Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and mature album from a very talented vocalist
Gregory Porter is a very interesting new artist with some very beautiful vocals. On his debut album "Water", his voice drifts along suave Jazz compositions telling the songs stories with skill and ease. Not only are the vocals interesting, the melodies of the songs are very well constructed and the arrangements are of a very high standard, making his debut an instant...
Published 21 months ago by Amillionmiles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit wishy washy
Needs a lot of listening. Love his tone but definitely an acquired taste. Recommend do your own research before further purchases.
Published 2 months ago by Pauline Leadbeater


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and mature album from a very talented vocalist, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
Gregory Porter is a very interesting new artist with some very beautiful vocals. On his debut album "Water", his voice drifts along suave Jazz compositions telling the songs stories with skill and ease. Not only are the vocals interesting, the melodies of the songs are very well constructed and the arrangements are of a very high standard, making his debut an instant classic.

"Illusion" is a melancholic piano led Jazz ballad with heartfelt vocals and sweet melody. "Pretty" is much more uptempo and packed with rhythm and saxophone led improvisations showcasing a different side to Gregory's vocal abilities. "Magic Cup" has very distinctive vocal phrasing and a complex melody where Gregory sounds just like a male version of Diana Krall. "Skylark" is interpreted with Soul and sounds romantic and soothing. "Black Nile" injects rhythm once again into this release and is very smooth and likeable whilst "Wisdom" is very sentimental and emotional with improvised sections and varied instrumentation. "1960 What", with its Funk influenced elements and Soul vocals, is a standout track on here and adds a Gospel and Blues feel to the release. "But Beautiful" and the title track "Water" are stylish piano led ballads and "Lonely One" is a simple yet effective Jazz ballad. The final track "Feeling Good" is a strong cover version of one of Nina Simone's best known hits and ends the album with a sense of fulfillment.

"Water" is a very accomplished debut album from an artist who has developed his sound over the years and who is comfortable with where he sits in the music industry. Gregory Porter's vocals are very special and the accompanying music has been carefully selected to showcase them in each and every song which has created a very magical record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where has this fantastic singer been?, 16 April 2011
This review is from: Water (MP3 Download)
I watched Jools Holland last night, and when Gregory Porter started singing, I held my breath, it was so fantastic. There are not many times this has happened to me, but the man's voice is wonderful.

I have not heard of this singer before, and I want to know why he is not doing any gigs in the UK?

This is great Jazz that concentrates on the melodies and voice. I can only repeat what other reviewers have said, recommend this to your friends, this singer is a marvel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gregory is a gift from God., 7 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Regan J. Platt "johnboy" (Whitley cheshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
I'm not going to write a diatribe about the inns and out of every track- if you have the time to listen to this one then you're in for a treat.
This is spiritual, clean and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JazzWise Album of the Year and Deservedly so., 13 Jan 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
Over the last few years, it seems that most vocalists involved with Jazz, have been attempting some kind of "crossover" to break through to the wider markets available in the pop audience.

How refreshing it is then, to hear a proper Jazz album where the band leader, primary composer and featured soloist just happens to be a vocalist. No compromises are made and it's all acoustic instruments throughout, with no clever production techniques - just a crystal clear mix that gives everybody space to be heard.

If Gregory Porter had been a Sax player he could have been somebody like John Coltrane and the style of this album is very much from that era and the rhythm section "feel" and piano voicings could have come from A Love Supreme or Coltrane's Sound.

Of course the fact that vocals dominate throughout, makes this a more approachable album and the pre-fusion Jazz rhythms, give a sort of "classic" and rootsy feel to the music that is very appealing. But because Porter writes a lot of this album (which gives him great credit of course)it brings it all up to date and doesn't mean this is stuck in the 1960s - even when he is writing about that period in the stand-out track : '1960 What'.

Throughout, we also have great Jazz playing and improvising, especially from Chip Crawford on Piano - but there are also fluent and exciting horn solos on tracks like Wayne Shorter's 'Black Nile' - which is taken at a blisteringly fast tempo. This is real Jazz - a band interacting and working together and not just a star vocalist going through his repertoire of standards.

This is no doubt why JazzWise magazine's reviewers voted this their album of the year for 2011 and I have no doubt it deserves this and the wider attention it will get because of this. A must-listen album for contemporary Jazz, with more than a nod to the history and tradition of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I SAY NO, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
Amazon asked me if this album met my expectations. ....... I SAY NO.... This is a totally awesome album.... I should know as this will be my fifth copy ... miss it at ur peril xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (MP3 Download)
One of the best jazz albums I have heard in a long time,the only problem is when you download albums from amazon they are not in full 320 mp3 quality.why I don't know.!,,,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit wishy washy, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
Needs a lot of listening. Love his tone but definitely an acquired taste. Recommend do your own research before further purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
What a great album. I had to buy it just in case nine of my electronic gadgets are working .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic voice, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
Having heard Gregory Porter live, I decided to buy the cd's. This man is amazing a range of different songs that give you a wonderful insight into his talents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water (Audio CD)
I bought the album for my husband after he heard someother work by the artist,but was disappointed in this particular album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Water
Water by Gregory Porter
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews