our average age. And the included booklet is sadly short on photo's and contains a very unenlightening set of liner notes by Dante Bonutto where he even manages to get the name of Dio's Sacred Heart stage dragon wrong. I'm sure it was called Denzil but Dante calls it Derek or something.

Just one last point regarding mention of this possibly being the start of a `cash in' following his sad death; who cares if it is? (Which it isn't as it was in progress before his death) At the end of the day, if the material posthumously released is of quality and not repetitive that's fine with me. You don't have to buy it but I would buy a dozen live releases of Dio's as there have been few better live acts - ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The little man with a BIG voice, 13 Nov. 2010
By 
Brian V. Burford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
I believe 1983 was one of the most important and pivotal years in the history of hard rock/heavy metal. It was a year that saw many new beginnings and none more so than Ronnie James Dio.

His Holy Diver album - released in 83 - is his best release of his solo years, a peak that he would never scale again. And this performance at Donington in 1983 was his debut on British soil with his solo band, Dio, that featured now Def Leppard guitarist Vivian Campbell. RJD gave Campbell his proper start and he delivered the goods and his playing on this disc is quite impressive.

The 1983 show i remember being broadcast on Tommy Vance's Friday Rock Show and of the two discs this performance is definitely superior. It captures a band at the start of their career, they're vibrant, hungry and eager to impress. Dio's voice is brilliant and the renditions of old Black Sabbath classics Children of the Sea and the epic Heaven and Hell are fresh and exciting. It's a short set because Dio was second on the line-up after Diamond Head - Whitesnake were the headliners.

The second disc suffers from too many medleys to fit within a 50-minute set as special guests to Bon Jovi. By now Craig Goldy had replaced Campbell and his playing, although heavier, is more workman-like than Campbell's - his abrasive playing on Rock & Roll Children doesn't do it any favours. Not such a good performance as the '83 set, but Dio's voice is in great shape. And what a voice...

Rock doesn't have too many brilliant singers - loads of vocalists - but RJD's voice is magnificent here, much better than the Holy Diver live recordings. He possessed so much range, clarity but was also emotive.

This is a fine release to illustrate how good RJD was and the production on the discs is also good. The booklet is nothing to write home about and the passes, well, considering that 40 somethings in the main are going to buy this, such inclusions are not really of interest and are not going to motivate us to buy it.

To conclude, a very enjoyable CD and worth adding to your Dio collection. However, I hope this isn't the first in a series of releases in an attempt to cash in on Ronnie's sad death earlier this year. Dio was a collosal singer and an inventive song writer and that reputation shouldnt be tarnished by inferior releases that wouldnt have seen the light of day if he was alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best 80`s live concerts, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
When I spotted this live recording I just had to buy it. Finally the BBC has released these great recordings.
Although I was not at Donnington all those years ago to see Dio, the concert was later broadcast on the Friday rock show on radio 1. Like most metalheads back then this was must listening every Friday night. This concert I had taped onto cassette that night and although I missed the start and had to switch to the other side of the tape during one of the great tracks I still listened to it regular until the tape got chewed up one day in the player. I am sure there is many aging rockers can relate to this.

Disc 1 is the concert I remember and listening to it now on CD all these years later without the tape hiss is great and brings back the memories of my youth. It is a quality recording, and I recommend any Dio fan out there new or old to add it to their collection.
In my opinion disc 1 (1983) is best due to the superior guitar playing but disc 2 is still a good listen.
PLAY LOUD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RJD at the top of His Silver Mountain, 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
This really is RJD at his Best...If you are a fan of classic RJD (Rainbow,Sabbath,the first 4 or 5 Dio albums) then this is a must have, must listen!!
The Voice is top notch and you even get a snippet of Stargazer (1983 disc) and Temple of the King (1987 disc)....I really can't believe these live performances have not been officially released until now.
A GREAT tribute to a GREAT singer...PS check RJD out on "The Butterfly Ball" album (by Roger Glover),I never knew this existed until recently but if you have never heard it its worth a listen.
Man on The Silver Mountain R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid if unspectacular, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
The outpouring of Dio's estate arrives with this offering of the bands two Donington appearances in 1983 and 1987 respectively. The biggest surprise here is the length of the discs, especially disc two when they were special guests on the bill, yet the set only extends to fifty minutes. The quality is what you would expect from an outdoor show of this vintage, it ain't perfect but is very listenable. What carries the set is the music. Dio were always a good night out and Ronnie always got the best out of the musicians he worked with. Disc one is filled with classics from the then new "Holy Diver" album, backed with plenty of Rainbow and Black Sabbath classics. It's a solid show and one that would have worried anyone who was going on after them that day. Disc two is slightly inferior, the "Dream Evil" stuff is still good but by this time they were working to a formula and the Black Sabbath and Rainbow songs are still in the set, which tells it's own story. You can't go wrong at the very cheap price they are charging for this and it is good to hear the great man's voice again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stand up and shout!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
After Ronnie James Dio’s passing away in 2010, there have been quite a few retrospective releases put out from various parts of the illustrious career of one of the all-time greatest heavy metal singers. This 2-disc package features two classic sets from 1983 and 1987, recorded at one of the most legendary rock festivals, Monsters Of Rock at Donington, UK.

Personally, I find disc 2 to be the more interesting one, recorded during the “Dream Evil” tour. Somewhat unexpectedly, several then-recent songs had found their way to the set, which feels really refreshing. While Dio rarely played any post “The Last In Line” material during the latter years of the band, the 1987 set list relied considerably less on the all-familiar “Holy Diver”. The inclusion of a number of overlooked gems such as “Naked In The Rain”, “Dream Evil” and “Rock ‘n’ Roll Children” feels very delightful.

In typical 1980’s Dio fashion, several songs in the set list are played only partially. So don’t get too excited for reading titles such as “Starstruck” in the track listing – we only get a few seconds of this Rainbow classic. Still, the band is in fine form, and Ronnie’s vocals are as crystal-clear as ever. Any Dio show rarely gives reasons for complaint, and this live document is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one album of dio live is wow but two yeah ha wow, 26 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
what can i say other than go buy it now,what a voice,performer,and great great tracks,covering two fantastic donnington shows 83 and 87,was lucky enough to see the late great man 3 times and what a great tribute to him than to have these two gems in your collection,if u like your hard rock loud and air punch to the finale, worth the price for his first uk show in 83 alone a bargain.still send shivers down my spine every time.ronniejamesdio we salute you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars man on the silver mountain, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Dio At Donington Uk: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
its a great set of cds when it comes to its price, and a should own set of cds to any true dio & metal fans, the only thing that i dislike about these 2 cds is that dio didnt play the whole classic songs that he did with rainbow and black sabbath. indeed dio needed to prove himself that his still in the game and on top which he did and succeeded in having a happy legion of fans that cry his death. RIP DIO \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews